We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we enjoyed our short stay at this hotel but we were in a minority as being a couple rather than a family. the beach is a few minutes walk and is very quiet and a welcome relief form the child orientated pool area.
the pool area is small and sun beds in short supply especially when most of them appear to be used for kids to put their towels on when they are swimming or jumping in the pool. they also have security gates to ensure small children cannot disappear on their own and these are constantly banging when left to close on their own.
if you use this hotel as a base for exploring the local beaches/area then it is excellent but if you want a relaxing few days by the shore then either borrow some kids or try somewhere that is couples orientated.

Room Tip: try a loft room which has great views over the marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi David,

Thanks for your feedback, you're right, it definitely is a family time of year up here in Port Stephens during the school holidays.

When we carry out the refurbishments this year, we will increase the space around the pool and add more day beds for our guests to relax. We will also be changing the pool fence to stop the banging.

Thanks again and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 923 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

The location is truly stunning! Overall the hotel is very good, although very expensive during peak periods. We had some issues with sickness while there, and the cleaning team did a wonderful job cleaning the room for us. We also had some other minor complaints regarding breakfast and extra towels but the manager, Sharon, was very quick to address those and enhance our experience at the hotel. Overall the service was very good and I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annalig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, we do hope that everyone is on the mend now - it can be difficult when you have people sick on holidays.

I have discussed your comments with Sharon and thanked her for ensuring we could make your stay enjoyable, considering the difficulties you were faced with.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A stunning, peaceful and memorable location. It was our first stay in the Port Stephens area and we were exceedingly impressed. Family of four, we stayed three nights and found it very difficult to leave. The staff were enthusiastic, welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts buffets were brimming with delicious, fresh options, and the dinner menu at Merretts was outstanding. Perfect dining experiences every time. Our room was bright and airy, bedding crisp, clean and comfortable. We all slept well, such a bonus when travelling. The bathroom was well stocked with clean bath towels, beach towels and toiletries - however could benefit from a little TLC - but, hey, such a minor issue when you weight up what's on offer here. Closest feel to a Whitsunday Island without leaving NSW. Loved it! Adored it. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya_Georges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Tanya,

Its great when you can get away from the rat race and have some down time with the family so close to home - there's no need to go to Queensland when you have Port Stephens on your door step.

I have passed on your positive comments to the team......thank you!!

We look forward to welcoming you back to show off our refurbished rooms when you are next looking for that family getaway.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had an upstairs room with a balcony overlooking the marina. The pool was a welcome sight after a hot drive fom the Hunter Valley. The room was large and the bathroom was clean if not a little dated. We sadly only stayed one night as part of a fly drive package from Sydney, I could have stayed here a week. The lady on reception was extremely helpful, printing off our boarding passes for our flight the next day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank practicepacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you had a safe trip home.

One night is never enough here in Port Stephens, we look forward to welcoming you back to Anchorage Port Stephens when you are back in the Australia.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is in a terrific location with all rooms facing the waterfront. The beach is just a few steps off the property. As the previous reviewer stated it is a place where there are lots of families - that didn't worry us at all however and we enjoyed interacting with and watching the family groups. All good. The rooms were really comfortable and we get that there is a gradual upgrade and that in the bathrooms will be updated. At this stage they're a little tired but still workable. One of the great strengths of the hotel is the staff who are really friendly and helpful - especially those in the dining area. The restaurant is a real plus with terrific breakfasts and the lunch and dinner food is excellent. One minor issue - if I was the manager I would have paid a kid slightly above Maccas' wages for a fortnight to get rid of the weeds in the gardens and on the room patios - the rest of the grounds were really well cared for and seeing weeds in gardens etc slightly jarred. All up a great place that I would return to

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for you positive feedback, I have passed on your comments to the team and given special praise to our Merretts staff.

We have actually just employed a casual gardener, who's first priority is to weed the patios around the rooms.

Thanks again.

Kind regards
Kent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Anchorage is so right in so many ways. Yet so wrong in many others.

The setting on the beautiful harbour is stunning and you can while away many a moment strolling amongst the glamorous boats moored on the Anchorage marina, glimpsing snippets of how the other half live. Or, you can walk along the breakwater and if you are lucky, as we were, catch glimpses of dolphins at dusk.

Our accommodation was stunning. We were lucky to have a loft suite at the point furthest from the reception and pool area. It was quiet, tastefully decorated and we had a good view from the balcony.

We both enjoyed our spa treatment, despite the constant banging of the pool gates and the screaming kids at play.

The food at Merretts restaurant was excellent, although I am sure you would be hoping for a change in the menu after a stay longer than a few days. And, the menu is not child-friendly.

The staff were also very pleasant, although they all seemed fairly new and a little unsure of the facts and features of the hotel.

But, even allowing for the fact that the hotel is in transition and under new management, there are some flaws that need to be addressed and quickly. They need to decide whether this is a family-friendly resort or a romantic get away for couples. The two do not gel well, especially as the kids tend to dominate the relatively small pool and sunbathing area.

But, the biggest issue was the bar and restaurant space. We would encourage the hotel to consider reversing them - locating the Captains bar and informal bar menu food down on the Terrace and pool level and moving Merretts upstairs. This would allow for a cleansing ale at lunchtime or a pre-dinner cocktail to be enjoyed outside on the Terrace, without the need for guests or staff to traipse up and down stairs to order/fetch drinks. And, the bar service needs to be improved considerably - we were there for three days and I must have wasted as much of an hour of my time waiting for a member of staff to come and serve me.

And, the policy of drinking or not on the Terrace needs to be clarified, especially as it is the only evident smoking area other than on one's balcony. It is not clear where or who to order drinks from and, despite the fact that we had taken pre-dinner drinks on the Terrace on two consecutive evenings, we were told on our last evening that it was not allowed.

And, the room service menu is ridiculous - pizza or pizza or pizza with chips or salad. We ordered two pizzas and they turned up with one, explaining that the other would follow in twenty minutes. Strangely, we had hoped that the two of us might be able to eat together......and they got our wine order wrong!

The current layout is not optimal. The upstairs rooms around the current bar location are wasted space, unless you are one of the few groups who got to monopolise the pool table. And, there are other similarly unused and unnecessary lounges dotted all around the accommodation.

Other people's children are rarely endearing. We hankered after an adult-only pool and judging by the looks on other people's faces we were not the only ones. We could see no good reason why the big green space to the left of the Terrace could not be used for this purpose - especially if it was sited alongside a newly relocated, ground floor, bar!

Other "pet hates":

- enforce the no jumping policy in the pool as it is no fun getting splashed
- remove the gates from the pool area as the kids just slam them constantly
- charging $20 a day for WiFi is just "having a laugh"!

But, on the whole, we had a relaxing and enjoyable short stay in this amazing setting. With a few tweaks this place could be really special. But, those tweaks are needed. At the moment you have to work hard to see past the flaws and to appreciate the obvious good points.

Room Tip: Choose a loft suite furthest from the pool (415)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Middleman499519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us.

Its great to get some practical ideas on how we could improve our business for your guests.

As part of the refurbishment which is taking place this year, we will be make some significant changes to the restaurant and bar areas of the hotel. This will include adding a fantastic balcony area off the main bar. This space will be designed to create an outside feel with bi-fold doors. We will also be looking to create a tasting plate menu which will give our guests an alternative dining option over looking the water - whilst still maintaining our fine dining option in Merretts.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Anchorage Port Stephens when you are in Australia next.

Kind regards
Kent Warren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently spent two nights here, using a special offer through Wests Club in Newcastle. We did not pay full price, and for what we paid , we were very satisfied. We were accommodated in a loft suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. The balcony off the lounge area, which overlooked the marina, was very pleasant for evening drinks. The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. The staff extremely friendly and helpful. Yes, parts of it may be looking a bit tired, but it is obviously being refurbished. It is a beautiful location, with every room looking at the water. The walks along the adjacent beach was very pleasant. yes, we would return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent w, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Hi Judy,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are really happy that you were able to take up that special offer and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kent Warren
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
578 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
156 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
278 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range: $177 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing