We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh food”
Review of Nikos Platanakis

Nikos Platanakis
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“fresh food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

had a nice meal here overlooking the sea. fab location, fresh food, they have their food plots just across the road which we had to walk through at night to get home to yiannis retreat. all manner of herbs and fruit and veg. would recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    52
    13
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Olives on the beach”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Seriously, these were the most fragrant homegrown olives we have ever tasted. We will dream about them all winter, and apparently, you have to come here to taste them as they are not for sale anywhere. Believe us, we tried. We begged!
We enjoyed a fresh, tasty lunch on the beach after our midday hike through Dead's Gorge. We chose the place because we had just walked through the gardens, inhaling the scent of the fresh herbs and vegetables.
The waitress was very friendly and helped us get a taxi back to our car.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“decent food but service not the best”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The food here is traditional taverna fayre, and what is nice is the complimentary appetisers such as mashed fava beans, beetroot, griddled peppers and so on. The food is reasonably priced but the service is poor. The coach trips to the Minoan Palace tend to come here and the service is in that style - food passed out, and not very attentive. The first time we came I asked for 3 dishes from the menu to be told that they did not have any available before settling on rabbit which was very dry and not very tasty. The Tuna though was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belluno, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fruit and vegetables (all excellent) directly from the garden”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Extremely hospitable staff, the best melitzanosalata ever in Greece, plus over ten different varieties of grapes being grown in their garden (the vine provides shade on your way from the archeological site...), ensuring you'll get a complimentary bunch for dessert during the whole summer. Definitely a place to go back to...PS. the sunbeds and umbrella on the beach allow you to have some siesta after your meal while the kids have a swim and really nice snorkeling. Didn't make out if they grow organically, but rather looks like it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosengartenb_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great fresh local produce on offer”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ate here for lunch after walking down the gorge from Zakros. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed the succulent tomatoes all the more having walked past the vegetable patch where they were grown!

The view out to the see is very relaxing - you can either sit in the main part of the restaurant next to the road or at a table next to the beach.

The delicious dakos and fried aubergines washed down by a cool beer were just what we needed after a hot walk down the gorge!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timbo_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nikos Platanakis also viewed

Kato Zakros, Lasithi Prefecture
Kato Zakros, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Kato Zakros, Lasithi Prefecture
Kato Zakros, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Nikos Platanakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing