We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Islander Noosa Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Noosaville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for a few night, and the resort itself is very nice. Our unit was very nice, clean with everything that we needed for our stay. Close to the Noosa River where you can go and hire boats, jet skis and kayaks. Lots of nice shops and restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Ms 'Annice B'.
Thankyou for staying and we wish you safe travels. We are spoilt to live in such a lovely area and your comments remind us of this so thankyou! BUla Cathy and Team
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 333 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our stay at The Islander could best be described as "mixed". The property itself is quite lovely; the pool is large and interesting; and our room was fine (not flash, but perfect for what we needed). However, travelling with my wife and infant son, we encountered attitude, ignorance and a general money-grabbing approach from certain of the staff members.

I booked online through one of the major travel websites, specifying that we required a cot for my 7 month old son. We also booked a hotel on the Gold Coast. Anyway, a couple of days before we departed, I called The Islander to make sure that a cot would be provided (didn't want a scene at arrival). They apparently knew nothing of our requirement for a cot - and told me that to rent one would be $40 for two nights. I mentioned that I'd already booked it - and paid for it - and that if it wasn't properly communicated to them, then this was a matter between them and the travel website. Nonetheless, after 15 minutes' "discussion" I agreed to pay their $40, but was far from satisfied. Customer service 101.

Anyway, we checked in and went to our room. There was a cot but no mattress. What was our son supposed to sleep on? I received some attitudinally-charged, information-deficient crap about Australian Standards and not wanting to be culpable for SIDS. What the?

I then asked for a refund of my $40 - after all, my son slept between my wife and I (probably more dangerous than sleeping in a cot, but who am I?) - and was refused outright. If you buy a house from these people, make sure it comes with a roof; if you buy a car, make sure it comes with wheels... After all, you could use those wheels to go too fast, crash and hurt yourself. And we couldn't possibly go blaming the hotel now could we?

Customer service, goodwill, communication... all very sadly lacking. A great pity in my opinion. Also, extremely shortsighted on their part that they'd forego repeat business for the sake of $40. Bula. I think what you actually meant was "vinaka" - vinaka for ruining an otherwise lovely trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GMD_1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Mr 'GMD'
Thank you for the comments. I was pleased to see you enjoyed our resort and sorry you believed we provided poor service in respect of hiring a cot for your child. My records show that you called 3 days before arrival to check you had ordered a cot when booking on line via Expedia. We took your call and checked your booking transcript, checked the rate you paid and advised you no cot was ordered nor included in the rate. We then advised the cost to hire a porta cot and you confirmed you wanted to hire a cot. Had there been any inkling that you had been misrepresented on the Expedia web, or by us I would have provided the cot at no charge. The Expedia web is clear the rate is $300 for 2 nights accommondation only with no extras. Further the transcipt of your booking, that I emailed you showed no request for a cot and I wonder whether you requested the cot on your Gold Coast booking and not ours?

We supply standard porta cots which have a padded mattress base and it is our policy to be cautious and not provide additional paddings/ mattresses with these cots.

Bula
Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Love this place. Nice tropical feel with lagoon pool and spas/saunas/gym-games room. Great unit (No 48), close to shops and restaurants, Noosa River just across the road with hire of things like kayaks, jet skis, paddle boats. Ferry to various stops including Hastings Street. Friendly staff. Moondoggies Cafe (attached to resort) is excellent - great range of lovely food and good service. To top it off bought my wedding dress at a lovely little boutique just a few doors away. Great girlies weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuenDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Ms 'Suen Daz'
What great news that you found your wedding dress while staying with us - fanntastic! Thank you for the lovely comments and for staying with us. Moondoggy's are over the moon with your feedback and send big thankyou woofs. All the best to you and we wish you a happy and wonderful wedding and the best in life with your partner. Bula Cathy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good value for the money we paid for 2 nights stay. Unit was clean, neat,had heaps of amenities and quite roomy (stayed in unit 9). Can see how this would suit couples or families who stay for extended periods. Lucky we were to stay here during a quiet time as had pools, spa and place with a small group of folk at any one times. Definate recommend as its a short drive into Noosa or do what we did and catch the scenic boat trip to Noosa from just out front pickup spots.

Only strange thing we had too do was take out our own rubbish from bins on checking out (never had to do that before in any place I/we have stayed).

Staff were very friendly and helpful, cheers !

Room Tip: Keep screen doors closed as brush/scrub turkeys might wander in (funny stuff).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Dear Mr 'George B'
Thank you for being our guest and for the feedback about our facilities and location. We try to keep our tariffs affordable so your feedback about the resort being good value is good to read. One of the ways we try is by asking guests to remove their rubbish and assist us in minimising the clean time for the villa but I appreciate that as a self contained resort we may have different requests than a hotel would ask of guests so our apologies we didn't convey this clearly.

As well as the bush turkey we now also have Banjo the Possum and Jack the Blue Tongue Lizard moving in, and of course the Parrots and Rosellas that have cocktail hour over on the river foreshore - still a little way to go though till we can claim to be anywhere as good as Australia Zoo!
Thank you for staying, Bula Cathy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

What we liked:
1. Clean reception, friendly staff that was eager to help and full of information. They even rang us 3 days later to check if we were doing well! + If you ever need a light bulb changed, you won’t have to wait 1 minute! :D
2. Villa was two bedroom (but could have been 3 as there was a locked loft) clean and spacious. There is an air condition in the lounge room and the master bedroom and a ceiling fan in every room.
3. There’s a fully equipped kitchen; microwave, fridge/freezer (handy for freezing water bottles to take out with you when you are out and about exploring), oven/stove, kettle and toaster, great for preparing for quick and easy meals. Although I found some basic utensils on offer were not uniform or the same as the other villas; I was chatting with some guests and comparing (ha ha ha!) but they were very happy none the less. They’d have to be if they are repeat customers!
4. There’s also a washer, dryer and iron, complete with washing basket and complementary washing powder, so you don’t need to pack too much clothes because you can wash them!
5. Toilet was separate from the shower.
6. 3 swimming pools! So if one were too crowded you can easily find quiet time somewhere else.
7. There’s a gym too where you can work out before you lounged by the pool or when you still have extra energy to burn. :D
8. There’s also a games room if you have had enough of the pool or the gym.
9. There’s a computer and printer if you need to check emails (and or print your plane ticket).
10. There's a small mall nearby if you happen to forget anything from home or to top up supplies from breakfast cereals to toilet paper. Woolworths, Dan Murphy, Macca's, Dominos, Newsagency, Reject Shop etc. are all well within walking distance.
11. Other tourist activities are just on their front door too; from kayak hire to stand-up paddle board lessons.
12. You also get discounts on some of the shops that surround (rent) from Islander Resort, handy when getting your morning coffee. A coffee shop nearby has free Wi-Fi too, great if you have teenagers with you. The Islander does not have free Wi-Fi access.
13. If you want to venture out further, there’s an array of restaurants and cafes to choose from; seafood restaurant, Brazilian tapas, Thai, Sushi, Italian, Indian and even Greek restaurants!
14. The bus stop is just at the front entrance where you can catch a fare to Eumundi Markets (a must see/experience) or to Noosa Main Beach.

Room Tip: You have to request a villa away from the main pool if you want peace and quiet at night; the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear 'Mrs Rhodora'
Thank you for such a great run down on our resort and our location in Noosaville ! We were pleased to see that you enjoyed the stay. Your family certainly visited a lot of places and saw a lot - what an action packed holiday! Many thanks for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back another holiday. Bula Cathy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have been going to The Islander for 5 years now. The staff are so attentive when we were rebooking this year they remembered the ages of the kids and recommended suitable villa (as our usual will not be available next time). The situation is perfect (river and park directly across the road, great food surrounding the place, supermarket a few minutes walk and such a short drive to the surf beach). The grounds and pool are lovely and the place has a great feel. The villas are spacious and well decked out with everything you need to cook your own meals if you so desire. Price perfect. We will return probably for many years to come.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa by the pool but no to close to the BBQ area as it can be loud at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear 'Mrs Kim A'
Thank you for being our guest we are very privileged and delighted to see you when you return each year. We appreciate the feedback about our location, our villas and pricing - its nice to get this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back!, Bula Cathy & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Islander again in Oct 2012, which was our third time now. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, which is always clean and plenty of space for the 5 of us. We have 5, 12 and 14 yr old kids and they love it, especially the main lagoon pool. They also used the tennis courts and games room. It's in a great location opposite the river which we hired a boat and the boys hired canoes. The last visit we had friends who also stayed and the bbq area is great for tea and getting together. You can catch the ferry a few minutes walk, into Noosa Heads also.
It's only a short walk through the back entrance to restuarants and small shopping centre for grocery needs etc.
Have reccomended to other friends who have stayed since our last visit who had 4 girls, and they also loved it. Staff are usually friendly and helpful.
Thanks for a great holiday.

The Bakers

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpm-rdm, Manager at Islander Noosa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mr and Mrs 'Baker'
Thanks so much for the review - its nice to hear about our resort what you enjoyed, such as the BBQ area,pool and tennis courts. Hiring a boat and exploring the Noosa River is a great adventure for kids and we will recommend to other guests based on your feedback. We love having you return to stay and many thanks for being our guest. Bula Cathy & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noosaville
2.0 mi away
The Sebel Noosa
The Sebel Noosa
#7 of 10 in Noosa
731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noosa Sun Motel & Holiday Apartments
1.8 mi away
Noosa Blue Resort
Noosa Blue Resort
#4 of 10 in Noosa
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
RACV Noosa Resort
RACV Noosa Resort
#2 of 10 in Noosa
1,218 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Noosa Pacific Resort
2.0 mi away
Peppers Noosa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islander Noosa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islander Noosa Resort

Address: 187 Gympie Tce, Noosaville, Noosa, Queensland 4566, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Sunshine Coast > Noosa > Noosaville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Noosaville
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Islander Noosa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self contained villas on 4 acres in heart of Noosaville offering great value and best facilities: 3 pools (large solar heated lagoon pool + heated pool to 30 degrees all year + another pool facing north for sun) & spas & saunas & tennis courts & BBQs & Clubhouse. Opposite the Noosa River and 5 minute stroll to cafes & restaurants (8 on premise including Moondoggy's Cafe Bar), shops and supermarket. All villas have full kitchen and laundry, Foxtel free and DVD in villa. 1 GB Wifi ( fair usage policy) each villa booked. Disability villas available and hoist to assist guests with mobility concerns into the heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islander Noosa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Noosa Hotel Noosaville
Islander Noosa Resort Noosaville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing