We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good management horrible”
Review of Hotel Adelais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adelais
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel good management horrible”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Been here since Saturday 29 sept staying 14 nights untill 13 October the hotel it's self is realy nice good rooms and very clean the general staff are good but the management team are all family and not helpfull the manager himself is ignorant and bullies his staff and literally pushes them around kicks the cats ,
The food is edible just the drinks all taste the same and are watered down would I come again NO .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryanharold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
64
101
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived 21/09/2012 told overbooked we had to spend one night in s/c appts approx 5mins walk away but all food etc at main hotel. Wasn't very happy about situation but got over it until realised that this was not an isolated case and that over the next 2-3 days approx 8-10 couples were housed in these appts between 1-3 nights. So beware!!!!!!
Main hotel totally isolated...rooms ok shower hand held extremely small shower tray floor always got wet..rooms kept very clean by staff as were the grounds pool area etc.
Food very basic, very repetitive got fed up eating salad all the time as very few vegetables mainly meat,potatoes,rice. pasta Drinks limited to certain times of the day.Spirits not available during meal times....no tonic for your gin.If you like beer you be okay. Snacks during the day virtually non existent...dried up club sandwich available..no butteI This is what is known as light AI....so make sure the price you pay reflects this.
Overall for a cheap week away in sunny climate you can cope with it but shall not be returning unless was only hotel available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived and they said they were over booked, leaving us and two other couples to be moved down to appartments for one night - these appartments in my opinion were 2 star max and I didn't feel safe leaving stuff there and it was a 5 min walk to the hotel, at night the dirt path we had to walk down was not lit meaning we were left vulnuerable walking around with our money on us in the pitch black down back streets. Once we were in the hotel it was fine, clean room, clean pool etc. The food was the same most nights, however there was always something to eat. The all-inlcusive drinks were rubbish in my opinion, the beer was nasty and the wine too sharp for me, the spirits weren't aloud during meal times, so if you're like me and don't like to drink too much during the day then you have to wait until after 9pm to have spirits (baring in mind the bar closes at around half 10), the soft drinks were as someone else said not fizzy - too watered down. There was no entertainment so as for us being a young couple we found it boring, ended up sitting on the balcony playing on phones etc. or having music on. There wasn't anything to do in Tavronitis appart from the supermarkets near. Platanias was a 20 mins max bus drive, plenty of tourist shops and resteraunts there, Chania about 40 mins bus drive, worth the visit but extremely busy, remember which direction you walk in as its too easy to get lost! Overall the hotel was nice but as a young couple we wouldn't return. We did enjoy relaxing around the pool and visiting the towns though which was what made the holiday worthwhile, expecially when you come back to England with rain and wind! Very nice staff and the british couples we made friends with were also lovely and they made the holiday for us too :)

Room Tip: There's litteraly just fields around the hotel so aim for a room with either a sea view or over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

lovely clean rooms, maids do an excellent job. pool and grounds cleaned everyday.
no entertainment, no drinks or food after 10.30 pm.
pebble beach no sand 10 mins walk away down a shingle track road.
food no choice 1 hr at lunch like cattle all rushing in for the 1 hr.
no drinks at all after 9.30am till 10.30am when pool bar opens. (no shop on site)
snacks are dry hard sandwiches no butter with ham n cheese on, put in a fridge, next to pool bar. tomatoes cucumber peppers and boiled eggs. nothing else to eat but that for snacks.
fizzy pop, well dont think i ever tasted fizzy pop always flat even the kids didnt like it.
3 shops about 10 minutes walk away or could get the bus to the next town 20 minutes away or chania town 45 minutes away lovely marina.
over all cheap cheerful holiday in the middle of no where, 7 days was enough we got the bus most days into the next town for food and entertainment.
if you want a very quiet holiday with no entertainment and like to experiment with the limited choice of food you will be fine at this hotel.

Room Tip: masionette rooms lovely for familys double bed up stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnharris2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Recently stayed here for 7 days so here's my pennysworth. We booked what seemed a good
deal with Travel Republic for the AI package and on reflection, what we paid was about
right.

The hotel is situated in a quiet area 30-40mins by car west of Chania airport. It's
quite a bit back from the coast. There seemed to be nothing immediately around the
hotel so that is something that needs to be considered if you don't have your own
transportation and don't want to be tied to the hotel.

We hired a small car at the airport and kept it for the whole week - €125 all in
(including full insurance, additional driver) Petrol is approx €1.9 / litre. Good deal
and something I would thoroughly recommend if you want to get around and explore
Western Crete.

Most of the hotel's clientele didn't seemed too interested in that - choosing instead
to remain at the hotel pool and take advantage of the 10:30am to 10:30pm open bar.
During our week, the hotel appeared to be very popular with Russian guests who
certainly took FULL advantage!! However, each to their own.

As others have pointed out, spirits are not available during lunch and dinner meal
periods - just beer, wine, soft drinks etc. One evening I was invited to try the
local "Vodka" on offer - I suspect it could easily double up as a paint stripper.
Draught beer and boxed wine seemed fine.

The bar guys who also assist in the restaurant are a great hard working bunch and
seemed to really appreciate a "please" and a "thank you" that sadly didn't seem to
be used too frequently.

We eat breakfast all but one day - no lunches and had dinner 3 times. We found the
food a bit plain and repetitive but OK and you will not go hungry. You can "build
your own"Greek salad and local yogurt / honey at breakfast is yum.

Nearby there are a few Tavernas / bars on the main old Chania Rd - more so down
towards Tavronitis centre. Surprisingly there is little down by the (pebbly) beach.
Saw one Taverna while driving past but didn't visit it or the beach.

Our room was clean and an adequate size for the two of us. The bathroom had a hand
shower not wall mounted - the floor gets wet. A/C was excellent. Balcony was an
uninspiring concreted area with a side view of the main pool. There is a old fashioned
TV but no English speaking channels and so no HDMI inputs for tablets so that
you could play your own movies/music.

Reception closes at 9:00pm (I think) and as we arrived later they left our room key
in a named envelope on the front desk. There is reasonable wireless internet in the
bar area - even managed to stream Monday night football on Sky. However, couldn't get
a connection from our room.

Fantastic mountain scenery nearby and trips to the outstanding beaches of Elafonisi
and Phalasarna are a must. Also even if you don't do the Samaria Gorge trek, a trip
to the National Park via Omalos offers wonderful views - especially those back down
to the northern coastline.

Would I go again? To Crete certainly - lots more to see and do there but I wouldn't
stay in Tavronitis or at the Adalais again - not necessarily a criticism - mainly
because I always like to go somewhere different. So much World - so little time..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cats_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here first two weeks in June 2012,2 adults and 3 daughters,aged 5,6 & 7.
This is an excellent hotel if you have young children,BUT you definitely need a car,unless you are happy to be confined to a very quiet hotel and surrounding area.
As other people have said,the bar closes all inclusive at 10.30,but to be honest you are probably as good off getting your own bottle of spirit and drinking that,as the drinks are very weak and poor quality.
We all found the food to be excellent,if a little repetative,but this is to be expected for a 2 week holiday.
All in all I would recommend this hotel if you are a family with young children or are just looking for a relaxing peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShadesVFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We went 4/8august 6 adults 1child1baby 3 rooms rooms very good pool brilliant for baby, food ok not great but you won't starve. The barmen all egyptian 10 30 they shut all inclusive and you can't double up they frown at this but you can buy from bar till 11 30 or until they want to go home they work long hours.and this affects their moods somedays.no entertaiment but we made our own we had a hire minibus and was glad we had we ventured a bit further afield. Tavronits has a few shops but it is really quiet depends what you want too quite for us.would I go back here? No

Room Tip: Room 203 very nice overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparksy171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavronitis
0.8 mi away
Chrispy World
Chrispy World
#5 of 13 in Kolymbari
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Rose
Golden Rose
#3 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lycasti Maisonettes
Lycasti Maisonettes
#2 of 3 in Tavronitis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chryssana Beach Hotel
Chryssana Beach Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kolymbari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adelais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adelais

Property: Hotel Adelais
Address: Tavronitis, Crete 730 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Tavronitis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tavronitis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adelais 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Adelais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Adelais Chania/Tavronitis, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing