We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of Rhenia Mykonos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhenia Mykonos
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The place is very close to the new port. The staff were very helpful. They offer port and airport drop and pickup. Pool is very small but anyways everyone is going to the beaches. Super paradise is the best beach

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mantoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 348 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is Devine! It is about a 5 minute walk from the port but they will pick you up if you let them know what ferry you are on! Once you get the the hotel, the view is amazing! Check in was swift and the staff are very knowledgable about the surrounding areas! The rooms are a little older but well kept and clean! The bus stop to get into the "city" is pretty much at the end of the driveway and there are a few little restaurants nearby if you don't feel like leaving!
The breakfast is huge, just try to get there a little earlier as the dining area can get quite busy! The pool is great and we never had any trouble finding a spare sunbed or two!

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room, the floors are wooden and if you are down below, you can hear every foo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was lovely to have a bunglaow instead of the usual hotel room. Rather than being a few feet from the next guest on their balcony, we felt very private. Lovely views too, although a bit of a trek up the hill for people who are past their prime! There is only a small pool area, and no umbrellas, but everything is clean and comfortable. And the owners are very nice people. They discovered it was my birthday and delivered a bottle of wine to the bungalow!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The finest service with great view on the sea for a low price!
The personal is very devoted in the spirit of Zeus! We wanted an enhanced view and they gave us another room with a better one. I did not see if there was a fitness center but there was a pool. They took us to the boat for free.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean-Yves P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Rhenia for 16 days in July. The visitors to the hotel where a mix of some staying a few days to more longer staying customers. It was apparent that many of people staying at Rhenia had stayed there many times and had developed relationships with the family who runs the hotel. We were new to Rhenia and had booked a sea view bungalow through Expedia and upon arrival were upgraded to room. While the rooms have updated bathrooms, I really wanted what we had booked so we were given bungalow #2 for 2 nights then moved to bungalow #9 for the remainder of our trip. The bungalows are spacious with a great view of the port and town of Mykonos.

The breakfast is absolutely wonderful, the coffee is rich and hot, fresh bread and delicious greek yogurt, bacon and scrambled eggs. The lady who organizes the breakfast is friendly and pleasant with a kind "good morning" and a smile everyday. Certainly more than enough food to get you ready for your day.

The pool is great and yes small and can be busy but fits in with the size of the hotel. There were lots of children and families enjoying the pool to cool off or for a quick swim.

The ladies taking care of housekeeping were very efficient and worked very hard to have rooms cleaned in a timely manner.

The location of Rhenia was a big bonus for us. We could walk to town or catch the bus at the bottom of the hill for 1.60 euros each way. Walking to town takes about 30 minutes and can be a little frightening given the road is narrow and busy with traffic. We usually walked in to town only during early morning time and took the bus during busy days and definitely at night. You can also walk to St. Stefanos beach which is about a 15 minute walk and somewhat safer than the walk to town. There is a wonderful taverna at the bottom of the hill on the right called Matthews. The food is delicious and at a reasonable price. We also ordered in food from a few restaurants that delivered. Kate at the front desk was wonderful to help with recommendations. We ordered from Obati several times and the food was unbelievable, we had the obati salad, spaghetti carbonara, and the ravioli was a winner. We also ordered great food from Oregano.

The family who runs the hotel is great and accommodating. I noticed others at the hotel renting vehicles so I asked to have one booked for 2 days. The only glitch for us was that the car was booked for 10:00 am delivery to the hotel and after a bit of frustration and misunderstanding it arrived at noon and we made the best to catch up on our day. We drove to the Armenistis Lighthouse for a quick photo op and a great view of the island Tinos. We also visited a few beaches in particular Agios Anna, which looked great for snorkeling and Kila Lavidi beach where the water was amazingly clear and the beach was huge. You would only need a car if you wanted to visit beaches on the island although I think you could also get a bus to most of the popular beaches.

If you are looking for a peaceful and beautiful location to enjoy a relaxing time in Mykonos then Rhenia is the place for you. I agree with other reviewers, it is important to be aware that the hotel is at the top of a hill that can be a little bit of a challenge when walking if you have any physical concerns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ay Rhenia and look forward to planning our next visit in years to come. I truly appreciated the special attention Kate, the front desk person takes to make all clients at Rhenia (new and returning) to feel welcomed and taken care of.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the Rhenia Hotel this past week and I have to say I absoutely loved this family style hotel. It literally felt like staying at home. The guests were all comfortable with one another and usually spent time chatting around the pool. The walk to town is about 30 minutes or you can take the bus at the bottom on the hill. The family who runs the hotel is amazing and I can't wait to stay there again. They also have the cutest dogs (Cookie and Pretty) who hang out with the guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This property is outstanding and highly recommended to any Tripadvisor browser considering the Rhenia. It was 5 stars all the way for us, but a couple of issues we encountered has resulted in a review of 4.

We booked via Expedia and took advantage of the free transfer that was on offer. The vehicle was waiting for us and it was the owner who met us and transported us to the accommodation. We booked 7 nights at the Hotel but I would say the average stay is 2/3 nights for people as many use this accommodation for island hopping as it is so close to the new port where all of the ferries and cruise ships dock.

Upon arrival we were shown to room 32, a beautiful room with a balcony/terrace overlooking the new port and it was a picture postcard moment, simply outstanding. Each morning a new cruise ship had docked in the new port and some of the ships were a sight to behold.

The room was spacious, clean and ticked all the boxes. The tv was a little small and outdated but the reality is that we didn't want or need a tv so it was absolutely no issue.

The pool is lovely, but rather small. On some of the days it was overcrowded which can be a little awkward. However with a lovely beach 10 minutes away or a short bus ride into town at the doorstep, it was never a major issue to us.

The only niggle I had was in relation to a car hire booking. I had looked independently, online and rang a couple but I couldn't help but notice a rep from SixT rent a car at the hotel and sorting out a really good deal with a couple of French girls. I asked the rep if we could have the same package and was advised to speak with reception. When I did speak with the owners wife, she explained they were students and she had given up her own commission in order to get them the best deal. When asked if we could have the same deal, we received a polite no. Whilst I understand additional revenue streams are important, the Hotel broke a cardinal sin in my opinion and it did irk me a little that it's one deal for one and one for another. In the end we got a great deal from the Quatro Rent a Car next to Matthew's Taverna at the bottom of the hill.

Access into Mykonos Town is really easy. There is a bus stop opposite Matthew's which takes you into the Old Port for €1.60. From there you in the heart of the Old Town and we absolutely loved it. You can't go wrong for a nice meal or a cocktail, although we did find it expensive. A 3 course meal and decent bottle of wine will cost in the region of €140 and cocktails ranged from €10-€15.

All in all we loved the Hotel, it was well looked after and in an ideal position in that you were close enough to the Old Town but far enough away to be totally out of it.

I wouldn't recommend the Hotel if you had walking difficulties. It is up a steep hill and the complex is layered so there are steps to encounter. This can be reduced by hiring a car but there isn't a great deal to see in Mykonos and to be honest, we found the island rather depressing once we ventured out. With limited bin collections, many areas have been subjected to 'fly tipping' and the long term effects of this could be rather damaging to the island.

Would I recommend the Hotel? Yes. Would I go again? Yes, although for 3 or 4 nights only.

Room Tip: We were in Rooms 32 and felt it was in a perfect position. Quiet, with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattnchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
0.1 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#1 of 6 in Tourlos
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#5 of 6 in Tourlos
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Petinos Hotel
Petinos Hotel
#10 of 26 in Platys Gialos
408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
Rocabella Mykonos Hotel & SPA
#1 of 9 in Agios Stefanos
1,564 reviews
3 mi away
Mykonos Essence Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhenia Mykonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhenia Mykonos

Address: Tourlos Bay | P.O.Box 10, Tourlos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range: $130 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhenia Mykonos 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhenia Hotel is located on a quiet hillside in Tourlos bay overlooking the blue Aegean sea , the Mykonos town and the ancient island of Delos. Just 300 m from the island's New Port and the Marina at Tourlos and 2 km north of Mykonos town (chora) and the old port and just 5 km from Mykonos airport.The sandy Aghios Stefanos beach is 600m from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rhenia Mykonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhenia Hotel Tourlos
Rhenia Mykonos Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing