We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anchorage Port Stephens
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed for a night. The hotel has a most fantastic location. We had trouble with our travel agent AOT/Travel2 incorrectly booking the wrong hotel. The staff we spoke to were excellent, really friendly and helpful and Sally in particular was superb in organising our stay. We had a fantastic suite looking out onto the bay. We had a superb dinner in the restaurant, it was great. At check in we asked if gluten free bread could be made available, and low and behold it appeared at dinner and breakfast, fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

910 - 916 of 932 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2007

We choose to stay at Peppers as it looked and advertised as a romantic retreat! Which is what we went away for. Instead of this the hotel was overrun by a conference where everyone had SCREAMING children in the pool by 7am until 10pm at night! As our room was directly by the pool we didn't have a relaxing experience at all. When we were rudely woken by screaming kids and their parents at 7am each morning, we complained to reception about the noise level adnwere basically told there was nothing to be done about it.
Well here are a few suggestions:
Family should be placed around the pool and couples placed in the rooms further down by the marina. Easy fix. Also the pool should be accessed only by adults until 9am so the guests are not disturbed.
We paid $400 a night for this accomodation and we were very dissapointed in the room size, fixtures and cleanliness too. The room we stayed in was very dated and tacky.
Also the hotel is isolated and you will need a car to drive into town for eating options etc. Perhaps they should offer a free shuttle bus?
Dissapointing experience as we paid alot and expected a relaxing break away from it all.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyliedbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We have just stayed at this lovely hotel for three days. It's in a very quiet location with a small beach. A car is essential. Our room is light and airy and we have a beautiful view of the marina and beach. The staff are excellent and the food in the restaurant is very good. The only grouch would be that there are quite a few conferences going on so the noise in the restaurant can be quite bad. Overall a great place to stay. Do visit 'The Point ' restaurant on the tip of Soldiers Point - lovely food and a wonderful view. Also take the ferry from Nelsons beach to Tea Gardens for lunch. We saw dolphins on both trips!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Speges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband. The hotel is in a lovely location and overlooks a beautiful bay and marina. Our room was on the ground floor with doors leading onto a small terrace. The whole room could have done with being updated as some of the furnishings looked a little worse for wear for this standard of hotel.

We ate in the restaurant one night. The service was really slow although it was not that busy. Food was just OK. Other than driving or getting a taxi to Nelson Bay there wasn't anywhere else to eat.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CumbrianGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We spent the weekend in Port Stephens and decided to have dinner on Saturday 19th August 2006.At Peppers Anchorage.We booked for 7.30pm.The restaurant was not overly busy the service was very poor and it took until 8.05pm to get a drink.The starter we had cost $18 and was basically green salad leaves with one small piece of sundried tomatoe and one small piece of artichoke.This place is overated the food is ordinary and very expensive.We wont be back.

Stayed: July 2006
5  Thank ratchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2006

Peppers Anchorage – Port Stephens.

The hotel is tucked away within a serene tranquil bay, positioned overlooking the water and the marina, with a petite bay beach within easy walking distance. All the rooms have private balconies and most look out to sea. The building is low rise two storey, built in timber and resembles American Cape Cod architecture . There seems to be plenty of parking available, although we did come in low season. A car is a must here, as the hotel is approx 5 – 10 minutes drive into Nelson Bay. This hotel has a No Smoking Policy, but if you are a smoker you can have a cigarette on the unit balconies.

Our room 217 is a loft style unit, with a lounge room downstairs with small dining table, couch, coffee table, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities, TV, CD and two French doors leading onto a small balcony. Upstairs is very spacious with a king size bed, which is very comfortable, desk, wardrobe and two small bedside tables. There is a large en-suite with shower, toilet and spa bath. Bathrobes and beach towels are also provided. The bathroom could do with an update, as it is looking a little tired for a 5 star hotel.

Overall, the room is very homely, spacious and elegantly furnished, with super views of Port Stephens and the marina. The facilities include a small swimming pool with deck chairs, spa, sauna and gym. There is a relaxing guest lounge on every floor of the hotel, the main lounge room near the reception oozes with charm and atmosphere, especially in winter, with its cosy log fire.

Pros: Tasteful intimate romantic get-away, and for those who just want to do nothing but relax, then this hotel you would love. Low rise building in a gorgeous setting. The rooms are very comfy offering excellent views. Staff seem to be welcoming and affable. If you just want peace, seclusion , retreat or a romantic time then Peppers would suit you perfectly.Restaurant food is modern Australian cuisine and scrumptious.

Cons: Too far from town and major restaurants and nightlife. Certain areas of the hotel need to be updated to keep it up to a 5 star hotel. Expensive in peak season. If you want to be close to the main surfing beaches, restaurants, cafes, or be social, then I would suggest staying at Shoal Bay Resort and Spa in Shoal Bay.(---) Mini bar has a very limited selection and there is no sink downstairs, so hence…every time you want a cuppa/toilet or water…its upstairs we go. Noise can easily be heard in the corridors. Poor lighting with just lamps.

Recommendation : Yes, for the romantics.

Tips: located 2.5hrs from Sydney on the waterfront in the suburb of Corlette. Finding the hotel at night can be difficult, with limited sign posting. The best tip I can give is after turning off from the Pacific Highway, follow the signs to Nelson Bay, turn left to Corlette and Soldiers Point first roundabout, follow to next roundabout turn left again, continue along till third roundabout, go straight through for approx 3mins. There is a sign post on a sheltered bus stop, its the next street on your right.
Buy your wine at Nelson Bay or Shoal Bay Hotel, cheapest bottle in hotel is $40.00AUD. Tours can be booked at the Marina Office. Offers great winter deals (half price).

Things to Do: see http://www.tripadvisor.com/Travel-g529017-s4/Port-Stephens:Australia:Things.to.Do.html

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Spent almost a week here in February 2005 with family and found it to be a comfortable and relaxing hotel. It’s built overlooking a small marina or ‘anchorage’ at one edge of the settlement of Port Stephens, far enough from the busy centre to be restful and quiet. The attractive wooden architecture consists of roomy individual units with balconies or terraces mostly overlooking the bay. Alongside is a lovely beach, almost deserted while were there, with very safe swimming. The outdoor pool was a bit small but mostly empty enough for serious swimming. We had a great day sailing a chartered boat around the huge Nelson’s Bay.
The food was terrific, up with the best of modern Australian, with small but varied lunch and dinner menus that changed every day. The service throughout the hotel was efficient and really friendly.
Verdict: pricey but worth it if you value quality.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corlette
2.4 mi away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#3 of 16 in Nelson Bay
585 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
340 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#5 of 16 in Nelson Bay
93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
280 reviews
1 mi away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Port Stephens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Port Stephens

Address: Corlette Point Road, Corlette, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia (Formerly Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Corlette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Corlette
Price Range: $173 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchorage Port Stephens 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation by the Sea. All 80 rooms and suites have an individual balcony or porch, most with unobstructed views over Port Stephens. At Anchorage Port Stephens we are large enough to provide you with superb guest facilities but small enough to ensure your stay is intimate and relaxed. Only two and a half hours drive from Sydney,Anchorage Port Stephens is the perfect seaside weekend escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchorage Port Stephens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers Anchorage Port Stephens Hotel Corlette
Peppers Anchorage Hotel Port Stephens
Peppers Anchorage Resort Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens Corlette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing