We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Peppers Anchorage for weekend in March 2009 - we stayed in an anchorage room as part of my rewards program with American Express.

The whole experience was fantastic from check in to check out. All the staff were lovely. The rooms were fabulous with an excellent (unexplainable) view of the marina. There was also a wedding during our stay, which was really lovely.

The pool was one of the best I've even swam in and there is a cute little beach about a minute away if that is more your thing.

We didn't get a chance to eat in the on site resturant - but it was booked out both nights so I'm taking that as an indication it was good.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Port Stephens and I personally can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    291
    112
    43
    28
See reviews for
156
525
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

Had the most amazing stay here over christmas 2008, the room we were allocated was lovely had an fantastic view out to the pool and was a a great size for a twin room with separate sofa area.

The christmas day dinner was also great, but made a bit of a change from traditional turkey and trimmings!

The hotel is right next to a nice little beach and couldn't have wanted for a better place to spend christmas with my family.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Level Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We arrived for two nights at Peppers in Port Stephens. Our room seemed recently refurbished and was very pleasant with lovely views over the marina. Nice pool area with plenty of quality sunbeds. The restaurant seemed rather expensive and the food over fussy so we ate in the bar on one night and locally in Nelson on the other. Overall a great place for a short break in the lovely Port Stephens location.

Helpful?
Thank crazypom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We were persuaded to visit the hotel again by new management and were offered a complimentary stay. Reservations and check-in were improved with friendly, quick service. However, housekeeping was worse than our previous visit - room service trays stayed uncollected near the front door of the building (ie in full view of housekeeping) for 24 hours (not ours I might add!) - this possibly contributes to evidence of cockroaches which I have never encountered in hotels before - we killed about 5 in our bedroom despite having no food out. The rooms and bathrooms are still quite tired and the fold out bed was quite uncomfortable in the room as we had a 2nd person staying in our room. Our restaurant reservation had been taken incorrectly and we were told "the nicer table had been given away to another guest" (the table was fine). The restaurant was good food, if still odd menu combinations (with flavours that don't quite work) and asking me if I wanted my lamb "bloody" or not which was odd. They also got our voucher wrong and charged us incorrectly but they did put it right quickly and service was OK. The whole place needs refurbishing and painting. The pool area is very good with plenty of seats and pool towels. There is average service by the pool and they still very understaffed. Breakfast had vastly improved and was good quality and service was better - there was only one person on duty but this was mid-week. Service on check-out was slow (only one person on duty and a large number of conference visitors checking in).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukn1reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

Poor rooms not as advertised ours was dark & had a tiny verandah. Restaurant was appalling we had Christmas night buffet which was very poor, we did not eat there again, except for breakfast. Public rooms needed refurbishment, certainly not 4 star.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickyoneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelalot75
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights here. Our room was lovely, bright and spacious with a balcony and views that you could never get bored of.

We found all the staff really helpful and enjoyed dining in their restaurant for our evening meals and for breakfast. The location of the hotel was also great as you could choose to stay and use the pool as we did a couple of times a day, go for a walk on the beautiful beach or to jump in your car and drive to explore more of the Port Stephens area.

The only thing we didn't enjoy one night was a bottle of Semillon from their restaurant and were disappointed that they had it on the menu. I will be emailing them directly about this to try and get it removed!!

  • Liked — Room, location and views
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights on the mid-week special which is very reasonable. Hotel in a beautiful and peaceful location. Found the staff to be extremely helpful and attentive at all times which made the stay witha baby particularly pleasant! Had rooms opening out onto lovely grass area and close to the pool and restaurant. Breakfast was great. Dinner a little pricy and not sure of the accompaniments with the lamb- too much going on. We had a good meal at the Thai down the road. Carpet a little worn in room but overall good standard for the price we paid.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marylizowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.5 mi away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#13 of 16 in Nelson Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Property: Anchorage Port Stephens
Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing