We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for families with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldemar Royal Olympian
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

As mentioned before, Aldemar Royal Olympian is a part of Aldemar Olympian hotel.
The restaurants, beach area, other services are shared. I suppose, the main difference is room space.

Pluses of the hotel include: clean sea, nice large territory, good sandy beach, lots of nice pools. It also has a number of attractions for kids, like mini-club, bike rental (loved by kids, of course), very nice and safe water-slide, kid's animation.

There is also a very good spa.

The main restaurant was quite crowded and noisy, mainly due to the high number of guests with small children.

In general, the hotel could be ranked as 4* rather than 5, but at the same time prices were also quite reasonable.

In general, it is recommended for families with children. It is not a place for chic holidays, but nice family one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at Aldemar
Royal Olympian 5*. We take great pride in making everyone feel welcomed. Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Your kind remarks encourage us to continue the good and hard work, assuring you of our best of attentions and quality services at all times.
We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Greece.

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
There are newer reviews for Aldemar Royal Olympian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

In regard to the scores i have given:
Service was not consistent, whereas i can say that reception desk is doing a good job, the rest of employees are in my opinion badly trained. First, level of english of the staff is moderate at best, i think it is better with russian. Second, staff at the restaurant is a joke, manager of the restaurant is allowing people in flip flappers and shorts to enter and waiters simply do bad job. Numerous times, while taking the plates they dropped some stuff from it and did not bother. Couple of times they just crashed or almost crashed with me when i was walking to the table as they are not careful enough. Third, Service at the bars during the evening is hopelessly slow.

Sleep quality is ok, surroundings are quiet and beds reasonably comfortable. Nevertheless AC is loud, not efficient enough and has typical unpleasant smell.

Cleanliness is average at best taking into consideration 5 star rating of the hotel. Cleaning ladies are in urgent need of the training, as the standard of cleaning service is miles away from what is considered 5 star in Europe. The service is limited to basics, cleaning dust and making beds up. Floor is not cleaned despite being visibly dirty, some of towels are not changed despite being on the floor (ones by the bidet). Sinks and bathtube were not cleaned throughout the whole week.

Location is great with large sandy beach, plenty of taverns around and low traffic, west coast makes the evenings up with magic sunsets, big plus!

Spa is surprisingly good and gym very spacious for a summer vacation hotel. Minimum amount of equipment to do extensive and mixed training is in place and of good quality (technogym).

Breakfest is poor, lack of water at the restaurant during breakfest is ridiculous (every time you have to go and ask the staff for a bottle). "Juices" are simply very sweet drinks, which cannot be called juices. There is no egg station, what makes the egg dishes dry or/and cold. Thing there is also an issue with a wrong preparation, never eaten that dry omelette and a fried egg with that amount of oil on top of it, because it stays on hot plates obviously it hasnt got the right consistency either. The only good point can be bacon, which has the right quality and is nicely done. The rest of meals can be evaluated as average with some fishes excellently fresh and tasty and some meats poorly prepared. Most of the food is average though and some could consider the buffet as one with the limited choice.

Atlantis villas are spacious and nicely furnished with direct entrance to semiprivate pool, which is empty for most of the time. Except the cleaning service and AC i would evaluate the room as good/very good with a particularly nice bathroom upstairs and terrace.

In general not bad for a hotel available through travel agencies.

Room Tip: Atlantis bungalows seem to be the best deal in my opinion
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike11746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

We feel the obligation to thank you for taking the time to post a review with your comments. Reading them, we found that our service offerings during your stay at our hotel were not in line with your expectations. Our ultimate goal is the continuous improvement of our services to satisfy our Valued Customers like you. The fact that you spent part of your specious time to post your comments, point out your interest to us. We would like to give us the chance in the future to deal with the details of your stay so that will be according to your expectations. Thank you again, for using our hotel during your vacations and we hope to have you again with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Top destination for families. Perfect suroundings and facilities for a relaxing holiday with childrens. We spendt a week there with friends and we enjoyed our stay, specially the lazy afternoons with our 6 years old son in the swimming pool, just infront of our room.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panossan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for the time you dedicated to share your holiday’s experience you had at Aldemar Royal Olympian 5*. We would also like to thank very much for your comments.

Hope to welcome you again in our resort and provide our best services!

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Aldemar Royal Olympian is simply a part of the Aldemar Olympian Village. The idea to create a small village with buildings of just 2 floor is really nice. The village is also a nice place to walk and to discover.
Clients of the Aldemar Royal Olympian use the same facilities of the clients of the Olympian Village (reception, restaurants, etc.). During my visit 80% of the gusts (so I have been told by a member of the hotel) were Russians so you will find also employees of the hotel coming from Russia (sometimes it was difficult to understand what they want to explain). Keep in mind that this an absolute paradise for families so be aware that you will find a lot of families (and kids crying at the restaurants). Outside the hotel there is nothing as the hotel is on the beach but no small villages nearby. The staff is very friendly in the restaurants but the front desk was both for the check-in and the check-out a little bit rude. The beach in front of the hotel is absolutely amazing with free sun bed (again keep in mind the children). We booked a bungalow on the ground floor with direct access to the pool, the room overall could be rated as a room for 4 stars hotel but the bathroom was very big with a separate shower. The worst thing was the food: The breakfast buffet could be easily rated as a 2 stars with a very limited choice. The dinner was better but not as I expected from a 5 stars hotel, I stayed three nights and the food was always the same: a lot of pasta (that is a cheap food), turkey (again a cheap meat) and only one choice of fish. I heard other people that complained about the food. Overall this a good 4 stars sea side resort with a lovely beach but if you are looking for a quite place you should look elsewhere (nice place if you have kids).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Athens85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PavlosD, Manager at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Our dear guest,

We first want thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know what you thought about our hotel. We strive to please our guests and we are constantly using reviews and comments to better our hotel in every way. We apologize for any inconvience that you may have come across during your stay but we do assure you that many changes are happening in our hotel and your next stay with us will most definitely be more to your standard. Despite these we hope to welcome you back to our hotel order to see the differences!

Sincerely Yours,

Paul Dakouris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We booked to this hotel to spend a night and when we arrived we saw a big hotel with many pools that comes from 90's. When we saw the rooms also we dissapointed from the decoration and the bathrooms.the room is a good room of 3 star hotel.
Finally we asked to change the room and after we saw 2 other rooms we decide to leave from the hotel. The
reception was very kind with us and they give us 2 more options for rooms and finally they give us back
our money without any objection.
For your information we stayed only 3 hours there and we have'nt any comment about the service and the
restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stavrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

We feel the obligation to thank you for taking the time to post a review with your comments. Reading them, we found that our service offerings during your stay at our hotel were not in line with your expectations. Our ultimate goal is the continuous improvement of our services to satisfy our Valued Customers like you. The fact that you spent part of your specious time to post your comments, point out your interest to us. We would like to give us the chance in the future to deal with the details of your stay so that will be according to your expectations. Thank you again, for using our hotel during your vacations and we hope to have you again with us in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This resort concentrates on providing everything required for our vacation. They don't succeed in every aspect but it is obvious they try hard.
The sea has been calm only until around 10:00 am. Thereafter, the waves became annoying and would not let a 3,5 year old child enjoy it. The room was extra large and extremely bright. The noise level inside the room was close to zero despite the sea wave noise. A/C almost perfect but one hour before we left it started dropping "water concentrates" in front of the room entrance. Fantastic whether although the summer was (theoretically) over. Breakfast quality somehow lower than expected but still satisfactory. A pleasant surprise: fresh fruits and bottled water supplied every day. Mini club (children's play ground) was also a great plus for parents. Important: sexurity feeling was high. This let us enjoy our holidays even more. There are many restaurants. We only visited "Abeliona" and the taste left was "low value for money". Main pool's bar closed during the most of our vacation period. They didn't give us a satisfactory explanation but to me it was obvious that "cut cost" was behind this. We had to walk a lot only to get a bad coffee. Averall picture: "We 'll be back!"

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank johnnyefres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your time and reassure you that your thanksgivings will be transferred to our staff. It is also your reviews that motivate us to continue our efforts and ameliorate further our services.
We will be pleased to host you again soon in our Aldemar Royal Olympian 5* and welcome you as a privilege treated Repeater Guest!

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This hotel is located in a wonderful location, the beach is absolutelly fantastic and the sea view superb. The personell is kind and helpful and there are many activities for the children (ours are 6 and 4 years old). The food at the main restaurant is below average, but there are other options at the other restaurants of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexbous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavlosd26, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Aldemar Royal Olympian, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2015

Dear Guests,

We wish to thank you for your time and reassure you that your thanksgivings will be transferred to our staff. It is also your reviews that motivate us to continue our efforts and ameliorate further our services.
We will be pleased to host you again soon in our Aldemar Royal Olympian 5* and welcome you as a privilege treated Repeater Guest!

Kind regards
Pavlos Dakouris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skafidia
0.1 mi away
Aldemar Olympian Village
0.9 mi away
Mare Dei Suites Hotel Ionian Resort
16.2 mi away
Olympia Golden Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Grecotel Olympia Riviera Thalasso
15.3 mi away
Grecotel Olympia Oasis & Aqua Park
15.4 mi away
Mandola Rosa Suites & Villas Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Mandola Rosa Suites & Villas Gre...
#1 of 1 in Loutra Killinis
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldemar Royal Olympian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldemar Royal Olympian

Address: Ilia, Skafidia, Pyrgos 271 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > West Greece > Elis Region > Pyrgos > Skafidia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Skafidia
Price Range: $205 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aldemar Royal Olympian 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Aldemar Royal Olympian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldemar Royal Olympian Hotel Skafidia
Aldemar Royal Olympian Skafidia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing