We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zakynthos - now the most expensive Greek Isle?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Certificate of Excellence
Ljubljana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Zakynthos - now the most expensive Greek Isle?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Porta del Mar for his birthday. The villa was absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately the owners had decided to go on hoiday and we were left there with their two grown-up children, who were pleasent, but did not know how to cook. When we arrived it was 9pm and we asked if they 'did' food. The daughter told us 'not really', but showed us a local taverna only a 2 minute walk away, which was very basic, with a television blaring, however the food was good, if a bit expensive. The following morning I went to the nearby shop to buy some essentials, and discovered that a litre of milk was nearly 2 Euro's. I actually live in mainland Europe, in a country with the same minimum pay as Greece, and yet I pay 57 cents for milk, so go figure! It was 4.95 Euro's for a pack of butter (1.29 at home), and 1.20 for two bread rolls ( 50 cents at home). After we had been there for 4 days we discovered a menu on the bar, it transpires that they do 'do food'. We promptly ordered 2 cooked breakfast. We waited nearly an hour for them and they were cold (we think that each item on the plate had been individually cooked and transferred to a cold plate awaiting the next item) . The beans were decanted direct from the tin to the plate and had not been heated at all! The owner's son Costas, informed us that he likes British people because they drink a lot, and that's where they really make their money...at 7.80 Euro's for a Jack Daniels & Coke, I am not surprised. On booking our holiday we were offered the chance to book a taxi transfer from the airport for 30 Euro's, however we discovered that if you book this yourself direct with the taxi firm it is infact 15 - 20 Euro's....again more profit being made from the tourist! On the day of my husbands birthday I explained to Costas that I would like to take my husband to a restaurant 2 miles away for a meal and could he arrange transport for us, to which he told me that it costs 10 Euro's each way! As it was a nice evening we walked there, and the restaurant owner kindly gave us a lift back. The beach was beautiful, however the entrance to it was filthy....litter, rotting vegetation, etc. it would have taken a couple of hours to tidy, and would have looked so much more welcoming. Maybe if the owners had been there we would have been happier with our stay, but they chose to go on holiday themselves, even though they had accepted our booking.
Zakynthos has clearly fallen on hard times, with parts of roads collapsing, buildings in ruin, rubbish piled up at the side of the road. It was a real shame to see. We have visited Zakynthos many times in the past, but sadly shall not be back. We came away from the island feeling as though we had been seen only as a means to extort the most money possible. The prices were ludicrous, what you would expect to pay in Paris, London or any other city that has an excellent infrastructure. Zakynthos however does not offer any of the things that one equates with these prices. To be completely honest for less money we could have had so much more elsewhere.

Room Tip: For hot water you must run the water for 5 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank disgruntled_Slovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasirigas, Owner at Porta del Mar Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment.
Guest reviews are always helping us to improve. We will try to be better next time.

I feel i must reply to the followings:
We never took any kind of commission from the taxis or from the taverns nearby.
There are no 'grown up children' in Porta del mar.
Our Bar-menu and price-list is always available before or after our guests arrival.
We respect our guests and try our best to keep them happy every season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
99
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We spent two weeks at porta del mar and it was the best holiday we have had in years. We had our twin 3yr old boys with us so keeping them entertained and out of trouble is usually quite challenging! Not here though! The communal area in the centre of the complex allowed the boys freedom away from the villa, but we could still keep an eye on them. There was also a separate grassed area with a swing, slide and some other toys.
The beach is perfect for small children - sandy and gently sloping - the kids had the time of their lives building sandcastles. The Rigas family are very friendly but also offer excellent service- always willing to help with whatever we needed. Other families at the villas were very friendly and it was a shame to say goodbye to them all. Most people we met were returning guests, and we will certainly be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nell_harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

After our 3rd visit to Porta Del Mar, we have returned home relaxed yet refreshed.
We revisited as we knew we would find a warm welcome, an easy-going atmosphere & simple but quality accomodation.
It is perfect for those who shy away from large hotels; with 8 villas you can be as social as you which, joining others for the BBQ or at the bar, or you can keep to yourself.
Yes the beach is small, but it's a quiet place, & as the sea is shallow it's great for the kids. Ours (6 & 7) were happy pottering around the garden & beach, & loved to go out on the canoe or snorkelling, though it may be too low key for "high-maintainence" kids who need structure & non-stop activities.
The owners Tasos, Pavlina, Costas & Elena are very friendly, making a stay here like home-from-home.
However, the best thing here has to be the views; I wish I could be sat looking over the sea to Kefalonia with a drink in one hand & my book in another right now - bliss!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susiewat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleby
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2011

Very welcoming hosts, comfortable accommodation. Secluded private beach just 20 minutes from airport. The most perfect holiday we have ever had. Thank you Kostas so very much

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllAppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2011

I would like to thank Tasos, Pavlina, Kostas and all for such a great stay at their place. We were here at Easter which is a magical time and although they had friends staying, we were made to feel part of the festivities. It was a real shame we couldn't stay for the special spit-roast lamb but we were offered ouzo and grappa as well as bread, cakes and snacks on our last day.

Tasos and Pavlina have built a little gold mine here and I hope they continue to be successful. The houses are well furnished and very comfortable, the gardens and the little areas overlooking the sea are great places to have a beer and relax.

The beach was not bad, but the sea (even in April) was lovely to swim in and so clean and clear, you do not miss not having a pool at all.

We really loved the island and I would recommend going down to Gerakas beach, as well as the blue caves and going to the viewpoint for the shipwreck beach.
Do not, under any circumstances go to Laganas...we didn't even stop the car.

Finally, we went to the Karras Grill (about 100yds away) most nights and found it very friendly and the food really good. My kids couldn't get enough of the Souvlaki with pitta (€1.80!!).

Room Tip: book as early as you can, it fills up quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Count yourself lucky to be one of those that have found Porta Del Mar. We loved it and the set up is perfect. There is unlikely to be a better way to spend time in Zakynthos than tucked away off the beaten track in a location run by a thoroughly nice family who care deeply about what they offer. We are going back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CameronClan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

Hello,

Meant to write a review sooner on this wonderful place!

Stayed there for a week as my friends were getting married. We arrived at about 5am and were greated by Tassos with cups of tea and coffee. Tassos was a total joy and made the effort to get to know everyone in the party. He showed us all to our villas, which had that wonderful greek feel and were very clean and comfotable.

The villas are kept to a high standard, the gardens beautifully maintained and its own private beach - what more could you want. It was perfect! (use of sun loungers, cannoe and boat available on the beach too)

Nothing is a bother for Tassos, his lovely wife and beautiful daughter (Pavlina and Elina) one of the loveliest families you can meet. they were very approachable and always willing to help. They made lovely food and kept a well stocked bar - What more could you want?? : )

The wedding itself was utterly perfect. The grounds were decorated beautifully and everything was organised by Tassos and Pavlina from the photographer to the amazing BBQ food and cake! We were all stuffed with the gorgeous food, it was amazing. His son (Kostas) and daughter (Elina) helped serve the bar at night and joined in with some authentic greek dancing!! We all had such a great night and holiday.

I would definately love to go back and maybe one day for my own wedding! I cant say enough positive comments on this beautiful place or for the family!

Lyndsay xx

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ammoudi
8.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
7.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.2 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Mar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Mar Beach Hotel

Property: Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
Address: | Psarou Beach, Ammoudi 291 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Ammoudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ammoudi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porta del mar is a small family-run resort of 8 stone villas for summer holidays with direct access to a sandy beach. Amazing sea views obtained from the gardens and inside the villas! The villas are self-catering and accommodate from 2-6 persons (one or two bedroom villas). They all form a horse shoe design, facing towards the sea and are traditionally and nicely decorated. They have spacious living rooms, large bedrooms with queen-size beds or twin single beds, all with solid, wooden ceilings and air-condition. Fully equipped kitchens include cooker, big fridge/freezer, wooden table that seats 4-6 and a full range of utensils. Their verandas are spacious and offer panoramic sea views. The villas are situated directly on our sandy, quiet beach and are surrounded by well kept and relaxing gardens. The beach is safe for children and the waters are clear, crystal and rather shallow. Everything you need is within short walking distance from the villa (groceries, bakery, taverns). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Porta del Mar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Mar Beach Hotel Ammoudi, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing