We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rhenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rhenia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

We travel to Mykonos every year, and this year it was certainly not an exception. Given the economic climate nowadays, media reporting Greece’s unrest, and some level of uncertainty we had absolutely no problem getting on that plane over to Mykonos. First of all, I go to Greece almost every month (work) trust me the current unrest there has little or no effect on majority of the tourist. Sometimes trains/buses or even the airport can be closed (Athens), but to be frank with you…that has always been the case with Greece, so don’t hesitate and if you want to go, you go! And when you do go…ohh its paradise. The second you disembark from that ferry boat or plane, all that stress of city life, work, family problems and so on…just disappears and you gaze in the tranquil beauty of the Mediterranean, indulge in amazing food (Try Appaloosa in the Hora (Town), Nikolas Tavern in Paraga, Kiki’s Tavern in Agios Sostis, Oregano Grill, for the best Souvlaki), and nightlife I won’t even mention because it goes without saying, just remember things start to heat up around midnight. Now for most of us, I believe a hotel certainly does make a difference and this hotel…really did make that difference. From the moment we booked the hotel, straight away we felt welcomed, we exchanged a few emails with the hotel staff, and they were extremely polite, looking forward to us coming and just very attentive. When we did arrive, we were greeted with very warm smiles and were given keys to our rooms. The rooms are standard with Myconian/Traditional Interior, if you are looking for something posh and trendy, or perhaps on the doorsteps of The Plaza…you will be disappointed. They have a couple of these hotels in Mykonos, but prepare to pay around 200+ per night. But to be honest with you, this simple, yet “island-ish” décor just fits in perfectly. So…the room, it has a safe, wardrobe (decent size), toilet, bath tub, shower, sink, TV (all 20+ channels, international…CNN, RAIUNO, etc.), Bed, canopy and a balcony. The view looks over the most happening town of the Aegean. This beautiful view of the village (Hora) and the Sea is outstanding, if you choose to get the garden view room, you will have a view of the beautiful gardens and greenery (that you usually don’t find on the Aegean Islands) that surround the hotel. The rooms are very clean, and are serviced daily and you are provided with fresh linens and towels every day. I also suggest getting the breakfast in the hotel. I’ve stayed in a few hotels and this was my favorite breakfast. It wasn’t the quantity, where hotels have endless displays of different muffins that they try to empress you with, but it was the quality…It felt like I woke up in some country home and some special lady cooked me nice eggs, bacon, sausages…also put on the table fresh butter with soft and warm bread, and served with unbelievable home made jam (still got the taste in my mouth). It was like a home cooked meal, and the staff was so pleasant, caring and understanding. Especially when you are not a morning person, slept 3 hours because you were partying and meeting dawn at Paradise Beach :-) The only thing I didn’t like about the breakfast, was the selection of juices, they seemed to taste strange, like from a concentrate; not my favorite. I think fresh juice would be a nice addition to this breakfast or even those Tetra Packs, they taste better. Soo… the location is amazing! It’s in Tourlos, which is just up the hill from the New port, if you are coming by boat you can walk, its 10 minutes, not even (just don’t have much luggage) it’s quite a hill, but then again we all need the exercise, especially if we stat indulging in Greek food and preferred beverage of the night clubs :-) If you are arriving by plane..i suggest contacting through e-mail the staff at the hotel to discuss alternatives. They will help you! The Hora, where everything is…is 10 minutes by an ATV or moped…the hotel will help you find the best rate to rent and will organize everything for you. Don’t recommend taking a car, rent this..it just adds to the fun of being on an Island, plus easier to find parking in the Hora and at the beaches. The reason this review is so long, is because I was so impressed by the level of service that this hotel provided. I felt like I was home, but yet on vacation…if you know what I mean. Like I wrote before, I’ve been many times, but this time…everything just exceeded my expectations and the hotel most definitely was a huge part of that experience. Really really recommend staying there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nexus745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    72
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
43
156
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We enjoyed our romantic bungalow at Rhenia Bungalows. Our room was a top floor unit with a good size balcony looking over the bay toward old town Mykonos in a quiet area near the new port. It had been recently remodeled. An important part of our selection was expecting help navigating Mykonos and dealing with the language barrier. Alexandra and her husband (who both spoke excellent English) and their helper Kate exceeded our expectations by taking us from and to the ferry, helping take our luggage to and from our room (not a small task), answering all of our questions, providing suggestions. We especially appreciated how they dealt with an error made by us in our reservation. They did not have to do this. The hotel is up a road from the main street where there is a bus stop. You can rent a scooter $15/day -$25/2, at the end of the road which we did. The walk up the road and stairs to our room takes a little effort, which we didn’t mind.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeEnjoysTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet, restful place, with a fantastic view, and WONDERFUL hosts, you can't go wrong with Rhenia Bungalows. Andreas and Alexandra (the owners) and their children could not have been more friendly and gracious. NOTHING was too much of a bother for anyone. And Kate, what a sweetheart! Always there with ice or water or whatever else you could possibly need. We missed our own dog so much, it was especially nice to have their two dogs, Pretty and Peggy, around. How many other places have you ever stayed that had a hedgehog, two turtles and two dogs to welcome you! The center of town is a five minute taxi ride from the Rhenia. If you call for a taxi from the Rhenia, it is 6 euros to get to town, but if you get the taxi in town and go back to the Rhenia, it is 3 euros. Matthews restaurant is down the hill from the Rhenia and we loved the food so much, we ate there twice! The rooms are large, extra clean, and have balconies with fantastic views. The pool was a plus and especially inviting after exploring in the heat of the day. If you don't like friendly people, and want an impersonal experience in Mykonos, then don't stay at the Rhenia - but if you do, you're going to love it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pennydemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

Recently I visited Mykonos and stayed for 3 nights at the Rhenia Hotel & Bungalows in Touros, Greece. Our stay at this hotel was fantastic. The owners & staff welcomed us with hospitality well beyond our expectation. They all went out of their way to be friendly, helpful, and made our stay in Mykonos the highlight of our trip. The hotel is a short distance away from the main part of the city which allowed for quiet and restful nights. Despite the hot temperatures, the pool was refreshing, the rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was excellent, and the air-conditioning a welcome relief. If you are planning a trip to the Greek island of Mykonos, stay at the Rhenia Hotel & Bungalows. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franciebernier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed. The entire staff makes you feel like family from the moment you arrive. The rooms are spacious and all have terraces with fantastic views anyway you look. The Rhenia overlooks the new port in Mykonos and is a few km from town. We felt that being outside the hustle of downtown Mykonos was a benefit. It added a bit to the cost of taxis, but the stay was well worth it. Even the family hedgehogs, tortoises and dogs were exceptionally friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSeg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

We stayed at Rhenia Bungalows for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in the greek islands & from the first moment we arrived we felt like part of the family. We couldn't have wished for a more relaxing, rejuvenating three days. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, whom we loved spending time with especially the two delightful dogs.
Rhenia Bungalows is a haven from the hustle & bustle & heat of the old town & sits up on a hill overlooking the old town. It is an easy 5 mins taxi (3-6 Euro) or motobike ride (15 Euro p/day; hired from place at bottom of hill ...2mins walk) from the main town (Hora). An easy drive to all beaches on the island. With pool, lovely outdoor lounge area, bar, free internet, impecably clean rooms & a beautiful fresh breakfast in the morning; a perfect home away from home.
We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMurnanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Rhenia is a beautiful, family-run hotel. The couple who own it are so friendly and helpful, and the staff is also very kind. They were really helpful giving us tips on how to get around, and when I got sick, they nurtured me with tea. It's very quiet and clean. The free breakfast was super tasty. I'll definitely be coming back -- probably for longer than our 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgourley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Art Hotel & SPA
0.2 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tourlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.2 mi away
Archipelagos Hotel
Archipelagos Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kalo Livadi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kouros Hotel & Suites
Kouros Hotel & Suites
#5 of 82 in Mykonos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhenia Hotel

Property: Rhenia Hotel
Address: Tourlos Bay | P.O.Box 10, Tourlos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhenia Hotel is located on a quiet hillside in Tourlos bay overlooking the blue Aegean sea , the Mykonos town and the ancient island of Delos. Just 300 m from the island's New Port and the Marina at Tourlos and 2 km north of Mykonos town (chora) and the old port and just 5 km from Mykonos airport.The sandy Aghios Stefanos beach is 600m from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rhenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhenia Hotel Tourlos
Rhenia Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing