We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adelais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Adelais
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful, our room was spacious and comfortable with aircon & fridge. Free wifi around the pool & around main hotel bars, restaurants but not in the room. We went for a cheeky week in the sun and was not disappointed with the hot sunny days spent around a clean and well maintained pool and garden area, the pool bar was always staffed and plenty of spare sunbeds. The food was fine but not always hot, however always something to choose from & the fresh salads were excellent. The entertainment on a night time was non existent, the all inclusive finishes dead on 10.30 - no negotiation at all not even if you were at the bar at 10.20 and someone in front ordered a time consuming coffee from the expresso machine and your turn to be served was 10.31 :o) The beach is not a beach but more a stone and pebble rough area leading to the sea. In conclusion, a great place to go and relax next to a pool and soak up the rays, but is absolutely in the middle of nowhere & the closest town is a 20 min bus ride away. Would I return to this hotel.....prob not but only because of the location as I like to have a change of scenery every now & again but the hotel itself is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    96
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
97
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was staying in this hotel for 1 week. The location is not the best for young couples who want to have some fun, because the hotel itself is located in a very small village. If you like calm and quiet places you'll like it.

After arriving we were told that the hotel is overbooked and we have to stay one night in other building. In exchange for that we received bigger room that we paid for so I can't complain.

The hotel area is decent - we felt very comfortable lying on the sunbeds near the pool. Rooms are clean and spacious, and have everything you would expect from 2/3 star hotel.

As for the all inclusive:
- food - few times I found the selection very limited (not too much meat and protein), but in overall it was ok
- drinks - watered down, and the alcohol itself wasn't too good, but for the price we paid there is no reason to complain
- snacks - very limited choice, few dry sanwiches, eggs and vegetables - I tried it just once.

Despite few things mentioned above I am very happy with the hotel choice - time passed very fast and our stay was very pleasant. Would I come again? No, because of the location. Would I recommend the hotel? Yes.

The price/quality rate - excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartek_skw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here, the hotel is set in the quiet village tavronitis.The food was absoulutly gorgeous, the drinks were ok (beer very good ) vodka a bit iffy, white wine was very nice, didn't try any others, the rooms were very clean and spacious, tv no english channels,air con free.The staff were lovely and very friendly, especially eva on reception
Surrounding area is quiet but we had some lovely walks in the country lanes discovering little tavernas on our way.
If a quiet relaxing holiday with lovely greek food this is for you, of you want exciting times this is a no no .We would go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wato63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Beautiful hotel very peaceful small family hotel. Food Georgous Greek organic fresh food . In a small farming village good if you lik walking but a local bus 3 mins away take you every where and to airport change at hania main bus station . Nothing to much trouble for staff they work very hard lovely place .stones on beach sea is like a bath. Will return soon . Should be a 4 star hotel fridge hair dryer air con in room cleaned every day no pool towels provided

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for two weeks start of October 2012, nice room basic but very clean. Pool area was nice no shortages of Sunbed and never over busy, so peaceful. Food was lovely, it is not aut cuisine, but we did not pay 5 star prices, just good home made greek dishes, you certainly would not go hungry. The local beer and wine that is served is very nice, I have been all inclusive to other places and paid a lot more, and you could not even drink what they served it was so nasty. Staff friendly especially the lovely receptionist and Stalios who serves behind the bar. Only thing we were disappointed with is location the beach a 10 minute stroll, is shabby and unused and the villiage of Tavarontis extremely quiet, just a couple of bars (for locals) and a few small shops. However a regular bus service takes you to Plantanias & Aghia Marina, which has great beaches and lots of shops and restaurants. We would return.

Room Tip: we were above the bar I think room 606, the bar is never open very late so no problems with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shmee061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I would love to come back, the hotel was nice the room was clean and the views from my room was amazing.

The food was really good. Feel sorry for the people working there as they work all day till late!

Staff was really polite the recepcionist was really nice as we went to see her a few times about the car hire, within 5 minutes she had everything sorted and we cant fault the price off 99 euros for 4 days rent.

We've been down to Malia one morning and we loved in there as looks a bit more alive than the hotel area.

The guy working in the bar was really nice and came to talk to me few times and made me feel really good.

I cant fault the Britsh to complain about the east europeans there as I've seen quiet a few of them there really rude with the staff, bein polite doesnt hurt anyone at all.

The only thing I wasnt so happy about it was the pool with the little tiles all over, the pool floor was covered in it. Sorry guys need to work on that!

I may comeback soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We, a couple, stayed at Hotel Adelais 2 weeks mid September. After reading mixed reviews about the hotel we were pleasantly surprised how NICE it was. Our room was spacious and clean with a balcony overlooking the pool at the front of the hotel as well as seaviews & countryside. All appliances were in working order (Mini fridge, hairdryer, aircon) and furniture in good condition.

Lovely pool and garden, WELL MAINTAINED with plenty of sunbeds and seating around the bar and patio area. We particularly liked the pool area at the front, it's wonderfully quiet and you'll get a light breeze from the sea.

The restaurant area (inside and out) was constantly cleaned and dishes were cleared from tables very quickly. The food was in my opinion OUTSTANDING - prepared fresh daily with local ingredients, rustic greek dishes that were extremely tasty and I don't think a day went by where i didn't go back for seconds!
Overall the bar/drinks were OK. They offer LOCAL spirits, beer, wine and soft drinks. Bit disappointed at first that they couldn't make a G&T (as no tonic water), but then I just bought my own tonic from the local shops.
Hotel staff was very warm & friendly and always on hand to help with absolutely anything, nothing seemed too much trouble.

As many have already said, this hotel is in a VERY QUIET location, surrounded by fields with goats & sheep. The local village of Tavronitis has a few basic shops and a couple of Tavernas.

My only critizism would be that there were A LOT of eastern european/russians staying at the hotel, who are (sorry to say this...) very rude and unpleasant. It was more noticeable in the first week of our stay but seemed to even out in the 2nd half.

All in all - we loved our stay at Hotel Adelais and would come again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front pool (hotel entrance) have great views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Its-a-g-and-t-for-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavronitis
0.8 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#6 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.9 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lycasti Maisonettes
Lycasti Maisonettes
#2 of 3 in Tavronitis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.5 mi away
Silver Beach Hotel
Silver Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Gerani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adelais

Property: Hotel Adelais
Address: Tavronitis, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Tavronitis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adelais 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Adelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adelais Chania/Tavronitis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing