We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good, but some disappointments. ”

Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar
Ranked #8 of 109 Restaurants in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $31
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Floating on top of the Noosa River is where you'll find this award winning, 3 level waterfront dining hub offering a morning coffee and breakfast bar, lunch and dinner in the bistro, a rooftop Sunset Bar, stunning weddings/event spaces and riverside fish & chips. Noosa Boathouse showcases a modern Australian menu that lets seasonal produce shine and offers a strong emphasis on locally harvested produce, fresh seafood and quality beef, combined with an ambition to deliver excellent experiences and service. The bistro - on the first level You'll find Chef Shane Bailey's signature dishes such as baked wild Qld scallops with sea urchin butter, slow cooked bundy braised beef short ribs or crispy pork belly with Thai red curry sauce on the menu. Not to mention our famous 3 tiered seafood platter and a variety of great Australian wines are also a strong feature in the menu. Open Tuesday - Sunday Little Boaty - on the front deck The newest addition to the venue is the coffee & breakfast bar open from 6am 7 days. There's great coffee, panini presses, jaffles, yogurt & muesli bowls and other delicious goodies baked fresh inhouse. The Sunset Bar - on the top deck Open Tuesday to Sunday from 4.30pm the Sunset Bar captures spectacular sunsets over the water and is the perfect spot for a great cocktail or a casual afternoon drink. There's an afternoon frypan menu and everyday drink specials including $6 international beer and wine. Uniquely perched on an idyllic waterfront location in one of Australia's best natural environments, with a menu that lets seasonal produce shine, Noosa Boathouse is a iconic bistro, bar and events destination that truly encapsulates the relaxed Noosa lifestyle.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overall good, but some disappointments. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Seafood platter looked amazing and good quantity of food for 2 people. The Morton bay bug was the best, the spanner crab was little stringy (the mud crabs we caught ourselves were better), prawns bit tasteless, rest of seafood was good.

Other meals we had were very nice.

Great service, atmosphere and location.

Would return.

Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoathouseNoosa, Owner at Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi and thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us and have also forwarded your comments onto our team. Thank for dining with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    241
    99
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great time had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Held our yearly family function at Boathouse Floating Restaurant early January. Tahlia Gittel was our event Manager and was fabulous in getting it right! Tahlia was accommodating with all of my requests where possible. Food was 9/10 with good portion sizing for lunch menu. Day was very hot but constant breeze kept it very comfortable. Customer service was outstanding; Candice, Taylor and all the team did a wonderful job of looking after everyone and being attentive to our needs, clearing dirty dishes from tables and the best thing of all, we had 45 at our function and all the meals came out within approx. 7 minutes. Kids were fed first, refreshing change and Tahlia was outstanding in professionalism. We will all come again. Great day, great service. Compliments to the chef.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 000Irene000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoathouseNoosa, Owner at Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your feedback Irene. We were thrilled you chose Noosa Boathouse for your family function and even happier that you had such an amazing time here with us. We hope to welcome some (or all) of your group back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great fun party atmosphere was the setting for NYE 2013/14 at the Noosa Boathouse..dancing and fireworks, laughing a generally a good time was had by all.
A worthy night out !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoosaVille243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoathouseNoosa, Owner at Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback and seeing in 2014 with us at Noosa Boathouse. We had a great night too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“DECOR FAILS AN OTHERWISE GOOD RESTAURANT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have visited the Boathouse Floating Restaurant several times & each visit, either lunch or dinner, has produced delicious food & service. There is a good set lunch menu, either 2 or 3 course, reasonably priced. Each visit I vow to review on TripAdvisor & keep forgetting. Yesterday afternoon I went to the Boathouse with my visiting UK cousin, for a drink. On arrival I asked where we could sit & the waitress pointed to two places, inside or on the deck. We chose the deck for the cool breeze & view. We sat down & waited, not knowing whether we should go to the bar or be served. Five minutes on without service, my cousin went to the bar & brought back two drinks. The reason I have decided to review is not for the food, but the decor of the restaurant which is very bland & boring. No colour, nothing to enhance the beautiful views - perhaps the owners don't want to detract from such views - but a touch of colour either on the walls, table linen (white paper serviettes in place), pictures, beach theme or tropical perhaps. We looked around & the only colour which stood out was the mustard coloured chairs. Paintwork on the deck shelving had peeled off exposing black. There were a few plants in silver tinny pots, an oar on the wall & that's about it. Not just this restaurant but most restaurants favour black uniforms. How about a bit of colour for a change? Keep the delicious food coming Boathouse, but please do something bright with the decor. No-one acknowledged our presence once we sat down, nor when we left & we were only two of a handful of customers. On previous visits the staff were friendly & helpful. Not so yesterday.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoathouseNoosa, Owner at Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello and thanks for your feedback and being a regular here at Noosa Boathouse. We are thrilled you enjoy the outlook and our food. You will have noticed that our restaurant has undergone a number of changes over the past few months and we have to admit that we agree with you in terms of splashes of color! It is actually on our agenda however we had to get the big things done first so stay tuned for a few new colorful items in the near future. We do however wish to keep it minimalist and allow our amazing views to speak for themselves...We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location and views, however food lacking that wow factor you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a New Year's Eve dinner here. We expected a higher calibre of cuisine because of reputation and price, however it fell short of our expectations. Dessert was the most enjoyable course. Atmosphere was a tad lacking considering it was New Year's Eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindasueba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoathouseNoosa, Owner at Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and we will certainly share it with our team. We hosted 180 guests to dinner on New Years Eve and the overwhelming feedback was extremely positive. It appears that we missed the mark on a couple of things with your experience and we hope you gave us your feedback on the night as this is most certainly the best way to ensure a positive outcome for all. We are glad you enjoyed the location, views and dessert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar also viewed

 
Noosaville, Noosa
 

Been to Noosa Boathouse & Sunset Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing