We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Makis Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makis Place
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Makis Place for 6 nights. They were great about their willingness to pick me up at the airport in Mykonos. I arrived early so my room wasn't ready. They allowed me to change in another room and leave my bags at the front desk. There was a scooter rental next door. I rented a scooter and off I went to the beach. I returned to a very clean room with a great view of the water. Room 41 is at the highest point at the hotel. The view was great but there were a lot of steps - just something to keep in mind if you have leg problems. The hotel had daily room service which was nice to always return from the beach to a clean room. The room was nice with
small refrigerator. The bathroom was quite small, but that seems to be typical. I had friends staying at the boutique hotel Elysium paying 4 times the price with the only difference I could see in regards to the room was the bath was larger. That being said I thought I had a much better deal.

Makis, his son and the rest of the staff were quite friendly. There is a restaurant on site. They offered a free basic continental breakfast with other items available to order. The pool on the property seemed to be nice, however I opted for the beach at Elia every day.

Overall I was very pleased and would stay there again should I return to Mykonos.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CC_N_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 335 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

The family-run hotel is located very close to new port, we arrived in this port from Athens and walked to the hotel in a few minutes. It is not very close to the Mykonos city; a good 25 minutes walk and the road you are walking is not for pedestrians. There is a bus stop just opposite the hotel and there are hourly buses to Mykonos and from Mykonos you can go the the beaches. We rented a scooter that helped us a lot with the visiting of the places. Despite the location the hotel is really good; beautiful place, nice gardens and a pool. Our room was quite small, had a window facing a white wall and there were not a place to hang our wet towels or swim suits. Maki told us that that's a budget room. There was breakfast served in the morning which was good and Maki gave us a lift to the old port when we were leaving for Santorini.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSS_Willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Just back from a one week break in Mykonos. Chose Maki's Place on the strength of recommendations on this site. Thank you all. Having stayed in hotels all over Greece and its Islands, must stay that Maki's is right up there with the best.
Great room facing the New Port, three or more Cruise Ships in every day (take your binoculars)
to add to the interest of the place. All rooms are well equipped with fridge,air con, TV and hair dryer. All scrupulously clean with regular changes of linen.
Great pool with views and good breakfast/restaurant area. Food in the restaurant at night was of good quality equal to anything we had in the town.
Walk to town takes around 30 mins. No footpaths and the road is narrow in places so can be a bit hairy unless you stay aware. Bus stop at the end of the drive, buses every half hour and very punctual at 1.6 euro was good value.
Makis and his family have every right to feel proud of their hotel and work very hard to maintain it's high standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room (many are) to take advantage of the bay and the fascinating port activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Greekophile42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This family run hotel is close to the new port and is a 20-minute walking to Mykonos Town. The room was spacious and clean and the hotel had a very good breakfast. The restaurant of the hotel serves great food and we were always surprised by some very nice compliment, a drink or a dessert.

The only bad is that not all the way to Mykonos Town has a walking path and we had to walk on the road for a considerable distance, what considering the Greek traffic is quite dangerous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kimie_Bamberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

makis is a wonderfull guy who make the best omelets in the world!great value rooms!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIMITRIOSMAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Highly recommended.
1,5km away from mykonos,great view, family run business, clean & quite rooms, nice pool, privacy. anywhere else would be waste of money comparing to what makis place provides.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Realitycheckefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We chose Maki's Place after reading good reviews about the staff, rooms and location. Although it is a 20 minute walk to the center, it was a beautiful calm place to stay after some hours in Mykonos Town. (Busses goes to town, so don't mind the distance!)

We ate a lot at the hotel restaurant, Molaraki, and I must say it was some of the best food I've had in a long time. Chicken a la creme with rice, or the safran-pasta was really good if you want a change from greek food. (The food in Mykonos center is often very expensive and not so tasty). If i must point to something, the breakfast was not so good.

After being on the beach, it is nice to come to Makis Place and take a swim in the pool and view the sea and the sunset.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
0.1 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tourlos
303 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
Sunrise Hotel and Suites
#50 of 82 in Mykonos Town
114 reviews
2.8 mi away
Corfos Hotel
Corfos Hotel
#9 of 22 in Ornos
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
Despotiko Hotel Mykonos
#63 of 82 in Mykonos Town
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#9 of 82 in Mykonos Town
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makis Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makis Place

Address: Tourlos 84600, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range: $77 - $820 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Makis Place 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Makis Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maki`s Place Hotel Tourlos
Makis Place Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing