We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
429
289
94
47
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
429
289
94
47
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water slides all inclusive hotel main building an upgrade families with small children nice family hotel non smokers nice beach crepes beach bar on a daily basis snacks and drinks multiple choices the food is great pools grecotel marron
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 885 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2020

We spent 5 nights in this hotel end of July 2020, in a Casa Grande room which was nice setup if you have kids as it has to separate sleeping areas.

The reception staff was very helpful for check in disinfected our bags and helped us to our room in a golf car. Nice Beach with plenty of sunbeds and the kids loved the pools especially the one with the water slides. although the place seemed to have many guests it never felt busy.

Food for Lunch and Dinner there was various choices to accommodate all tastes, breakfast after the second day it gets a bit boring as it is the same everyday.

There is access to snacks and drinks all day and the staff really work hard to accommodate requests and we were feeling for them working in the heat for over 12 hours.

overall very nice experience and would recommend the place

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElGenral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ioannis avdelas, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Casa Marron, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2020

Dear Guest, Kalimera.
Thank you for choosing Grecotel Casa Marron for your family vacations and the time to share your kind words with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. Your good-will review is under serious consideration as we always do our best, to provide you high level of Greek hospitality.
We will be glad to welcome you again.
Sincerely yours
Avdelas Ioannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2020

Loved this place. My first time in Greece and so glad we choose for that hotel.
1. The hotel was just a 30 minutes drive from the airport.

2. The precautions the hotel took for ours and the staff's safety with the pandemic is great (they even desinfected all the luggage before bringing it to my room).

3. The room is great. I got an upgrade (thanks for that!) and it was clean, the bed is great en there is a balcony with a great view (even if it's a room with no seaside, still great!).

4. The food is great. A lot of choice. If you are a picky eater like me you'll love this place. There always something you like. Also great managing with the pandemic going on.

5. The beach... I loved it. Clean, clear water. Not too crowded, always clean towels and desinfected chairs.

6. Pools. They looked great. I have to say I didn't try them because why the pool of you have an amazing beach but it really looked great.

7. The staff is amazing. Very friendly, and not the 'I'm-friendly-because-I'm-paid-for-this' but sencere.
Most of the staff know multiple languages.
If you want to leave the hotel to visit places they are very helpful and give you multiple choices off getting to the place you want in varieties of price range.
Also you can ask them for advise on where to go. They tell you where the best places are and even show you little beautiful places (thanks for that by the way!).
Also a city nearby if you want to party ( also advise from the staff, also thank you very much!), great music to dance to there!

It was an amazing experience and I'll defenitly will go back there!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank annamariak307
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ioannis avdelas, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Casa Marron, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2020

Dear Annamaria, good afternoon.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your summer vacations here. It is so true that our staff always does its best for your service.
We do hope to welcome you once again back to Grecotel Casa Marron in 2020 or 2021 and give us the opportunity to host you for one more time.
Thank you again. We wish you all the best for the coming winter.
Kind regards
Avdelas Ioannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2019

The place has transformed over the past couple of years. I was there in 2017 and it was a disaster! However, a friend proposed to give it another shot and it was excellent, total transformation, not only on the facilities, but also on the service, which is tougher to achieve. It was overall a great experience.

Spacious rooms compared to other similar resorts
Great food, quantity and quality
Service was excellent from everybody in the resort
It is a compact resort compared to others, making easier for families with younger kids
Waterslides are great for the kids

I would highly recommend it!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank petand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecotel_Casa_Marron, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Casa Marron, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2019

Dear Guest, Good Morning.

Thank you for choosing Grecotel Casa Marron for your vacation and for writing your review of your recent stay.
Your kind words about our colleagues are most welcomed, as they always do their best for your service and truly give us the strength to carry on providing you with high standards of service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!

Warm regards
Avdelas Ioannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

The main thing we can say about this resort after our stay is that we’re more and more becoming fans of the Grecotel chain and all the qualities associated with its name.

The hotel is indeed well suitable for families. It has a big territory with nice landscape, easy access to all of the locations, and thought-through infrastructure. All of these features make for a wonderful stay with children of different ages, but preferably below 10 y.o. – these will find the animation program for kids especially entertaining. Speaking of the latter, we are truly grateful to the animators and especially the Grecotel’s own staff Konstantina, who managed to make our small daughter join the group dancing for the first time! On the other side, seeing how important children are for Grecotel’s philosophy, and how strong Grecotel’s efforts are in leading the eco-friendly initiatives, we wonder why they don’t do the same for creating a more children-friendly environment? Being now their loyal customers, we hope that they can become one of the first hotel chains to introduce something to protect children from second-hand smoking. In our opinion, we think it’s unacceptable that the current EU regulations don’t separate smokers from the public areas. It results in the fact that you can’t enjoy your meal on a terrace without inhaling smoke from the neighbours – which is absolutely disrespectful to the people leading a healthy lifestyle. And even worse than that: as it’s acceptable to smoke in front of the rooms, it happens that the smoke from the neighbours can eventually get sucked in our rooms – which was especially irritating when we were opening the terrace doors to let some fresh air in – and instead were getting the harmful smoke and bad smell. When we complained about it at the reception and they assumingly asked the neighbour not to smoke close to our doors, that person started smoking even more – and even deliberately when our children were running out to play – as he was smiling and knew we couldn’t do anything against. So can Grecotel be brave (and progressive) enough to ban smoking from its public areas in its own private territory? After all, even in ‘less democratic’ countries like Russia people are not allowed to harm the health of non-smokers in the outdoor public areas!

Returning to the positives, we were happy with the choice of accommodation. The marron bungalow rooms with sea view must be one the best options for small families as they provide both good view and easy access to the terrace. Especially because of that, it was surprising to know that this type of room was the only one not to be completely renovated last year. This made us wondering: Why? Had it been renovated like the other rooms, it would have been really priceless. That left some disappointment from the accommodation, because they still charge more for this type of room (than those in the main buildings at least) despite its bad refurbishment. If they make some renovations for the next season (2020), then we can only recommend taking this type of room for your potential future booking. If not – then go for some other bungalow options, which have likewise good location (although without direct sea view) but a much better – and newer – equipment. Concerning the latter, we were also surprised not to receive all the basic amenities in the room, even despite being Privilege club members. Slippers, bath robes and towels were missing from the room and we had to specifically ask for them – quite strange for this kind of a hotel, and especially considering we arrived quite late and the staff would have enough time to check and prepare our room. During our stay, however, we never had any complaints about the room service and cleaning, as our main cleaning lady in charge of the level was particularly friendly and helpful.

Catering fully met our expectations. Perhaps, it wasn’t as refined as in some other luxurious Grecotel hotels, but after all, this is a 4-star family hotel – and for that we got everything we could wish for. Selection of food was always plenty – for breakfast, lunch and especially dinner. There’s a row with local couisine, there’s a brilliant grill/BBQ outside, plenty of fresh fruit, and even a corner for kids where one can find meals without salt or any additives. Unlike some other similar hotels, there’s never any need to prove your credentials by saying the room number, nor any restrictions for ordering water and drinks. You can just come and enjoy your time. Even the service – albeit not distracting or annoying – was perfectly fine and up-to-speed. The only (subjective) downside of catering for us was the quality of drinks as we’re not in favour of ‘instant’ juices. Yes, the selection was good – orange, apple, grapefruit, but you could feel these are not natural – same for the ice. However, you find the same quality in all or most of the Greek hotels – after all, it’s not Thailand or any other exotic location where natural juices are in abundance. What’s a great addition to the main restaurant, though, is the beach/pool-side bar, which also serves pancakes and pizza in the afternoon and is a popular destination for everyone during the afternoon break.

Last but not the least, the resort offers swimming capacities to any taste – both artificial and natural. Among the former are one big swimming pool with a nice view to the sea, one babys’ pool and one pool for the kids with two slides. Unfortunately, although it might be down to the time of year, the water in all pools was quite cold – and always colder than in the sea. In our quite extensive travel experience, this is quite strange and a bit inconvenient, because normally one’s trying to escape in the pools when it’s becoming unpleasantly chilly in the open water. Here, the sea water was always warmer, especially in the late afternoon. Though we used it to our advantage and simply spent more time in the sea than normally in similar European destinations. And speaking of the sea, it’s wonderful here. The waters are clean and transparently turquoise. The seabed is gently sloping and sandy soft except for the entrance, where in some places it has too many pebble stones. And yes, there’s small fish that can bite on the damaged skin – e.g. irritations, callus or cuts - if one stands still for too long in the water. But it feels funny, and in some exotic locations you even have to pay for such a skin cleansing. The waters are somehow calm in normal weather conditions, but waves get ever stronger as it gets windier… And one last funny observation, which influences the impressions from the otherwise fully-relaxing holidays. There’s apparently a NATO military base not far from the hotel and the Araxos airport – which is even pixelated on the Google maps. We assume it’s NATO because only with such funding could they afford flying fighter jets every half an hour – considering how much each flight of such planes costs! And yes, their engines’ sound is quite distracting especially in the silence of the quiet seaside mornings…

As a conclusion – we definitely enjoyed staying in this hotel and would recommend it to everyone – especially families with small children. Yes, it has certain disadvantages, some of which we already mentioned and some of which not – such as quite unfriendly (comparatively to many other resorts) reception personnel or lack of medical station/cabinet for some emergency situations. However, unless you really have troubles either with accommodation or with health, you don’t really need to deal with any of that. And finally, albeit situated well for days-long relaxation, its location is not ideal if you come to Peloponnes for sightseeing. Most of its natural and historical sights are much down to the south of the big peninsula, and on the twisty mountain roads would take you too many hours to reach. This is nothing against the hotel – just consider this when defining the main purpose of your trip. And if you’re there for leisure and enjoying some sunny days with your beloved ones – you won’t be disappointed!

Room tip: bungalow rooms with ground terrace - great for children
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Igor and Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecotel_Casa_Marron, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Casa Marron, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Dear Guest, good morning.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a detailed review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you really enjoyed your summer vacations here. It is so true that our staff always does its best for your service.
We do hope to welcome you once again back to Grecotel Casa Marron in 2020 and give us the opportunity to host you for one more time.
Thank you again. We wish you all the best for the coming winter.

Kind regards
Avdelas Ioannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019

We had a wonderful week and Casa Marron and would highly recommend it.

Our room was in the main hotel building and was very clean and well maintained. The amount of storage was a little lacking but the beds were very comfortable and air-con very efficient and quiet.

The food was of very high quality and the choice extensive with different themed dishes every night. The bar staff at the beach bar were excellent and worked hard all day, always with a smile on their faces!

I had an accident on the beach and worsened a foot injury and the help I received from the lifeguards at the time and the guest services team was superb. They got a pair of crutches for me within a very short space of time and I had help and support getting around for the rest of week. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, we really appreciated it.

The location is very remote and so you may need a car if you want to get out and explore. We flew to Kalamata airport which was a couple of hours away but worth the drive in my opinion!

I would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet get away from everything with a wonderful beach, great food and superior service.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grecotel_Casa_Marron, Διευθυντής at Grecotel Casa Marron, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear Guest, Good Evening.

Thank you for taking your time to share such a detailed review about your recent stay at Grecotel Casa Marron. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your good words give us strength to continue offering high levels of Grecotel experiences.

Hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Till then we wish you a quiet winter.

Sincerely yours
Avdelas Ioannis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews