We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yiannis Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yiannis Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Kato Zakros B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An excellent vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

Three years ago we bumped into Yiannis retreat and spent 1 night after which we decided to spend more time in the following year. We did so and reserved 3 nights after which we decided to spend more time in the following summer. Last summer we spend a whole week, infact our entire vacation, in this wonderful place and plan to come again and again. The place built and operated by this wonderful couple, Yiannis and Katerina, is so inviting that we believe we can spend even longer periods there and enjoy the tranquility, the beauty of the place and the nice company of Yiannis and Katerina.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OFER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We decide with my family to have a few days (and that was our mistake) in Kato Zakros in July of 2011, that was the best choice we ever take for our holidays.

When we arrive and see the studios Yiannis Retreat in kato Zakros the first that it came in our mind that we found our little paradise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So beautiful, amazing place, with so warm people.
The studios are in traditional style , decorated by Yiannis!!!!
All and more from the basic facilities in the studio .
You can have also and tablets for mosquito !!!!
You sleep very deep as a baby!!!!!
A key element in yiannis retreat is when you go
after the stress of everyday life there are all so peaceful - beautiful that only two hours sleep is enough, because in lulls so beautiful nature itself, the song of birds, making magic !!!!!!!!!

They have take care everything in the studio with love just to make the visitors to feel like their, home…"as Yiannis said to us siga-siga...."that’s mean in Greek not be anxious, feel your holidays as good you can.....

The outside of rooms are full of flowers, trees, figs trees etc, where there are kiosk for shadow, hammocks with comfortable chairs and sofas where you can relax and be so lazy...
But the best we had is the really smile
They had and the feeling of Cretan hospitality we had. The real way of Cretan accommodate......we found it there.....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tina_micha06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

I decided to write a review here as I couldn't find a separate post for Yannis retreat and because Stella recommended it... I wrote my review last year but I JUST realised that it was posted for a different hotel!

Before I say anything about our experience, I would like to say that the apartments are beautiful and very clean, with a traditional Cretan touch, surrounded by flowers and plants.

We decided to book with Yannis Retreat for 3 days from Tuesday to Friday. When we arrived on Tuesday Yannis warmly welcomed us and said he would later bring us stuff for breakfast and raki and wine to welcome us. (On their website it says that the price of the room includes a 'basket' of ingredients to make breakfast). That was the last time we saw him that day. The reception hall was closed all day and we couldn't contact him as there is no signal in that part of the area.

The next morning I was sitting outside when I saw him briefly, he said 'goodmorning' and I thought he was going to bring us 'the breakfast basket'. I tried to find him later but the cleaning lady said he was gone. So we asked her about breakfast and she gave us 5 pieces of sliced bread and a few cookies. We finally got the basket that night at 22:00. I'd also like to say that the place is FULL of flies and all you do when you sit outside is fight with them so I preferred to sit in the room.

Unfortunately that day we found out that we had to cut our trip short. My friend found out that a family member was admitted to hospital so he had to fly back home on Friday. I tried to get in touch with Yannis's wife Katerina so I sent her a message that we couldn't stay until Friday and we would have to leave the day after. There was noone at reception and I didn't hear anything back from them. The next morning, Stella (who is Yannis sister) came with a cocky and snob attitude and told us that because of the late cancellation we would have to pay the full price of the room for that night. We said we would wait for Yannis to arrive to sort it out. (Of cours he wasn't there!)
When he arrived he said he would lose money and that he had to transfer some bookings because he was fully booked. Of course that was a lie because the apartment next to us was empty for 2 days! We asked him that we expected to pay half the price or with a small discount. He said that from the law we are supposed to pay the full price. May I just add that we never got a receipt (which is illegal!), I sent them an email to ask for it I complained about their service....Yannis's wife got back to me a few days later and she said that I shouldn't complained about the 'breakfast basket' since we got it at the end. She also told me that the only mistake they made was that they should have charged us for the half price of the rooom not the full price as it was late cancellation.

Also when we booked they asked us for a deposit for 2 nights. I have stayed in many hotels in Greece and they may ask for deposit for 1 night (or for none!)

I found their service unacceptable to say the least. And I would also urge foreign tourists not to bite into everything the Greek hotel owners tell them. As you know Greece is in crisis and you would expect that they would try and do their best to promote tourism and have the best service. You should ALWAYS negotiate (for the price for example) and never give 2 nights deposit. (By the way, on their website it says nothing about late cancellation etc...)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesun_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katerinadas, Owner at Yiannis Retreat, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Dear Visitors ,
I take the change to write you as an owner of Yiannis Retreat Studios in Kato Zakros-Sitia-Crete to express my opinion about a review witch public in TripAdvisor for our place.
I believe the review violates our guidelines, because read it many people and
Not visit our place-detraction our place!
I need to explain that the visitor who write the review about us , write it to
accuse us in their way of our accommodation by their opinion.
The young visitors write the review because
1) We realize that did not like the Place Kato Zakros (is a quiet coastal village with not night life)
2) We asked him to pay the cancelation of his booking and he refused when they did not stay longer as they booked..
3) We did not a advertised in our website that we offer “brekfast” in the studio , they make a mistake from Other website.


“The visitors choose to stay and booked for 3nights in July 2010 , when they come as they said to us they find our studios beautiful, clean, hospitable etc. but I noticed they were not satisfied with the place of Kato Zakros, as Kato Zakros is a quiet place, close to nature, untouched by modern tourism, when they stay 1night next morning suddenly they decide to leave for personal reasons as said, and inform us by SMS and not even call us ,as in the Reception there is telephone contact,
We ask to pay the rest of booking, and refuge .Legally should know that
must pay for cancelation as there is a Tourism statement inside the studio
wich mention about the policy. After of many negotiations paid and one of them said to us : “ you will see what I write for you..…”

When we recognize that we make a mistake in the charge of room about cancellation contact them and send back the money and apologize to them for our mistake!!. The only thing we make mistake was that!

Anything we advertised in our website is truth and we provided all. With anybody who choose us to have their holidays we inform them about our policy.

Will be kind of you to consult that we respect all the visitor who choose us
for their holiday and public and my opinion .

Sincerely,
Yiannis Retreat Studios Kato Zakros Crete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Zakros
7.0 mi away
Hiona Holiday Hotel
Hiona Holiday Hotel
#1 of 9 in Palaikastron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
133.2 mi away
Renieris Hotel
Renieris Hotel
#1 of 23 in Stalos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Terra Minoika Villas
Terra Minoika Villas
#2 of 6 in Kato Zakros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Stella's Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Coral Rooms
Coral Rooms
#5 of 6 in Kato Zakros
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katerina Apartments
Katerina Apartments
#4 of 6 in Kato Zakros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yiannis Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yiannis Retreat

Property: Yiannis Retreat
Address: Kato Zakros | Sitia, lasithi,Crete, Kato Zakros, Crete 723 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Kato Zakros
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kato Zakros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Yiannis Retreat 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yiannis Retreat Studios is a complex of five traditional renovated stone houses, situated in the wonderful green valley of Kato Zakros, surrounded by olive trees, garden plants and bushes, all there for you to enjoy the magnificent view and the blue and clear waters of Kato Zakros bay.The rooms are 500m away from the beach, a distance close enough for you to enjoy your swimming in the clean and clear waters and taste the traditional cuisine at the taverns and also far enough to abort the stress from the everyday routine , in our magnificent location.Inside the rooms, we have combined the traditional element in the decoration and the furniture with the functionality and the comfort of a modern lodging, trying to offer you a warm and pleasant environment for your holidays.Each room is fully equipped with all electric appliances such as electric cooker, refrigerator, coffee maker, sandwich maker and household goods to prepare your breakfast and meals.Outdoors there are very beautiful trees, like pines, cypresses, palm trees, acacias, mournies, voukamvilies, jasmines, banana trees, cactus etc. , that offer you their coolness and shade when you want to relax. The garden is separated in three uneven levels with natural fences and trees that create private corners for your personal privacy.We invite you to visit Kato Zakros, and have the chance to discover the eastern part of Crete, see the Natural-wild beauty and enjoy the clean beaches. Taste Cretan traditional food and of course have relaxing holidays in one of the fewest places of Crete, which continues to be untouched by the “Modern Tourism”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Yiannis Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yiannis Retreat Kato Zakros, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing