We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apalling Service”
Review of Maravel Sky Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Adelianos Kampos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maravel Sky Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I don't usually like to complain about holidays but in this instance I think it's necessary. We booked to stay for 10 nights in the maravel sky apartments self catering at the last minute. We were assured by co-operative travel that this would be a very friendly hotel/apartments. On arrival we went to reception and were apalled to find that our apartment had been double booked and we were to change apartments after 2 nights when ours was ready. This was very disappointing. The room we were in for 2 nights had no air conditioning which we were told was to be paid for and the layout was awful, my daughter had to sleep in the kitchen/living room when we paid for a 2 bedroom apartment on purpose, which had no windows and ants crawling up the side of the bed. It just happened to be extremley hot that night and were forced to pay for air con. When we moved rooms the layout was completley different; there were 2 double bedrooms and a very large main room but we were offered no assistance in moving everything we had unpacked at the other apartment. There were two pools at the hotel don't use them. One was iridescent green and a child became ill after swimming in it while we were there. Ridiculous. We saw the manager and "pool keeper" throw a whole tub of chlorine in at the end of the day then start looking at the back of the packet to see that they had put too much in the pool, the second pool turned green then while we were there. During the whole room hoopla the service of the manager was appaling. The only thing he could do to apologise was give us a free meal ticket, which we didn't use because the food looked awful. Overall this holiday was one of the worst we have ever been on, the only thing good was that the maids were very good at cleaning the room and we were not all inclusive!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yorkshireglobalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2011

The hotel rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was really nice and plentiful and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The beach was literally 2 minute walk and there were shops right next to the hotel. There was entertainment nights on with live music that we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eva_daska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

If you are ready to entertain yourself, eat in tavernas and sweam in the sea - the hotel is a good place for you. The quality of the rooms seems to be different, according to the reviews. Our apartment was clean, light, quiet, with equipped kitchen, the bathroom without any problem. We haven't notice any suspiciouse insects for the exception of mosquits and a little occasional spider. The towels and the bedclothes was not brand new but fresh and clean; change two times a week. The breakfast every day is the same, so the first week you eat it and the second week you can´t stand seeing it. As I've said it's highly recommended to eat during the day in some other places. We ate in taverna "Kalamies" (five minutes to the right from the hotel) - it was the most charming place of all we've seen there. Nice food, nice greek music, nice atmosphere. The beach is municipal, so you can choose. The stone plates in the sea are rather sleepy, so you need special shoes (the shop near the hotel, 4,30 euros).
In general, Adelianos Kampos is a place for calm vacations. There are too many things to improve for the hotel to be an example of a "europian 3*", but the balance "price-quality" is quite adequate. We enjoyed our two weeks there.
Have a nice vacations!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elena_Yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

the hotel was clean, but had no ac. the food was average, but we only eat in the morning. for a 3 star hotel it was excellent.
i recommend this hotel for persons who are not squeamish.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulaMuntean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Dont believe anything of the what is written here !! its just 3 stars! what do u want guys? what do u expect from it? I stayed there this summer in July and I am totally satisfied with this hotel. Food is a bit bad but anyway u can eat in tavernas. the beach is perfect clear water. good rooms.... everything depends on your needs. if u need to party day and night go to Hersonissos if u need high service go to 5 stars hotel... if u dont want to spend much money but spend wonderfull holidays go to Maravel Sky=)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KsushaRusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The service and the food is terrible! We have been traveling for more than 30 years 2-3 times a year, and have never seen such a badly managed hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnovak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Location is OK, but the near beach has a lot of stones in water so is impossible to swim further without a risk.
Food is various but quality is low for that price. There is no hot water in rooms after 20.00 PM. Also , do not go in the hotel without buying some anti-mosquito equipment. Towels do not change so often.
Pool is OK, but small and is near highway so there are noise and dirty air. Entertainment in hotel goes to one disco night in a week, and thisi is terrible. Just oldies without some order. So, take a chance.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Gizdavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Adelianos Kampos hotels
0.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carme Villas
Carme Villas
#5 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Solimar Dias Hotel
Solimar Dias Hotel
#4 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mathias
Hotel Mathias
#6 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palladion
Hotel Palladion
#3 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kathrin Beach Hotel
Kathrin Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maravel Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maravel Sky Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Adelianos Kampos
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Adelianos Kampos
Price Range: $109 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 101
Also Known As:
Maravel Sky Rethymnon
Maravel Sky Hotel Crete/Rethymnon Prefecture, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing