We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but over priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anchorage Port Stephens

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Nice but over priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

I booked just one night here for my wife and I. we had never been to Port Stephens and were exploring the area. The hotel was nice and staff friendly and rooms very spacous and clean, but in my opinion they were not finished off too well and something was missing. The whole complex is very nice and pool was great.
We visited the restaurant the evening we arrived the food and service were very good but way over priced for what we got. As was the whole stay really. If you have some money to burn and dont mind paying over the odds for what you get then Peppers is a safe bet. I dont know what the others are like nearby so cant really compare.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    287
    112
    42
    27
See reviews for
151
518
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here on the June Long Weekend in an Anchorage room. This was our first experience of a Peppers hotel. We thought that they were targeted at the boutique luxury market and hence didn't read trip advisor first...mistake! Location is great and as we drove up we thought it was going to be lovely. Plenty of expensive cars in the car park, which is usually a good sign. But...

Check in was very slow and quite rude - we were only acknowledged with a "you'll have to wait".

The room's location was nice enough with a large room with a pleasant view of the bay.

The room itself was very tired and poorly cleaned. We found long black hairs in the bath, handbasin, on top of the toilet and in the coffee mug, there were the chips from a previous guest scattered under the couch and on the floor. We called reception to ask for a clean room but were told the hotel was full. The duty manager came and cleaned the bathroom and removed the coffee cups for us. The carpet was vacuumed the next day.
She gave us a free bottle of wine and (with some prodding at check-out) a little of the room service too.

The bathroom is very tired with a dated beach feel. The toilet seat didnt' stay up, the bath was old and moved under your feet and we were constantly awaken by the plumbing of adjacent rooms (e.g. flushing toiltes) running through the wall at the bed head.

The curtain rod was falling off the wall, the plaster was coming off behind our bed(seemed to have been superglued back on) and the room was very dark with only 3 lamps lighting a large room.

Television reception was horrid. Lovely digital lcd tv, but analogue and foxtel tv reception was fuzzy. Fine in the bar, but barely watchable in our room.

Food was good. We had a cheese platter in our room, which was delivered promptly and dinner and a lunch at the captain's bar. The restaurant was aparently fully booked, but at 7.30 and 8 pm it was half empty.

Bar service was poor. We had to wait mid afternoon for 20 minutes for a bar-tender to arrive and then make us a very bad pina colada. There was no conceriege desk or information in the reception area about things to do, despite a full hotel and the long weekend. We didn't bother queing at the reception desk for assistance.

Give the day spa a miss. We booked without looking first, then realised that the day spa is right opposite the bar toilets, with a cramped reception so one of us had to sit on the floor. Not exactly a luxury experience. In fairness, the treatment room was ok as was the treatment.

Public areas need a face lift and some lights turned on. The carpark was so dark our car wasn't visible and you can't tell reception from accommodation when arriving at night.

Overall, great spot, but the resort has gone cheap and it shows. The experience we had was equivalent of a 3 star hotel only.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed over a weekend with our 5 month old baby the loft room was ideal plenty of space beautifully decorated in a simple and stylish theme. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. The balcony off the room overlooked a picturesque marina - the perfect setting for a couple of wines and a cheese platter!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Peppers Anchorage for weekend in March 2009 - we stayed in an anchorage room as part of my rewards program with American Express.

The whole experience was fantastic from check in to check out. All the staff were lovely. The rooms were fabulous with an excellent (unexplainable) view of the marina. There was also a wedding during our stay, which was really lovely.

The pool was one of the best I've even swam in and there is a cute little beach about a minute away if that is more your thing.

We didn't get a chance to eat in the on site resturant - but it was booked out both nights so I'm taking that as an indication it was good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Port Stephens and I personally can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

Had the most amazing stay here over christmas 2008, the room we were allocated was lovely had an fantastic view out to the pool and was a a great size for a twin room with separate sofa area.

The christmas day dinner was also great, but made a bit of a change from traditional turkey and trimmings!

The hotel is right next to a nice little beach and couldn't have wanted for a better place to spend christmas with my family.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We arrived for two nights at Peppers in Port Stephens. Our room seemed recently refurbished and was very pleasant with lovely views over the marina. Nice pool area with plenty of quality sunbeds. The restaurant seemed rather expensive and the food over fussy so we ate in the bar on one night and locally in Nelson on the other. Overall a great place for a short break in the lovely Port Stephens location.

Helpful?
Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We were persuaded to visit the hotel again by new management and were offered a complimentary stay. Reservations and check-in were improved with friendly, quick service. However, housekeeping was worse than our previous visit - room service trays stayed uncollected near the front door of the building (ie in full view of housekeeping) for 24 hours (not ours I might add!) - this possibly contributes to evidence of cockroaches which I have never encountered in hotels before - we killed about 5 in our bedroom despite having no food out. The rooms and bathrooms are still quite tired and the fold out bed was quite uncomfortable in the room as we had a 2nd person staying in our room. Our restaurant reservation had been taken incorrectly and we were told "the nicer table had been given away to another guest" (the table was fine). The restaurant was good food, if still odd menu combinations (with flavours that don't quite work) and asking me if I wanted my lamb "bloody" or not which was odd. They also got our voucher wrong and charged us incorrectly but they did put it right quickly and service was OK. The whole place needs refurbishing and painting. The pool area is very good with plenty of seats and pool towels. There is average service by the pool and they still very understaffed. Breakfast had vastly improved and was good quality and service was better - there was only one person on duty but this was mid-week. Service on check-out was slow (only one person on duty and a large number of conference visitors checking in).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukn1reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.3 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing