We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confusing All Inclusive!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Confusing All Inclusive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Firstly this is a lovely hotel and despite its age we didn't think it was dated. The reception and other communal areas were excellent and the whole hotel was immaculately clean and well kept.

The food was second to none in all restaurants but you need a degree to get to grips with the all inclusive as limited items are actually included! Only certain drinks are included but that is a minor thing as the selection is huge. The taverna by the pool is when things get really confusing, I would say a larger percentage of the menu was chargeable than was all inclusive and although pizzas are included and are served all day if you go after a certain time they are chargeable! Ice cream is free all day at the beach bar and in the restaurant but not at the pool bar, try explaining that to a hot 2 yr old at the pool! Only certain items in the mini bar are free which we realised all to late! I could go on but just make sure you have your wits about you when ordering!

A major bug bear was trying to get a drink, I have never been to any restaurant where you are not offered a drink when nearing the end of another. The pool bar is waitress service (very nice staff) but be prepared to have to keep your eye out for someone and for a long wait, if you go up to the bar you are sent away and told someone will come and take your order which will happen within about 20 mins. At dinner the staff work extremely hard but again it's an art form to catch someone's eye for a top up, we opted for a bottle of the house wine at the start of the meal (available on all inclusive) to avoid this issue.

We paid to upgrade to a bungalow room as we have a toddler only to discover we had a balcony and the room was to say the least 'uninspiring' despite the extra charge and the balcony didn't get the sun after 8am in the morning. The reception were fantastic and offered us a family room which was a vast improvement but unfortunately had several marble steps from the terrace that were a holiday accident waiting to happen so we opted to stay where we were.

The cleaners were excellent and the room was cleaned to the point of being spotless every day, they were also extremely friendly.

Overall we had a wonderful stay with only a few niggles and where possible the hotel did try to accommodate. The hotel is perfect but all inclusive should mean exactly that as I do not like to pay for that up front then be faced with further charges if I chose something different from the menu!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank susannedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    547
    214
    67
    59
See reviews for
774
803
18
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Second visit for a second year in a row, And yet again another Enjoyable stay. Not much to really say this time round as my 1st review about the hotel pretty much covers it still for this Trip, though just a few points to Recap on..

There is one thing that may be worth the hotel looking into and thats were there are some mentions of the food being lukewarm, i think this is partly down to the platters the food is served up in, when the food is first served up it will be hot, but you will get the condensation forming at the top of the lids and after a few times when the lids have been opened and closed again (and i did notice that most people closed them with a bang) The condensation is more than likely coming down on to the food thus making it cooler & Possibly Soggier that bit Quicker...But Again that is my Personal opinion as to the way i see it.

Other than that no complaints, The Bar Staff - Mike, Kleo, Aphrodite & Co. As always made sure the drinks were kept flowing and there was always something Amusing happening.

I Do Ask That You Please Read My 1st Review For a more Full Review.

Also if General Manager Mr George Barelier reads this, Please pass on yet again my Thanks to your staff especially Mike & Staff in the lobby bar for There Attentive Service and also please feel free to contact me if you wish to Discuss Any points that was Written in the Above or my
previous review of the Hotel, Here's hoping to see all the staff i have Befriended there again next year should i be able to make it out to crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sid360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We ordered a double room for 4 nights and expected for a 5* hotel ,but we were very disapointed.
Our room was very simple ,small,the mattress was hard and not comfortable,the view was to the garden and the backyard and not to the sea.
When we asked if it is possible to change the room, they asked for an amount of about 35 euro per day.
They was not a teapot in the room,and they asked to pay for it 4 euro.(we were offended -so we did not take it.)
To shut the safe- we had to use a key, not a small key - so we were obliged to take it with us all the day.
At the dinning room they did not serve plain water and we had to order mineral water and to pay for it evry night.
At the dinning room the staff was very helpfull and friendly and the food was exellent.
On the beach -a lot of sun beds but it was very difficult to get into the sea.The swimming polls were perfect.
When we made the reservation, we payed about 20%more than other 5* hotels in Crete.
We have the feeling that they don't think to satisfite the client,but,only to increase the income of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hcrespin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merstham, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I went to this hotel on 16th sep returned 30th sep we enjoyed our stay immensly the Hotel was spotlessly clean food was very good room a little on the small side but not a problem as only slept in it.The gardens were lovely very well kept beach was too pebbly for us.pools were very good the only comment I would make is that there were notices all round the pools that sunbeds were not to be reserved if they were towells would be removed we had a seaview overlooking one of the pools and the sunbeds were being reserved from 6 am onwards and not once did we see any staff remove towells one lady reserved 4 beds every day from 6am until 5 pm and she was the only one that ever sat there sometimes not coming out until mid day.some of the guests staying there were very rude and most had very unruly children with them one small boy regularly pulled his swimming trunks down and peed in the pool and and children as young as 2 years old were left in the adults pool unnatended.I am not critisising the staff for this but the very rude and uncaring parents.To end on a good note the staff were amazing so friendly and helpful and were not treated very nicely by some of the guests I think next year we will go to an adults only Hotel

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent one week in this hotel with an extended family of 15 (in 7 rooms), and had a great stay. The service was good and the food at the buffet (we had breakfast and dinner included) was excellent and came in amazing variety to please everyone'e palate. The beach was nice and relaxing but the sand is far from sandy - kind of painful to walk on barefooted. It was also very hot and the beach umbrellas were not really protecting us much from the sun (put a lot of sun screen!). Rooms are comfortable and we had a great ocean view from each room. The safe is tiny, so don't plan on fitting your laptop in it (but my daughter left her laptop in her room everyday without incident). The only time we were having trouble was when we tried to book a boat for a day's outing for our group through the hotel, and the woman who was helping us seemed only eager to fetch the booking fee for herself and wasn't honest about many details about the boat and the trip but wouldn't let us speak directly to the boat's owner. WiFi service is only available at the lobby (rooms near the lobby get a bar or two), but the WiFi service is extremely slow. Definitely something the hotel can improve on. There are some great activities for young kids, (including sleepovers!) and the little ones in our group had tons of fun. You can rent a car across from the hotel (a very short walk) for daily trips on the island, and there are many generic Greek restaurants nearby. Do not take "Dolphin Cruises" (in Rethymno) anywhere! We took a day trip with them and is was more like torture (if you need more info let me know).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OOpp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive at Rithymna Beach on 1st October and I have to say I also agree with previous comments made about the rudeness displayed by some our our European neighbours. First the positive - without doubt the most admirable thing about this hotel is the friendliness and service from the fantastic members of staff. Whether it be in the buffet restaurant, at the lobby bar or beach bar or at the Mournies taverna the service we got from ALL members of staff was FIRST CLASS. I really have to applaud them for their patience and the fact that they are always polite and friendly no matter how they are spoken to by our European "friends". A big thank you to Danny (best tour operator holiday rep we have met) for his tour of the hotel and his help and advice in booking the 4x4 Jeep adventure in the mountains with Stavros, which I must add was fantastic! The hotel grounds were amazing and it really felt like a 5 star hotel. Couldn't help but take photos of any palm tree or piece of architecture that we passed The 4 pools were fantastic and never had any problems finding sunbeds at any of the pools or on the beach. Good selection of water sports on the beach - we had a go on the jet skis, para sailing and the crazy sofa, all of which were fantastic. There has previously been a bit of criticism about the way the all inclusive option is handled. We didn't find any problems at all. Every item which is free on all inclusive has a house symbol on the menu next to it. Not everything on the menus is free on all inclusive, but we spent pretty much all of the week drinking the "free" cocktails without getting bored of them. The food was very good. Good selection of continental breakfast, fruit, cereals and cooked breakfast every morning. Buffet lunch and dinner were very good quality and we always found something on the menu that we wanted to eat! Hotel accommodation was spotless and adequate, but I do agree with comments previously made re. updating some of the furniture. Clean towels were provided each day and the mini bar was topped up on a daily basis. Now to the only real negative (and I must say this in no way reflects the actual hotel or its staff) - I was regularly disgusted at the bad manners and rudeness displayed by some (not all) or our European counterparts. It seems that they don't queue for anything, merely just push you aside and barge in - this also includes "stealing" your tables whilst you are up getting your food and then refusing to move when you return with your meal! As previously said, I must applaud the staff for the way they always kept calm and friendly when ordered to "lay my table now" or "get me my drink" without so much as a please or thank you. If you want to stay at an amazing hotel, with the most fantastic facilities and friendly staff and can bite your tongue for a week or two, then this is the hotel for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived after midnight so feeling a bit tired we checked in which was done very quickly we were given a nice cold orange juice which i think was a nice touch. We were shown to our room which was situated at the front of the hotel in all fairness we didnt request a sea view.However was a bit shocked when we realised we were in a family room ie double bed and single bed strange as they knew we were ther for our anniversary.On waking in the morning we took ourselves off to breakfast which did seem busy but we quickly realised if we sat inside and just off to the side it was rather peaceful as we are not earlier risers it wasnt that busy but quite a pleasent time,i imagine could be busier if your an earlier riser,lots of choice and staff very friendly always smiling. Plenty of sunbeds whether you choose the beach or poolside,we did go into the private part of the beach a few times for a small daily charge where you recieved bottled water and nice refreshing fruit salad brought to us by a very pleasant young man not sure of his name but very tall! We did visit the big pool near the mournies resturaunt quite often as they did the water aerobics and played music somtimes through the day you can also get a great pizza from here at lunch time superb cooked to perfection. On our 3rd day we made a reservation for our anniversary dinner in the al la carte the Eleftherna where the attention to detail to our table location,the decor,and not to forget the service by the very charming Captain and costas was second to none and compliments to the chef the food was divine the band even dedicated a song to us thank you it made our evening complete. We also visited the seafood restuaraunt where i had lobtser which again was cooked to perfection! We did visit Elfeftherna once more before we left and again was superb. We never ate in mournies however we did go for cocktails and watched an amazing greek dance folk show. Drinks in the lobby bar is a nice way to begin or end your night service very good very attentive staff a big thankyou to Klio,Maria whose birthday it was whilst we were there and of course the captain of this bar too thank you for the good times!! Overall we had a very good memorable holday visiting beach bar,the little coffe bar near the church and generally enjoying the beautiful kept gardens within the hotel! Fantastic beach location although a bit difficult to get into sea nice once you do very nice,plenty of shops and few bars outside of hotel if you fancied a walk out in the evening very safe to do so. Hope to return in the near future and maybe get some trips booked with the very helpful Danny the thompson rep was just to chilled to move this time!

Room Tip: We had a street view which was ok maybe a sea view would be nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adelianos Kampos
3.3 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
44.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.3 mi away
Aldemar Knossos Royal
Aldemar Knossos Royal
#11 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
47.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 178 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,553 reviews
1.1 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel

Property: Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
#2 Family Hotel in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 519
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Aquila Rithymna Beach fronts the azure 500 m long beach on the north coastal line of Crete. A favorite destination for repeater visitors and vacationers from all over the world, proves the delightful experience of hospitality, sunshine, modern amenities and faultless service. Most of the generous rooms, bungalows and villas housed at the hotel's colorful gardens or at the local style buildings. The resort is specifically aimed at families with children of all ages for magical holidays with plenty of in-house facilities and entertaining activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Rithymna Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Rithymna Beach
Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing