We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Rhenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rhenia Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This property is outstanding and highly recommended to any Tripadvisor browser considering the Rhenia. It was 5 stars all the way for us, but a couple of issues we encountered has resulted in a review of 4.

We booked via Expedia and took advantage of the free transfer that was on offer. The vehicle was waiting for us and it was the owner who met us and transported us to the accommodation. We booked 7 nights at the Hotel but I would say the average stay is 2/3 nights for people as many use this accommodation for island hopping as it is so close to the new port where all of the ferries and cruise ships dock.

Upon arrival we were shown to room 32, a beautiful room with a balcony/terrace overlooking the new port and it was a picture postcard moment, simply outstanding. Each morning a new cruise ship had docked in the new port and some of the ships were a sight to behold.

The room was spacious, clean and ticked all the boxes. The tv was a little small and outdated but the reality is that we didn't want or need a tv so it was absolutely no issue.

The pool is lovely, but rather small. On some of the days it was overcrowded which can be a little awkward. However with a lovely beach 10 minutes away or a short bus ride into town at the doorstep, it was never a major issue to us.

The only niggle I had was in relation to a car hire booking. I had looked independently, online and rang a couple but I couldn't help but notice a rep from SixT rent a car at the hotel and sorting out a really good deal with a couple of French girls. I asked the rep if we could have the same package and was advised to speak with reception. When I did speak with the owners wife, she explained they were students and she had given up her own commission in order to get them the best deal. When asked if we could have the same deal, we received a polite no. Whilst I understand additional revenue streams are important, the Hotel broke a cardinal sin in my opinion and it did irk me a little that it's one deal for one and one for another. In the end we got a great deal from the Quatro Rent a Car next to Matthew's Taverna at the bottom of the hill.

Access into Mykonos Town is really easy. There is a bus stop opposite Matthew's which takes you into the Old Port for €1.60. From there you in the heart of the Old Town and we absolutely loved it. You can't go wrong for a nice meal or a cocktail, although we did find it expensive. A 3 course meal and decent bottle of wine will cost in the region of €140 and cocktails ranged from €10-€15.

All in all we loved the Hotel, it was well looked after and in an ideal position in that you were close enough to the Old Town but far enough away to be totally out of it.

I wouldn't recommend the Hotel if you had walking difficulties. It is up a steep hill and the complex is layered so there are steps to encounter. This can be reduced by hiring a car but there isn't a great deal to see in Mykonos and to be honest, we found the island rather depressing once we ventured out. With limited bin collections, many areas have been subjected to 'fly tipping' and the long term effects of this could be rather damaging to the island.

Would I recommend the Hotel? Yes. Would I go again? Yes, although for 3 or 4 nights only.

Room Tip: We were in Rooms 32 and felt it was in a perfect position. Quiet, with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattnchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    74
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
45
168
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We, a family of 2 adults, 2 children and one infant stayed for 4 nights.

Overall: Outstanding value and service, ideal for a family stay.

Positives:

- Excellent value for money for the 2 room family room (with Kitchen and balcony).
- Lovely quality service and advice from the owners and team.
- Well cooked (and included) breakfast)
- Close to town, but not so close you could not have a car (Mykonos Town is not one to drive in). Supermarket 150 yards down the road.

To improve:

- Internet does work, but is rather slow (picky I know)
- Be careful to not go to the restaurant to the left at the bottom of the hill - awful. The one to the right looked fine - probably we should have asked more clearly

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days which was the perfect amount of time.. This hotel is about. 2 minute drive from old port if you get the ferry. The great thing about this hotel is that they will pick you up from the port which is a life saver as the hotel is on a hill. There is a bus that goes Into mykonos town every hour. It is possible to walk, it's about a 20-30 min walk depending on your speed.

The rooms are very spacious. The bungalow bathrooms are quiet small however the standard room bathrooms are amazing. The size of the rooms are great and have enough room for luggage and to walk around a little. The rooms are also equipt with a fridge and tv and air con. We didn't put the tv on but I'm sure it worked fine.

The pool is not the biggest pool especially when it is busy, but if you have a car or bike it is worth going to the other beaches on the island. The closest beach is about a 10 minute walk but it's up a small hill.

Breakfast is fantastic nothing to fault at all. They have a wide variety of foods from cold meats to bacon eggs and sausages, they also have fresh fruit which is also a plus. Breakfast goes from 8-10:30 which is plenty of time and they also don't clean your room to early so you can definelty have a sleep in.

If your planning on going to paradise beach to party just be prepared it is not easy to get to. It is two buses which don't run very regularly. This place is a PERFECT destination for couples who want to relax or families, if your 18-25 and wanting to party to early morning of the hours I would suggest if your wanting to stay here to either rent an atv,bike or car.

The family that own this hotel are the most amazing people you could get to own a hotel. They helped with anything you need. They have three beautiful dogs which are the sweetest things ever which rooms around and are just always friendly wanting to be patted and rubbed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two nights.
The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The balcony off our room had a spectacular view. Breathtaking. Breakfast was included and it was perfect. Eggs, breads, jams, cheese, cold cuts Greek yoghurt and of course coffee teas and juices. Perfect European breakfast.
It is a 45 minute walk into town and a ten minute walk to the closest beach, but all of that didn't bother my daughter and I. After all the delicious Greek meals we needed the exercise.
Mostly, the owners of this hotel are absolutely wonderful. Hospitable to the ends of the earth. Protective of my daughter and I, Andre (the husband owner) made sure to remind us to be careful when going into town at night. He smiled at us and reminded us when the last buses came back. To make sure we dressed warmly enough, and if we needed him that he would come pick us up at any time of night. We felt safe and comfortable the entire time.
I would recommend this anyone! To everyone. Lovely lovely lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraserstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

To start off, the view is absolutely beautiful from anywhere in the hotel. Of course, the higher level rooms have a better view. The hotel is five minutes away from the port by walk, and also five minutes away from a delicious restaurant,
"Matheus". The entire hotel is beautiful and well-decorated. The pool, breakfast area, lounge area, and rooms all stay true to Greek infrastructure. The owners are very welcoming and cordial. The internet connection can be weak inside of the rooms, but very fast outside on the balcony. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vale13-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed there with a group of women.
We had a warm welcome, and very cozy breakfast.
The views are fantastic. The hotel has very big garden and a nice pool.
It is conveniently located near the port.
Thank you.
Irene from Amorgos

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We traveled to Greece on our honeymoon. Our stay at the Rhenia was by far the best part of our trip!! The hotel was beautiful on the hillside with amazing views. The owners were great they picked us up and dropped us off at the port when our ferries arrived, they also took the time to tell us about the island and the things we needed to see. The rooms were very clean and had large showers! If we ever make it back to Mykonos we will be staying at the Rhenia!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank eric k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tourlos
0.1 mi away
Makis Place
Makis Place
#3 of 6 in Tourlos
260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olia Hotel
Olia Hotel
#4 of 6 in Tourlos
278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mykonos Princess Hotel
Mykonos Princess Hotel
#2 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Archipelagos
Archipelagos
#1 of 3 in Kalo Livadi
318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
Andronikos Hotel Mykonos
#2 of 82 in Mykonos Town
1,227 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Marco Luxury Hotel & Villas
San Marco Luxury Hotel & Villas
#6 of 10 in Agios Stefanos
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhenia Hotel

Property: Rhenia Hotel
Address: Tourlos Bay | P.O.Box 10, Tourlos 846 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Mykonos > Tourlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tourlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhenia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rhenia Hotel is located on a quiet hillside in Tourlos bay overlooking the blue Aegean sea , the Mykonos town and the ancient island of Delos. Just 300 m from the island's New Port and the Marina at Tourlos and 2 km north of Mykonos town (chora) and the old port and just 5 km from Mykonos airport.The sandy Aghios Stefanos beach is 600m from the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rhenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhenia Hotel Tourlos
Rhenia Hotel Mykonos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing