We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not what we were expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“not what we were expecting”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

arrived on the 24 sept. with my 2 cousins and there partners.1 was celebrating there golden wedding and we were celebrating our40th.after signing in 1 of the receptionist said to us we have the perfect place for you to stay,the presidential suite.beautiful place,own pool,own sun loungers ect.but only two bedrooms,the other 2 beds are in the lounge although it was nice not suitable for us as we would be living with 1 another 24 hous aday,even though we get on great by the end of the holiday im sure we would have got on one anothers nerves.we were then offered a so called upgrade,i dont think so,we were in152,nice outlook,30 metre from the pool,overlooking the little church,but was the room tired,could do with a complete refub.another room was 55,not big enough to swing a cat,again could do with complete refub.we complained and it took till the next day to move them to the main block of the hotel,room 804 again could do with a complete refub.we booked this holiday nearly a year ago asking for just 3 rooms together,after we turned down the presidential suite 1 couple was at one end of the complex,1 was in the main block,and we were right at the other end.food was nice but never hot.tea and coffee were never hot at breakfast,never enough ceral bowls,took ages to replace the food when it ran out.never enough staff to cater for the amount people who were there,but they were very friendly.in the dining room there seemed to be to many people walking around in suits showing people to there table,and not enough people replacing food and clearin tables.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 51barry62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and provide us with your feedback.
Actually we are very sorry that our proposal of our Royal Pavillion, of 220m2 area, with 2 floors, 2 separate bathrooms + 1 WC, private pool, private garden and many other exclusive and luxury facilities, have been proved to be “unlucky”. One of our hotel tendencies is to prepare pleasant surprises for guests with special anniversaries, birthdays etc..
However, as soon as we were notified that our offer did not fit to your needs, instantly we tried to give you alternative room options as per you request. Nevertheless, we feel sorry that our room classic design did not met your expectations.
We should thank you a lot for your praising words about our hotel staff. Concerning food temperature, please allow us to note that hotel operates under TUV ISO 22000 regulations and all meals are served at a temperature well above "lukewarm". This fact is ensured by repetitive controls, (which are part of the ISO 22000 specifications) and is recorded in our system's archives on daily basis.
Finally we sincerely hope that our hotel can fully convince you during your next stay that we always try our best to resolve any matter and fulfill every request.


Best regards,

George Barelier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    565
    223
    71
    64
See reviews for
815
853
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Having recently stayed at the Aquila Elounda I was expecting this to be different in terms of experience as this is a family hotel. I was concerned about some recent reviews before I travelled.
Having stayed here I have to say, as do others, I don't know what people have to complain about. Staff wonderful. Food great. Location great. Rooms as expected a little tired but family hotels tend to be like this as they get some heavy use. The hotel has some amazing facilities for families with very young children with a purpose built area. The hotel rooms admittedly need some updating but are spotless. There were always beds around the pools and you DON'T have to be up at the crack of dawn to get one. I chose the all inclusive option which also allowed me limited choice of excellent food in the a la carte restaurants. If you choose not to go with the items highlighted with a little house then yes you do have to pay a discounted price if you are all inclusive, but it's really nice to be able to have unrestricted use of the a la carte restaurants particularly at lunchtimes, rather than use the buffet restaurant for every meal occasion. Why hammer a hotel for wanting to give you maximum choices? They even have a little Greek taverna and church, shop and hairdresser on site. The hotel is ideally situated. There are a wealth of restaurants, tourist shops and bars on its doorstep. Entertainment good. It's right on the beach with an excellent beach bar and an area with a separate VIP area with more comfortable beds which you need to pay for if you can't be bothered to get up and fetch your own drinks. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel with regular buses into Rethymnon or if you're feeling energetic you can walk it. I did. It's a lovely little town with plenty to do and see. Overall a really excellent holiday. I certainly would consider going back and will recommend this hotel to friends, work colleagues and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lawrence001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review.
We are more than pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to any of our resorts or hotels soon.
We asure you for our best attention at all times

Faithfully yours,

George Barelier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I booked a room at this hotel ( it was a "Promo Room") and were told that it was a 5 star hotel. We read a few reviews that said it was more of a 4 star hotel. Ok, fine, we can live with that since the price was right. However, when we checked in and were given a room in a building across the street, we were not happy and asked for something else one the side of the street where the main hotel was located along with the swimming pools, restaurants, sea and beach. They said that they didn't have anything at the moment but that there was a possibility for "tomorrow". So, we went across the street to our room and what we saw, shocked us! It was a tiny room with two small beds (not exactly romantic!) and run down furniture which really was more of a 1 or 2 star room. We marched straight out of the room and back to the front desk to complain to the manager. I told him that either he get us a better room or we would be checking out! All of a sudden, there was a cancellation (imagine that!) and we were offered a room that was much better but not all that great and definitely not a 4 or 5 star room. Then we were offered another room which was with a sea view but for an additional 15 EUR per night. We saw the room and took it since it was better than the others but still hardly a 4 star room, never mind anything remotely close to a 5 star one.

The breakfast was rather poor for a 4 star hotel and complete garbage for a 5 star hotel. The swimming pools were nice enough and the beach was ok.

The hotel is located about 6km from the town of Rethymnon. It costs 10 EUR (flate rate) to get to the center by taxi or 1.20 EUR by bus.

Another annoying thing were the housekeeping staff who kept yapping loudly outside of our room at about 8am. This happened every morning and I complained twice though it did not help. They also started vacuuming in the hallway outside our room one morning at about 9am.

So, we were quite disappointed with our stay and certainly will not return here. However, I must say that the town of Rethymnon was actually quite nice and I would certainly like to come back to this town again.

Room Tip: Avoid the Promo rooms at all costs!! They are pathetic 1 or 2 star rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afesiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you that so honestly wrote us your perceptions. We are constantly working on the highest quality service.
We are concerned that your room did not meet your room design standards. However, as soon as we are notified that our guests wish to change room we always try our best to offer alternatives in the same type or in one of our 17 different room types. In periods of high occupancy a room change may take few hours or one day the most. Also, we wish our extensive continental buffet could have satisfied your taste. Actually our breakfast has been always a reason to receive excellent reviews from clients and Tour Operators through questionnaires. Normally the taxi-drive to Rethymnon costs 7,00€ and for that reason we suggest to our guests to ask for the price before hiring a cab.
Finally, we apologize if your complaint had not been handled by our hotel to your full satisfaction.
We hope that we may welcome again in a room of your taste and get your positive points about our breakfast.


Best Regards,

George Barelier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a great holiday at the Aquila! For the life of me,I can't understand some of the complaints made about this hotel. Okay! Perhaps there are some minor problems but let's remember its Greece. The rooms are maybe a little dated, but they are kept spotlessly clean! The food was superb ...... Always plenty to choose from. The staff were always polite and friendly (apart from the miserable person who supervised the storage of the cases belonging to people leaving). The drinks were expensive,but saying that, there are tavernas very close by that offer drinks at a very reasonable price. So folks, ignore the serial wingers and give this hotel a visit!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RainmanDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a large hotel with direct access to the beach.
We had asked and were given a sea view room. We were in 502. This was a family room ground level with direct access to one of the pools and a few steps from the beach.
We loved the room we sat drinking wine in the evening watching the sun go down and listening to the waves.
Room was kept spotless had a great bathroom.
Food was great we did half board and could swap around.
Drinks were expensive button keeping with any large hotel.
Right on the beach reasonably sandy. Some big waves.
Overall a good hotel in UK standards 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMWWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After reading several poor reviews regarding the hotel and bedbugs I emailed the hotel with my concerns also stating how much the holiday was costing after staying in iberostar accommodation last year with no complaints and much cheaper , whether on arrival this email had anything todo with my room allocation I don't know but we were given a sea view bungalow it was lovely baby white towels and linen tea coffee facilities slippers bathrobes beach bag we had no real complaints
Ok the room could of had a more luxury feel for the money but we was pleased.
Overall the hotel offers a high standard food was excellent evening meals was slightly spoilt as there are loads of young Russian families who seem to let children run all over the place while they sit and chat not what you want when trying to enjoy your meal ,this needs to be looked at the hotel needs adult only ares or two buffet restaurants so you don't get it all in one ,
Staff mostly good we ate most lunchtimes. In teverna mourners picking out the AI from the menu
The staff here were poor the man nikos I would say has been in the same job role for years and has got complacent no eye contact not asked once if we wanted another drink classed as second rate on AI you could tell the ones on AI,also there was several repeat guests having lunch ,the staff save them tables flock over them all lunch time and we were never spoke to any more once we had received our meal that was that no how was your meal would you like anything else and not once asked for refills on our drinks even thou they walked past all the time this should be looked into. Evenings lovely bar also outside sitting areas but again Russian children running around the bar area, weather was very hot everyday no problems with sunbeds . Would I go back possible .

Room Tip: Bungalow 17 perfect spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunkiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from a week in Crete. First impressions of the hotel were good. Given orange juice on arrival and bags taken to room.
Room was a little dated but always cleaned everyday. We had a sea view room which is a must.
Beach is not sandy but that is not a out off and always sun beds available. Sea is abit choppy so I didn't go in much.
Food is amazing with plenty of variety. Only gripe would be if you arrive late for meal times you may struggle to find a clean table but a waitress would be happy to set a table for you if asked. Also make sure there is no one sitting at the table you chose. On one occasion we sat down having not found a clean table for two and while eating a waiter came over screaming 4 ppl were sat there but were at the buffet. Nothing indicated to is anyone was sat there. Abit awkward and a lot of tutting from the staff who made a table up next to is for these other ppl. Awkward!

The hotel overall is clean. Reception staff are bit glum at times but waiters are lovely mostly.

Only other problem we faced was checking out day. We were told by our rep and two reception staff we could have a room to shower and change as our flight was not until 2am and check out at 12. So we spent the day at the beach treating ourselves to a sun lounger in the exclusive area €15 for all day. When we were ready we went to reception to request a room as instructed to be told the hotel was fully booked and we would have to shower in the gym!!! I protested but was told the same again. So we had to lug our suitcases up stairs and then down two flights of stairs to the indoor pool area. Good job it was empty because we had to open out cases and shower in there like homeless ppl using a public baths! The shower had a flimsy curtain nearly facing the pool which blew in the wind so anyone could see me! I was so angry!!! Shouldn't they know if they were fully booked when telling me TWICE we could have a room. Not the best end to the holiday.

Overall the hotel is great. Staff are nice but rooms are dated. We did not spend much time in the hotel. Is advice going to spinalonga and baros Lagoon but book with a local company not with the tour operator as they charge too much. Thompsons charge €68 to spinalonga and €48 to Knossos when we paid €32 each to do both on the same day with a local tour company.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Germo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelianos Kampos
0.3 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.3 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 165 in Rethymnon
1,042 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 165 in Rethymnon
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,740 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 165 in Rethymnon
638 reviews
44.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Property: Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#2 Family Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 519
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Aquila Rithymna Beach fronts the azure 500 m long beach on the north coastal line of Crete. A favorite destination for repeater visitors and vacationers from all over the world, proves the delightful experience of hospitality, sunshine, modern amenities and faultless service. Most of the generous rooms, bungalows and villas housed at the hotel's colorful gardens or at the local style buildings. The resort is specifically aimed at families with children of all ages for magical holidays with plenty of in-house facilities and entertaining activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Rithymna Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Rithymna Beach
Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing