We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Tallinn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I had my incredible holiday on the last week of June and stayed in the hotel Rethymno Mare on Crete))) I've been to many countries and stayed in very many hotels but I can say that this one was really special and amazing in every way!!!
I had a room with fantastic sea-view and every morning when I woke up I could look at the warm and nice BLUUUUEEE sea where I swam some hours later))))))))))
I liked the food at the restaurant very much, and the most pleasant surprise was that there is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel. And I like the Chinese food very much - there it was also VERY goood)))
Meeting the stuff I found them to be very nice and friendly people who really know how to do their job))))
There are also two large swimming pools in the hotel and two pools for kind, so it is a good place where you can go with the whole family!! When I have my own children I will for certain bring them here)))))))))))))))
So I can say what RETHYMNO MARE hotel is really VERY good place to stay in on CRETE)))))))

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    155
    47
    20
    7
See reviews for
191
139
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I am just back from fabulous holidays, its the second time that i visit this hotel and i could say it was much better than the first time.
Big swimming pools, sea is quite and only 100-150m away.
Service was great, variety of food (dont miss the Chinese restaurant as it is included on the package), management did everything to have a great holidays. My kid really loved the kids animation with the mini disco & mini club....

For sure we will be back. Thank you all....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sunshine189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackcountry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This is a very good hotel as long as you check and understand the layout. It is bulit into a hillside so there are stairs, but there are also lifts. We were lucky reading some of the other reports on check in the consierge took us to the room and showed us the dining room and the lifts. There are two hotels in on the site but they are run as one although one is supposed to be 5* and the other 4* the facilities are the same for all. With kids use the upper pool where there is the animation guy and for a quiet time use the lower pool. Same with the bars use the upper bar for noise animation guy again or the lower bar by reception for the quiet time. Note with the bars if you are all inclusive they close for free drinks at 11pm and become very slow at serving from 10.30. each pool has its own bar but on the lower one the snacks are restricted. There is another restaurant on site by the lower bar which is a chinese. You have to book this at reception if all incl this is still free. PLEASE do not bother it is one of the worst meals I have had and the srvice was awful just one waiter for all. There is an underpass to the beach do not cross the road it is too dangerous the beach is clean and sandy. If you go into the town use the bus GET your tickets from the on site shop the bus drivers get very upset if you try to give them money. Good market in Rethymnon on the thusday you can get off the bus opposite it. When comiong back on the bus always go to the bus station to ensure you can get on. Nice place for a relaxing holiday. there are no bars outside the hotel that are very near or anything else for that matter. It is 12k to the town bus 3euros PP return

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeGBlackcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We had a great holidaythis August for 10 days
Room was good with the exception of the jacusi bath which leaked so after each use had to mop floor with towels
The room was very good and I would guess had been recently updated
Staff were very good and friendly
Food was good with fresh cooked food every morning and most nights as well as the usual buffet but like all hotels after 10 days became a bit samey
Kids club for the young was very good pool area was excelent my personal favorite was watching the young lady who lead the water aerobics every morning!
There was a regular bus service into town but the only bad point was that there was nowewre to walk of an evening.Beach was close and sea was great.
Entertainment on night was run by the animation team so ok but not great
Good mix of nationalities when we were there which I like
Loads of room around the pool plenty of sunbeds
To sum up great place for a family holiday but not great on a night still recomended
.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkieWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

This was perhaps one of the worst hotels I've been to, when I compare the price and what we got for it. Although it officially offers all-inclusive, have in mind that it is Greek, and not (for instance) a Turkish all-inclusive. This means that the food is pretty much the same and not so varied; that the staff can be quite arrogant; that you have to walk to the beach across a road; that the area actually looks like a desert; that the evening programs weren't always held in the amphitheatre, but on a flat surface near the bar... All in all, like I said, not worth the money.

In case that someone was staying in the hotel in July 2008, please send me a message, or search "Rethymno Mare July 2008" on Facebook or YouTube.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MladenTrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stourbridge
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

What an excellent hotel.We had never experianced an all inclusive package before,the holiday exceeded our expectations in every way.The food was of an exceptional standard and plentiful offering a vaired choice of Fish / Meat / Veg / Salad each day (first class).Accomodation was clean confortable and the staff very friendly.Would recommend a visit

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leddersdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have only good things to say about the hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to help. Our room was clean and spacious although our six feet seven teenage son was not happy with his standard bunk bed. The food and service was excellent and although it was repetetive, there was plenty of choice to suit everyone's taste. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds for all the guests. The animation team provided excellent entertainment for all the family during the day and evening. My only criticism was that due to the location of the hotel, we spent most evenings in the hotel and it was annoying that some of the family entertainment took place in the amphitheatre where there was no bar. The nearest bar closed at 6 p.m. so if you wanted a drink you had to bring them from the bar below either in the lift or up 3 flights of stairs. The pool bar should really have closed at 7 p.m. as the pool was still fairly busy at that time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.1 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
4.0 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 164 in Rethymnon
857 reviews
41.1 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
43.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rethymnon Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Property: Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing