We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach side retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

A relaxing stay in a lovely property. We had a ground floor room with a lovely outdoor area looking towards the marina. It was very spacious and in a quiet location. Room service was great and on the first evening we had a very pleasant meal sitting at our outdoor setting.
Breakfast each morning was great with lots of choice and good coffee. At night the restaurant was delightful, the food was delicious and portions quite large. The tables and lighting create a great atmosphere.
We were visiting just before peak season and during the day it was difficult to get surface in the bar area, even after alerting reception that we were waiting. They seemed to be understaffed.
That said I would still return as overall the trip was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 932 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Had a great stay, ideal location, we took a package deal with dinner included. The accommodation is ideally located and very comfortable. The food was fantastic and service was great.
We will visit again and soon

Room Tip: Room with a balcony, great to sit at sunset and watch the day close with drinks ( buy before going t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We only spent one night here but the ground floor room was lovely with a patio overlooking the marina. The pool was great. The food was good (although pricey) and as it was Valentine's Day the tables were set accordingly! Breakfast was good. As we were leaving the room at 10.15am we had a "courtesy" call from reception to remind us that check out was at 10am!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed at this resort on four occasions. No longer a Peppers facility.
Now owned an operated by a regional hotel,club operator.
We have always enjoyed our stays at the Anchorage and it has been a perfect base for golfing and dining out activities. A very short drive to Nelson Bay and an even better 45 minute walk along the foreshore. The location on a marina sets the scene for great views,gentle movement of the marina waters and the dolphins that frequent the small harbour. On our most recent visit it was apparent that some considerable effort has been made to maintain the original "Peppers" vision of quality service.
Worth keeping in mind that the "Anchorage" rooms have two configerations. Full view and partial view. The full view rooms are excellent value. and a good idea to opt for the rate that includes breakfast.We have always taken advantage of the excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a full view anchorage room if a suite is not required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutbackChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ideally located by the shore of Port Stephens and close to the town of Nelson Bay. Spent 3 days with friends in well maintained and comfortable ground floor rooms overlooking the sloping lawns. The king bed was just right. The views from rooms over the marina and waterway were great. Quality products were available in the bathroom with the usual tea and coffee making facilities. While the bathroom was very clean, it could benefit from the replacement of the tile grout which is showing sections of mould. There was a good selection for breakfast. To cater for our European visitors I would like to see cheeses and cold meats offerred. Missing was fresh pieces of uncut fruit. The choice of an apple or banana would have been nice. Good value meals were served in the upstairs bar area again looking over the waters. Beware that this is a popular venue for weddings and five took place in the days we were there. If you are travelling in a group it would be prudent to reserve a table. We were unable to eat at the resort restaurant on our first night. At breakfast time we encountered large parties associated with the weddings. For first time visitors do drive to Shoal Bay and Fingal Bay for lovely views and quiet beaches. The walk from the resort to Nelson Bay on the special pathways is highly recommended to get a feel for the uniqueness of the area.

Room Tip: Corner rooms, for example Room 201 are larger with a single and two seater lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizjakGosford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

What a beautiful location at Corlette Port Stephens, right on the waterfront of a marina this peaceful location can only be described as bliss. Service was very personable and the restaurant offers modern Australian meals in a pleasant setting. Breakfast was excellent. The Manager, Kent was helpful, professional and friendly. I will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveAusHospitality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a room overlooking the marina, which had a lovely outlook and was surprisingly quiet, the bed was comfortable and the block out curtains made it easy to sleep. The balcony was a bit small and offered no protection from the rain, but nice to be able to leave the french doors open and enjoy the fresh air. The shower was over the bath which could present a problem if you have limited mobility.
The dining room was pleasant and both dinner and breakfast were nice, it was an Easter weekend and the staff were trying to keep up to demand with a few small things not being replaced without asking (cold water and English breakfast tea) but was a pleasnat dining experience.
There are lots of lovely old photos on the walls, a small area to sit and read and a nice little bar for pre dinner drinks.

Room Tip: There are lots of beautiful beaches to visit, little shopping areas and some boutique and tourist sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luckygirlcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
585 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range: $173 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing