We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit far out of town.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Makis Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Makis Place
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bit far out of town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

On to Mykonos and the third and final stop on our island hopping honeymoon. Makis place is a gorgeous hotel. Overlooking the new port and all the huge cruise liners that go there every day. Massive, deep pool. On site bar/restaurant really nice. Breakfast buffet was good too. Only bad thing it's a fair way out of town and no beach within walking distance. BUT there is a bike/quad hire place just at the bottom of the drive. We hired bikes and went exploring on every island we went to so didn't really bother us but for people who don't like to ride on the roads over there it could get quite costly in taxis. 10min drive from the port to the hotel all good. Really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cusworth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    78
    26
    13
    4
See reviews for
35
119
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The owner is friendly, the pool area is glorious and the bar does delicious greek yoghurt and iced chocolate. The rooms aren't brilliant but anyone who's been to Greece knows the standard is generally pretty low! Not completely clean but at least they didn't have insects in them like some places! One simple thing that really spoils it is the fact the owner owns a cockerel, which crows from 3am and does not stop til nearly 8am. It is audible from every room in the complex (we asked to move because we simply could not sleep) so don't even bother with this place unless you've got some thick earplugs!! Also you really need to hire a car, the taxis and buses into town are few and far between, not to mention overpriced!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sazmeister88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We only stayed for 1 night and it was really lovely. The room was big, clean and had a aircon. The owner was was really nice and didn't charge us for transfers from the airport and to the port. The drinks were cheap at the restaurant. My husband and I enjoyd sitting on our balcony overlooking the pool and the port. We would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: It's about 2km outside of town, so renting a 4wheeler or scooter would be good. There is a bus s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. Loved it. The rooms are clean and pleasant. I was with my husband and his parents and we all loved it. We had a nice balcony overlooking the pool with a view of the port, while the in-laws had a room on the ground floor as they didn't want to climb. The staff are wonderful. The restaurant was very good and a pleasant, scenic place to relax for dinner or drinks. I would recommend it even if you don't stay here. The wifi was good in the rooms but excellent at the restaurant. The pool area was great. Definitely would stay here again. Can't think of one negative thing to say!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Its great value for the price!! Makis and his son run it all and are lovely. They also pick you up and drop you off at the airport. Restuarant serves some great food as well. i would recommend it to anyone thinking of booking a trip to Mykonos on a budget.

Room Tip: the ones with view to the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Makis Place is a nice bunch of apartments on the outskirts of Mykonos Town. They are great value for the price and the Makis himself makes it even better. He and his son run it all and make you feel very welcome, they are very genuine. Room 32 overlooks the port, i recommend booking this room. The restuarant down stairs serves some great food, Greek and Italian..It is worth renting a scooter or ATV from this location though as the roads are a little dangerous ( no paths ) and the buses are un reliable. You will see more of the island if you do and there is loads to see.

All in all we had a great trip staying here and i would recommend it to anyone thinking of booking a trip to Mykonos on a budget.

Room Tip: Room 32 overlooks the port
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

we arrived for one night prior to leaving for another island. firstly Maki and family gave us a warm welcome and showed us to lovely clean rooms overlooking both the sea and pool. The pool was so clean and overlooked the sea. After a walk into Mykonos town we returned to eat at hotel - the food was really good simple home cooked greek stlye and the hospitality given was nothing but excellent. The next day our boat was leaving at 2.30 , Maki dropped us in town and d insisted that we dod not carry our heavy back packs with us and sais he would meet us at 2 with our bags. Thanks to Maki we enjoyed several hours wandering in the town minus our back packs. At the agreed time along came the bus with our bags. This was the perfect start to our holiday - we will retun next year but stay longer at Makis. Point worth noting - many locals were eating at restaurant when we were there - Mrs Maki's cooking really yummy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gail052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
2.3 mi away
Milena Hotel
Milena Hotel
#22 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tourlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
3.6 mi away
Argo Hotel Mykonos
Argo Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 25 in Platys Gialos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gorgona
Hotel Gorgona
#38 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vienoula's Garden
Vienoula's Garden
#10 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Place

Property: Makis Place
Address: Tourlos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Makis Place 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Makis Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maki`s Place Hotel Tourlos
Makis Place Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing