We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlycha
Taunton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We have just got back from holiday in Lindos White. Have never written a review before but i know there's not much info about this hotel so thought it may help others.
We booked with Thomson and we're told there is no building work going on and there would be 2 swimming pools after extensive refurbishment.
The swimming pool - When we got there we couldn't find the 2nd pool only to be told that it would not be finished until end of May. To get to the existing pool you have to leave the front of the hotel and walk 50 metres down the road. However the pool area itself is nice and there is a pool bar with unlimited drinks.
The building work - There was building work going on but it was way up the back of the complex so to be honest it didn't disturb us in any way.
Food and drink - The food is actually really nice and there is wine and beer available in the restaurant. The only problem was the only all inclusive bar is 50m down the road in the swimming pool area and it closes at 11pm. If you want a drink inside the hotel lobby you have to pay. Also the soft drinks are not brand names so no real coca cola just some cheap stuff.
The room - Rooms have all been refurbished and ours was actually rather nice and had everything you need. Beds were comfortable and it was extremely quiet at night. However, we paid extra for a sea view but this was ruined somewhat by the fact you have to look across a dusty, barren area and a road to see it!
The staff - Staff were friendly and helpful.
I hope this is helpful and doesn't really put people off as to be honest the holiday was really cheap compared to other hotels and Lindos itself is an absolutely gorgeous place. It cost 12 euros to get a taxi into Lindos but often there are others willing to share. Although there were a few niggles about the hotel it was clean and quiet and I imagine it will be much better once the other buildings and pool are finished.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    221
    104
    26
    11
See reviews for
131
275
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed for a couple of days mid-late September. The price was around 38 euros per night (low season) and that included aircon (built-in and quiet) and fridge. A safe costs extra as does Wifi so be warned! Breakfast was included: it was decent and well-cooked but there is only so much you can do with cheap ingredients (such as powdered "fruit" juice). The rooms are a good size with bathroom (not just a shower), modern decor and balcony) and very clean. The pool looks nice but we didn't try it out as the beach is so close. Vlycha Bay is about 300m away and it's pebbles. Contrary to what it says on the website, the beach is not private. All the beaches in Greece are public beaches. There are no complimentary sunloungers on the beach (strange for a private beach) so you need to pay about euros. The hotel offers half-board. We opted out of that but finding other restaurants and tavernas is difficult. There is only one taverna open in the evening (everything else is hotel restaurants) which is decent, esp. their mussels in garlic sauce. Other than that you need to rent a car to get into Lindos Town which is about 3-4 km away. Walking is not advisable as it's up and then down a hill plus you would have to walk alongside the main road. Lindos Town itself is incredibly touristy and expensive, even in low season. We hated it. Forget about an authentic Greek experience if you go there. The cobbled streets are heaving with tourists and every shop sells the same stuff (you can probably guess that most of it, due to the sameness and quantity, is not locally produced or even typical of the region.) The beaches and bays in and around Lindos are beautiful but crowded.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
189 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I spent six nights at the Lindos Star Hotel in August 2010 and it was very disappointing. The staff are pleasant and friendly but that is about the best thing about the hotel. My key gripe was the location as it is about 3 kms from Lindos in an isolated tourist enclave with no local tavernas or bars except at lunch time. This means that one has to pay for transport into Lindos or elsewhere for a meal or to experience any kind of Greek lifestyle. The local bus is unreliable and at the top of a very steep 1,4 km hill. Taxis are not plentiful so we chose to hire a car which is expensive but at least gives flexibility.
The other big frustration with the Lindos Star is it's boarding school mentality. Breakfasts are served in a curtained dining room and the presentation and quality of the food is well below average. The swimming pool is strictly closed between 18h00 and 10h00 daily so if you feel like a swim in the pool after returning from a day's excursion this is not permitted. Very disappointing was an additional fee of Euro 8 per day for a key to use the airconditioning in your bedroom. And this in Greece in August! There is also a charge for a key for the safety deposit box in the bedrooms and no fridge (elsewhere I stayed in cheaper, lower ranked hotels which provided all of these facilities within their daily rate. So I definitely would not go back to the Lindos Star!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were staying at Lindos Star in May 2009, and it is the best experience I had down there!
We loved the hotel and the staff, escpecially the Kay and Frank! They were awsome!
The food was ok, and the rooms were ok too!
But it was mainly the place it self witch made it so great.
When you first see it you probably think, meeh.. But after a while, you never ever want to leave the place. I could feel my eyes tear up when I left. Thats probably because I don't travle alot, so I think every experience is awsome!
I rememer we arrived at night when it was dark, and we went straight to bed. The next day when I woke up I could not have imagined that it was so warm and beautiful outside! I LOVE RHODES! And outside it were donkeys, and they were just too cute!

We visited Lindos town alot, and also Rhodes city when we were there!
The taxi men are so cool, ecpecially if you find the one we had. He was both good looking and nice! So thumbs up for that!
I probably will return to this place sometime and I will enjoy it !

This place is also perfect if you want some exercise, like we did and walked in to Lindos town, I think it is about 4km. A nice little walk there. BUT bring water, ALOT, because its going to be HOT... :D

I hope everyone who visits this place gets the same feeling as I did, I really belive its worth it at the end.

me and Kay also have a little secret! I got a speciall gift at the end of the vacation, and I brought it home and enjoyed it!! So if you like peach marmalade you should tell her, maybe you get a special gift !

Have a nice trip, and enjoy your vacation! :D
P.S you should also buy some Crepes/Krepes, its pancakes in the streets with white or black chocolate or BOTH ! IT IS AWSOME!
I have so much more to tell, but you should really go there yourself and just experience the same as I did!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich,England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

I would've given this hotel 3.5 stars if I could but the Lindos Bay Hotel across the road is 4 stars and unarguably a notch up from this.
The staff are the stand out aspect of this hotel - they are friendly, helpful and efficient.
The location is fine if you don't mind staying a little way out of Lindos town. A taxi from the hotel cost us 7 euros during the day and 10 euros at night. If you can share between 4 people it's not a lot of money. Prepare yourself however for the overall cost of Lindos - pretty much everything is very expensive. You even have to pay 6 euros now to walk up the Acropolis at Lindos.
The Lindos Star is a set back about 300 metres from the beach. The swimming pool area is located a very short walk away nearer the entrance from the main rood - it's nice with a good bar. We had friends staying at the Lindos Bay hotel which is the sister hotel so we used their facilities a lot of the time.
The rooms at Lindos Star are basic but clean and fairly spacious. We found the beds extremely firm and somewhat uncomfortable and the pillows were poor.
The hotel bar area was nice with a good amount of chairs to sit outside. We stayed half board which I believe may be the only option available. The breakfast was fine but remained the same pretty much throughout the week. The evening meal was better as the food was pretty good and varied a little from one night to the next.
Our main gripe really was that we had to pay 6 euros a day for the air conditioning which not made clear on some websites. The hotel is also surrounded by a lot of donkeys, cockerels and cats - so beware of animal noises during the night and early morning. Fortunately the sound of the air conditioning drowns this out mostly.
Otherwise a nice hotel with no obvious flaws - a solid 3 star but not quite 4.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Hols72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed for a week between 24 June - 01 July 2009. Location is about 3km from Lindos. Would recommend hiring a car as the hotel is in the bay linked to the main road by a dimly lit steep, winding road.

For us, it was the staff that made the holiday. My partner is a pescetarian and Kay in the dining room went out of her way to make sure that there was something for him to eat every night - Thanks also go to Vangelis (head chef) for the plentiful and well cooked fish. The meals in general were very well cooked and there was a good choice.

I would recommend this hotel to those who want a relaxing holiday and do not mind being out of a main resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpleadsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The Lindos Star is a nice enough hotel. It's basic but clean, and has good helpful staff. However, it's not really in the best location. In order to get to the town of Lindos itself (which is where all the good beaches , restaurants and bars are) you would need to go by either bus or taxi. To get the bus you had to walk for 20minutes up a very steep hill and then over a busy road to reach the bus stop. It wasnt really in a very convenient location. The hotel could phone you a taxi but it would cost 10 Euros there and 7 Euros back. We mostly got taxis, but this reallly ate into our budget, as we were spending almost 40 Euros a day on them. Walking was totally out of the question as it was too far away, and also along a very busy main road.

If I was going back I would get a hotel nearer to the main square to avoid having to pay out so much in taxi fares.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank bkerr1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlycha
0.5 mi away
Lindos Mare Hotel
Lindos Mare Hotel
#4 of 30 in Lindos
1,362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindos Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lindos Sun Hotel
Lindos Sun Hotel
#9 of 30 in Lindos
649 reviews
2.2 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lindos View
Hotel Lindos View
#8 of 30 in Lindos
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindos White Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindos White Hotel and Suites

Property: Lindos White Hotel and Suites
Address: Vlicha | Vlycha Beach, Vlycha, Lindos 85107, Greece (Formerly Star Lindos Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Lindos > Vlycha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vlycha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lindos White Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION ON THE VLYCHA BEACH. About 4 km from the village of Lindos. The Lindos White is set back a little from the beach in the centre of the quiet and secluded Vlycha Bay at sea level and the block with junior suites and family rooms nestles against the hillside with a cable car to whisk you up there if required. The property is surrounded by countryside and only a few minutes walk, 200 meters from the deep blue Aegean sea. The hotel has a dedicated walkway and a stretch of beach with sun-loungers and parasols. Distances: 50 km to Rhodes town/ 45 km to Rhodes airport. ACCOMMODATION & DESCRIPTION LINDOS WHITE hotel & suites is a modern 4 star hotel, with 99 rooms in 3 buildings. The hotel is divided into 3 areas surrounded by lawn / flowers and trees. First area with adult swimming pool, shaded sun-loungers, children’s pool & playground, tennis court and pool/snack bar. Second area with main building, all double/twin rooms, reception with Lobby, TV area & Lobby Bar with open air terrace, our white-on-white restaurant offers buffet meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner, with indoor and outdoor seating next to the relaxing sound of slowly running water surrounding the terrace. Third area are the buildings with junior suites and family rooms, activity pool, children’s pool surrounded by sun-loungers & parasols, pool/snack bar. The colour white, water and flowers are basic elements in the design of the hotel. Double/Twin rooms with option of Garden view or Sea side View, Junior Suites and family rooms with option of Garden view/Pool view or Sea view. All room types with balcony, (some Family rooms with terrace), private bathroom, air condition, safety box, fridge, hair dryer, telephone and satellite TV. Modern decor, all the furniture is kept in elegant white with a few hints of pale green and blue. 1 adult swimming pool 1 activity pool 2 separate children’s pool 2 Pool/snack bars 2 sun decks with shaded area / umbrellas and sun beds Paid Options: • Lobby bar (open 24 hours) • Safe deposit box in the room • Wi-fi in the room • Tennis court • Beach area: Parasols & Sun beds • water sports are available for hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lindos White Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindos White Hotel And Suites Rhodes/Vlycha, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing