We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not as good as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vlycha
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is a tale of two halves. The older part of the hotel (the garden view rooms) does not live up to expectation. The air conditioning is very basic with three settings off, half or full and barely makes a difference in the room. Although it appeared to be clean when we first arrived I had to ask for the bedding to be changed twice after the room had been cleaned because our 'clean sheets' were stained and pillow cases covered in someone else's mascara. I still have no idea whether the towels were changed at all in the two weeks we were there. The newer part of the hotel seems to be much more modern and from reports of other guests much nicer (although you will pay more to stay there).
There were always beds by the pool and the music was not offensively loud. There is an entertainment team of 2 but they didn't have much interest and generally were more annoying trying to get you to join in on their stretching class. Evening entertainment was sparse and generally we had to entertain ourselves by playing cards with other guests - expect 2 evenings of entertainment (not anything amazing) a week.
The food was generally good (although it was hard to tell if there were themed evenings) with a fair amount of choice. The barstaff were very friendly and accommodating. Unfortunately they ran out of peach schnapps when we were there and no more had been ordered which meant several of the cocktails were unavailable which limited an already limited cocktail menu.
If you want to go out of the hotel a taxi to lindos which is about 5 minutes drive will cost you 12 euros which seems quite expensive. We went with Thompson / First choice and have had no end of problems with their excursion line - book in resort with the rep as this seems much easier.
I wouldn't go back to this resort as it did not seem anywhere near the 4 star I was expecting.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a sea view room in the new block
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 600 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a lovely hotel; the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, it’s not really good enough to be a 4*.
We had a room in the new building which was very modern and stylish, we paid extra for a suite as it was our honeymoon and it was well worth the extra. Only complaints about the room are the hairdryer is rubbish so make sure you take your own. Our shower leaked all over the floor almost every time we used it no matter how well we thought we were shutting the door. I just think the seal wasn’t fitted very well. The doors need silent closers on them as every door in the whole building slams shut very noisily, not good when you’re trying to have an early night or a lie in.
The food was very good with Chinese, Italian and Greek night all in one week. Good choice and not too much English food on the menu (if I wanted English food I’d stay at home!). Good selection o f salads both at lunch and dinner and nice varied breakfast every day. I would expect at least one a la carte restaurant for a 4* hotel.
At dinner it was self service drinks of wine, beer or soft drinks only which is a bit poor for a 4*, I’ve stayed in 4* all inclusive before where the staff bring your drinks and you can have what you like, even a bottle of wine – no coffee in the restaurant at lunch or dinner but you can get them from the pool bars.
Bar service was good, Oliver on the top pool bar very friendly and chatty. Michalas at lower pool bar also friendly, a little tip doesn’t go amiss every now and then. If you think these guys are a bit grumpy at times bear in mind they don’t have a day off all summer!
First Choice Rep was a joke – we wanted to travel to Rhodes Town and he told us it would take 2 hrs via public transport and tried to sell us an excursion for 48 euro instead, this was at night and still 1.5hrs so not convenient for us so we decided not to bother. On the last day of our holiday we got chatting to a couple who had been to Rhodes Town on the public bus and it took 50 mins!!! Had we known this before we would have definitely went but we were halfway through our last day and now didn’t have time. We felt very annoyed that he gave us misleading information in order to get himself a little bit of commission. We asked him to recommend some restaurants In Lindos too but he kept telling us to go to Pefkos, maybe he was on commission at these restaurants too!
First Choice not all bad though as we left an iPad on the plane and they did get it back and return it to the hotel for us so that was a big positive.
Overall a nice hotel, and not really much to complain about but just not good enough in comparison to other 4* hotels I’ve stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yeti1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just returned from a wks holiday here. It's a lovely hotel, clean, quiet and relaxing. We had a room in the top block which was very spacious and cleaned daily. The food was good and always a free tables to sit at. We spent our days by the top pool which again was quiet and there were always free sun loungers. In fact we couldn't believe how quiet it was considering the hotel was full and it was August. We loved Oliver who works at the top bar. His very friendly, attentive and we had many laughs with him. I hope the hotel realises what an asset he is to them. The only complaint we have is the bed/mattress wasn't very comfortable but we are used to luxury with ours at home. We are planning to return next year with family and friends and hope to see Oliver again :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Shortly returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable 2 weeks @ Lindos White, family of 4. Overall a good 4 star, however not excellent. Firstly the points that do make it a good 4 star, smallish hotel so not noisy if that is what you want. Rooms (family suites) in the newer building at the back are spacious, modern with the necessary room facilities that a family needs including good air conditioning and a fridge. Good views, especially from 2nd floor upwards. Next to one of pools (shallow for youngsters), and only a minute from the bar. The food was very good, fresh, good quality and good choice. Bar snacks are available but limited which isn't a problem when food quality is good. Handy if children are hungry, especially ice cream (all day) and cake at 4pm. Close to the beach, however would recommend you turn right out of hotel and walk for around 5-10 mins and opposite supermarket beach less pebbly especially close to sea. Beach quiet as well so plenty of space.

Why not an excellent 4 star - drinks - flat soft drinks, and pretty tasteless soft drinks, no fault of waiters, bar nearest family suites has Oliver in the day, and I think Mickalis (close enough!) at night - they can only utilise materials they have given and although all inclusive is often local brands many other 4 star hotels do have better branded, and at least fizzy soft drinks (UK holiday makers think of Happy Shoppers Coca Cola and your there!) Beer, wine, and spirits okay as well as coffee, tea but the hotel needs to sort soft drinks. The pool bar at the front of hotel seemed to have slightly more fizz but marginal - may not be such an issue for 1 week hol. Bar service excellent, Oliver good with families especially children and in the evening I would say Mickalis better with adults/couples.

Entertainment limited but there is some so great time for family time to make our own entertainment. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a week staying here and would very much recommend if you want a complete chilled holiday in peace. Lovely and clean, the dining area was spotless at all times and the staff are extremely friendly. Food was wonderful, no a la carte as such but a great variety everyday and plenty of it! Salads were the best.
If you want any entertainment or nightlife this isn't the place as apart from a pool bar in the evening you can go for a walk and it stops there, but we didn't mind as came to chill, read and sleep! Only reason I give 4/5 is on arrival after a 6 hr journey there was no food and drink available to us as all closes at 11pm in which Thomson did not inform us this. A big disappointment with it being an all inclusive so a warning if you are on a late flight to eat properly on your journey.
Local beach is fab and a visit to Lindos town and the Acropolis is a must!

Room Tip: Mention to have a modern suite as the original older rooms are still used
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hellokitty1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The Lindos White Hotel and Suites really is a great hotel; in fact as an all-inclusive in Europe it really deserves more *'s. The family rooms are spacious and modern and were serviced daily. The hotel staff are fantastic, they are helpful and really want to make your stay a good one. Oliver at the pool bar is great :-)...all staff are friendly and can't do enough to help. The rooms in the main (older building) are also pleasant but the air conditioning isn't quite as good as the new building with the family rooms. There are fewer than 100 rooms which means that you can always find space to relax, never have a problem with sunbeds, tables at meal times etc. The food is fabulous and we never saw any hot food repeated in the week we were there (other than chips!) and there is a fantastic salad bar and fresh fruit every day. There are a number of activities to join in such as aqua fit and toning sessions and dance classes etc for children every day - if you are looking for a massive list of things to do you won't find it here but we loved the fact that it was quite unintrusive and relaxed and the 3 various sized pools are enough to keep even little ones occupied. The sister hotel over the road (Sentido) is right on the beach and you can use their facilities (including a spa, however they do charge, even for sunbeds!). The beach is lovely but it is a shingle beach and its very difficult to walk on (beach shoes are a good idea) and again, you can pay to use sunbeds there. The Sentido also has a small shop but there is a bigger one if you walk on a few minutes more and a huge supermarket a very short taxi ride away (in walkable distance but up a steep hill). Overall, we had a fantastic family holiday at the Lindos White and would definitely return.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying extra for the family rooms/suites in the new building and floor 3 is t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We got married in May at St Pauls, reception at the Lindian Jewel and stayed at this hotel. The service was excellent, because of our wedding the hotel were very generous and gave us a free room upgrade to a top floor suite that was stunning, spacious and a sea view. The suites located at the back of the hotel also had their own pool and bar area which was nice. Overall it was clean and modern throughout.

The All Inclusive drinks were great, a good variety of local drinks and cocktails. Sadly the international drinks were at a paid for only bar by the reception. But the cocktails on offer kept me happy enough!

The food was a little basic, adequate enough when you're trying not to stuff your face to ensure you can still fit into your wedding dress! But I have had a lot better at past All Inclusive hotels I have stayed in.

The location is lovely and peaceful and very close to the beach. We hired a quad bike from the rental place across the road, it was great fun and made getting around to the local towns, Lindos and Pefkos.

My wedding dress was given a free steam clean and delivered back to my room, the reception staff kept me updated of this. Also when we arrived back after our wedding day we arrived back to gorgeous decoration!! I won't spoil the surprise of what it was.

The Wifi isn't that great, only in the public areas and you do have to keep logging back in which is frustrating. I wouldn't normally used my phone/wifi on holiday but needed to be in contact with our wedding planners and suppliers.

We enjoyed our stay here and really appreciated the special attention we were given because of our wedding. Thank you to all the staff, especially Lis.

Room Tip: Suites at the back have their own pool and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleMrs-P-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlycha
1.9 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#10 of 30 in Lindos
718 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindos Village Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
0.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#9 of 30 in Lindos
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos White Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos White Hotel and Suites

Address: | Vlycha Beach, Vlycha, Lindos 85107, Greece (Formerly Star Lindos Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos > Vlycha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Vlycha
Price Range: $48 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lindos White Hotel and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION ON THE VLYCHA BEACH. About 4 km from the village of Lindos. The Lindos White is set back a little from the beach in the centre of the quiet and secluded Vlycha Bay at sea level and the block with junior suites and family rooms nestles against the hillside with a cable car to whisk you up there if required. The property is surrounded by countryside and only a few minutes walk, 200 meters from the deep blue Aegean sea. The hotel has a dedicated walkway and a stretch of beach with sun-loungers and parasols. Distances: 50 km to Rhodes town/ 45 km to Rhodes airport. ACCOMMODATION & DESCRIPTION LINDOS WHITE hotel & suites is a modern 4 star hotel, with 99 rooms in 3 buildings. The hotel is divided into 3 areas surrounded by lawn / flowers and trees. First area with adult swimming pool, shaded sun-loungers, children’s pool & playground, tennis court and pool/snack bar. Second area with main building, all double/twin rooms, reception with Lobby, TV area & Lobby Bar with open air terrace, our white-on-white restaurant offers buffet meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner, with indoor and outdoor seating next to the relaxing sound of slowly running water surrounding the terrace. Third area are the buildings with junior suites and family rooms, activity pool, children’s pool surrounded by sun-loungers & parasols, pool/snack bar. The colour white, water and flowers are basic elements in the design of the hotel. Double/Twin rooms with option of Garden view or Sea side View, Junior Suites and family rooms with option of Garden view/Pool view or Sea view. All room types with balcony, (some Family rooms with terrace), private bathroom, air condition, safety box, fridge, hair dryer, telephone and satellite TV. Modern decor, all the furniture is kept in elegant white with a few hints of pale green and blue. 1 adult swimming pool 1 activity pool 2 separate children’s pool 2 Pool/snack bars 2 sun decks with shaded area / umbrellas and sun beds Paid Options: • Lobby bar (open 24 hours) • Safe deposit box in the room • Wi-fi in the room • Tennis court • Beach area: Parasols & Sun beds • water sports are available for hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lindos White Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos White Hotel And Suites Rhodes/Vlycha, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing