We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2010

My husband & I booked a weekend away with friends from Sydney, to celebrate a birthday. We chose this location as it was a reasonable drive from Sydney, had an in house restaurant, spa facilities, pool, views and access to wineries and nature, for bushwalks and rewards!
Our friends booked a Loft Suite, with the bedroom above a lounge and we had the adjoining room. There were a fair number of guests in house but not fully-booked. Staff at all times were helpful, courteous and cheerful. The girls booked in for facials, a lovely treat. We used the sauna after to finish off. Breakfast was included in our rate and the buffet breakfast was amazing. Everything from fresh fruit smoothies and bircher muesli to home made yoghurts and all the treat such as pastries, 10 kinds of toast, bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms, waffles.....
My tip is to request eggs benedict if you'd like it (or an omelette) - they will do this if you ask but it's not advertised.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night (Merretts). They have a set-price system, based on the number of courses you order. 2 of the party had 2 courses ($55) and 2 had 3 courses ($70). Pretty good value, although I'd rate the food as about 4/5. The oysters that the boys chose for entrée were eclipsed the following night by those at The Wharf at Nelson's Bay, which were the fattest Pacific oysters we'd ever seen.
Other dishes were all delicious but not outstanding, although the service was top-notch.

Near the hotel are several nature walks and we did one each day, visiting the Port Stephens lighthouse and then Tomaree Head.

The rooms were well equipped, but the bathrooms are starting to show signs of wear. Ours needed the grout to be cleaned and in some areas replaced, and there were things like paint drips (big ones) on the bath spout. Small issues but they detracted from the room. Extras included ipod docks but no in-room safe.

In summer we believe this resort is fully-booked, but there are plenty of lovely beaches around so it wouldn't be overcrowded. The outdoor heated pool is large and overlooks the marina, and there are plenty of activities to suit all ages and levels of fitness.

All in all an excellent visit and we will happily return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brisbanegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 971 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Stayed three nights in a loft room which felt spacious and very private with a small balcony but great view. Service was very good though we were a little disappointed with the food in the restaurant. Pork belly starter was almost cold and the steak was undercooked and tough. But full marks to the waitress who arranged for it to be deducted from the bill without me asking. Deserts were excellent and the breakfast selection was good

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skyman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We recently spent two nights here and its a great place for peace whilst looking over the bay and maybe seeing a dolphin or two from your balcony.
The rooms are huge and nicely furnished. Toiletries are nice, minibar well stocked. We had some complimentary champagne which was a lovely touch for our anniversary.

Our request for a room with water view was granted, however when we arrived at 9pm , we were given a room with two single beds! We were quickly moved to a king size room and all was forgiven! There was also a lovely plate of petit fours for our arrival.
We took the breakfast package which was good as you didnt have to drive all the way into town to get fed. The breakfast was pretty standard hotel fare- but good quality and range. The only thing was the coffee machine kept running out of milk and water was cold at one point. However the staff were very helpful and cheery and would happily make fresh cups.
The view is lovely from the little balconies and nice and quiet. You can hire bikes etc and nice walks along the breakwater. In summer the little beach next door would be great for small kids to paddle in, as is the playground next door.
Would go back definately. On the Friday night it was very quiet in the bar- but not a problem for us to not have to share the fireplace with anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamiriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Great location, good rooms and staff were friendly, helpful and discreet.
The downside was the restaurant - menus were overly priced for the food on offer.
$37.00 for a one course - Mushroom Risotto (only veg option)??????
Breakfast buffet was pretty average and the whole presentation and set up was ugly. Outrageously overpriced at $35.00 a person gfor brakfast buffet, could get much better value elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuddiNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My husband and I stopped here just for one night on our way towards Sydney. It was our wedding anniversary and Peppers at Anchorage went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. Champagne in the room, flowers on the bed and the chef was happy to make up a surprise plate with my present on it and Happy anniversary written with chocolate.
The service was great, the view from the room just perfect. Couldn't fault it at all!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

The service from the moment we arrived was warm, friendly & very welcoming. From house keeping to the wait staff to the gift shop and reception staff you could not ask for more.
The food is exceptional from the buffet breakfast to the Ala Carte dinners, something for all tastes.
The rooms are very comfortable with a bed you don't want to get out of (the best sleep I have had in awhile). Rooms are easy to move around in, the disabled access rooms are easy to move a wheel chair without feeling closed in.
The location of Peppers Anchorage is absolutely beautiful and makes you feel secluded even though you are not far away from shops and activities for all ages.
The gift shop staff are fabulous and set us up on a great 4WD experiences across the Dunes with a wonderful company.
We enjoyed our stay so much we booked for our next weekend getaway for 2 months time before we left.
Fabulous

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We recently spent a long weekend at this great resort celebrating a family 70th Birthday. There were 4 families and the combination of accomodation offered and the facilities met more than everyones expectations. We originally made the booking in January and when we confirmed it 3 weeks before our planned arrival (4 months later) they had everything in place. From arrival to departure there was not one instance that did not meet our expectations,- from the front desk,who couldn't be more helpful, the maintenance man who helped us put our push bikes away, the housekeeping staff who were kind to the little guests,and the catering which could not be faulted. The highlight was a Special Family dinner which we held in the Lounge. The big girls loved the Spa,and the little ones enjoyed riding their bikes along the safe dedicated bike path to Nelson Bay. The restaurant staff were helpful and courteous and nothing was a problem in meeting the needs of the 3 generations.

I would have no reservation in recommending this resort for that special experience.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
608 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
348 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
162 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
100 reviews
1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range: $203 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing