We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The hotel has a lot of amenities but i think that it should be much cheaper for all the things that offer.nice,big pool and breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leonidas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 317 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife, me and our 3 teenaged kids stayed in this hotel for 5 nice days. This hill-situated hotel is very clean. There are lots of plants and flowers around.The hotel is a bit old, but the rooms are clean and spasious.
As for heard and spoken languages, most guests come from Sweden, Germany, Russia and Poland. Many families like us came with their kids.
The hotel staff is really very friendly and helpful: both in the reception (especially Michalis and Christina), and in the restaurant, and at the pool bars, and also Swedish-Slovakian animators.
At the reception you can reserve table for Chinese dinner. Our family likes Chinese and went for it, but frankly saying, it was disapponting - less than ordinary... We couldn't understand that, because all hotel meals are good, fresh and tasty.
Leisure: if you have children of 10 years old, you must consider, how your offsprings use their time, because there are not much activities for this age.
We liked our stay very much and had great time. As for our negative notes, it is well meaning, and I am thankful to hotel stuff for everything. Even the hotel bracelets we took off not after check-out, but after landing at home.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RishonLeZion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here for one week AI, equidistant between Chania and Heraklion so it's at least an hour even by taxi and the hotel is a 20 minute bus ride from Rethymno (although bus service is frequent, cheap and reliable) but that's almost the only negative. Hotel itself is lovely, clean and very well designed so no room is too far from anything, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was 2 bedroomed each with a TV and more importantly each with its own air conditioning unit and remote control, the beds were a little hard though The main pool with the entertainment is a decent size and there are plenty of sunbeds, the pool bars open at 10am (you can even get cocktails at that time) the animation team based there were very good and the range of activities varied each day although the nightly disco was very loud and went on beyond 11pm (and that's late if you have small children...).
The food in the main restaurant was fine, quite a bit of variety and ideal for kids. We, on our last night, tried the Chinese restaurant but the food was truly appalling, so bad that we just had a great night laughing as each course arrived even worse than the previous one.
There is a well-stocked shop that is surprisingly cheap particularly the bottled water.
The beach is only a 3 or 4 minute walk fom the hotel, reached via a subway under the busy road that fronts the hotel, it has about 20 sunbeds and is manned by a lifeguard, the beach is less than 10m from the back to the sea.
There was a broad range of nationalities and not too many other Brits.
Rethymno town is well worth a visit, the fort is impressive and the myriad of narrow back-streets are incredible pretty.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Big_Rich_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Had an all inclusive stay in this hotel for one week in August. Check-in was efficient and friendly. The hotel is built on a hillside and the layout was a little complex, in fact I had trouble finding my room.on the first day. This layout although complex I found a positive factor in the enjoyment of my stay. 2 decent sized pools with plenty of sunbeds and parasols one at the top and one at the bottom both with bars. The entertainment and therefore most of the children are at the top pool leaving the bottom pool much quieter. There are 2 very smart bars on different levels with terraces overlooking the sea. The buffet restaurant was the usual all inc. set-up and an acceptable standard for a buffet, the staff were very efficient especially at removing your plate within seconds of your last mouthful. We stayed in room 220 which was a decent size and I imagine the same as other rooms, the en-suite was modern with glass walls and glass basin and looked at odds with the traditional furniture in the room. The beds were very firm I unusually slept well but my wife complained of backache. There is not much to walk to from the hotel the beach is 5mins away and there are a few taverna's and a couple of supermarkets by the beach but overall most people should enjoy there stay here. There are a lot of stairs at the hotel and although there is a small lift I'm not sure wether a wheelchair could access all areas.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dears99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Been here 14-17 May with my wife, part of a 40 people group. Pretty nice hotel, nice garden, a lot of flowers, 3 outdoor pools. The complex consists of a lot of 2 stores buildings (couldn't count them). In the first night we were accomodated in a room close to the reception and it was very noisy. We requested another one, quieter and the next day we moved. The rooms were clean, the first one quite big (i think was a superior room) with one king-size bed and a smaller one. Also in the first room we were accomodated there was a sofa. LCD TV with Greek, German, Russian and English channels, AC, small fridge, safe. The furniture was old but in good condition. The bathroom was the weak point. Dirty, dirty, dirty!!! Small bath tub with a dirty shower, dirty toilet bowl (they only clean the toilet seat), dirty mirror, sink etc. Food selection was ok. We are not very picky. Anyway, not as good as the food served in traditional local taverns.
The hotel has a small beach but to reach it you have to cross a street. The beach is sandy but although we did not stayed there I could see a lot of rocks in the water.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicu-Bucuresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Having used Trip Advisor many times but never actually contributed I thought now was the time to do my bit.
This hotel is nothing like its name suggests. It is dingy,grubby, non too clean, everything in it is old and well used. Needs a complete face lift. It is situated next to and sideways on to the Crete national road which is extremely busy and noisy.
Rooms are very well used, threadbare carpets, rust on bath, litter and pills under the bed, grubby well worn towels, unpressed and we think unchanged bed linen. Stained and old bed mattress.
We did not unpack and had only one breakfast which was below standard to say the least, pre cooked lukewarm food, dead flies in the jam and more.
On trying to leave the hotel after breakfast we were told that we would have to pay for 4 nights stay (the rules of booking with hotels4u.com). Scandalous to say the least, does this mean internet booking sites can send clients to anything and still be paid for 4 days stay? Something needs to be done about this.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank englandworldrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

My partner and I along with four young teenagers were placed in this Hotel by chance as The one we were supposed to stay in had closed for the season. We were given the rooms directly by the pool which was great for the children. The rooms were extremly spacious and cleaned every day. we found the dining room staff very friendly and always helpful and the same go's for the bar staff. The food was plentiful with plenty of choice and as we were all inclusive the waistline took quite a hammering. The location was quite with not much close by but that was great for us as all we wanted was a break away from the rat race. We hired a car from the airport so we had the option of going out if we wanted to. Overall a very nice week and would definatly go back there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0 mi away
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
#2 of 8 in Skaleta
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
313 reviews
41.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 177 in Rethymnon
1,230 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,343 reviews
63.6 mi away
SENTIDO Vasia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel

Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range: $130 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Scaleta, just 11 km away from Rethymnon. Guests will find themselves surrounded by the charming village, where restaurants, taverns, bars and shops are just waiting to be discovered. The hotel offers an excellent setting from which to explore the attractions that the area has to offer. This wonderful resort hotel beautifully combines Greek and modern styles in its design. Set amidst 35,000 m² of land, the hotel offers guests the ideal setting in which to revel in the sheer, natural beauty of the area. The hotel comprises exquisitely-appointed guest rooms, which feature refreshing tones. The hotel offers a seemingly boundless array of exemplary facilities, ensuring that each and every traveller enjoys a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymno Mare Royal Rethymnon
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing