We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, friendly hotel suitable for all ages wanting fun or to relax.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, friendly hotel suitable for all ages wanting fun or to relax.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have only good things to say about the hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly and could not do enough to help. Our room was clean and spacious although our six feet seven teenage son was not happy with his standard bunk bed. The food and service was excellent and although it was repetetive, there was plenty of choice to suit everyone's taste. The pool area was clean and there were plenty of sunbeds for all the guests. The animation team provided excellent entertainment for all the family during the day and evening. My only criticism was that due to the location of the hotel, we spent most evenings in the hotel and it was annoying that some of the family entertainment took place in the amphitheatre where there was no bar. The nearest bar closed at 6 p.m. so if you wanted a drink you had to bring them from the bar below either in the lift or up 3 flights of stairs. The pool bar should really have closed at 7 p.m. as the pool was still fairly busy at that time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosieDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    146
    46
    20
    7
See reviews for
181
132
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

We arrived at the Hotel in Crete at about 6am and found that the “suite” in a 4.5 star hotel we had paid for was actually a 3 star triple room with a 2 star bathroom in a 3 Star Motel-like accommodation.

The morning light revealed the “sea view” (costing extra) was a little less than we had hoped for. Not only that, but the only window into the room was a large patio door, not too bad until you find you’re on the ground floor next to the path to several other rooms and your entire room (and you) are on view to all who pass.
Not wishing to feel like goldfish in a bowl we kept the curtains closed the whole time we were in the room (which given the area and weather was more than normal). So much for the “sea view”!

There was no “welcome” meeting and no holiday rep visited the hotel unless you rang them.

There was a kettle and two cups but no milk, coffee or tea sachets. The kettle had a dodgy cut-out and spewed boiling water everywhere we used it. After that we had to watch it boil, then quickly pull the plug out.
Two tiny soap bars were there, but never got replaced when we’d used them up.
The room was not vacuumed the whole time we were there. The only cleaning of the carpet was by ants who took away some biscuit crumbs I’d dropped.

The cleaning staff sometime took covers off the bed and put on the settee even when we’d made the bed. Other times they didn’t. A dead insect on the bathroom floor was there for 2 weeks, a sign they didn’t clean the floor in there either.

These are not major issues and we would expect things like this in a 3 star hotel, which is what it really was. However we had paid extra for the accommodation advertised as 4.5 star, so we felt a bit ripped off.

The hotel seemed to be split in to two sides with a restaurant and bar for each one. We could visit either bar (just as well, our bar was dead) but we were not allowed in the other restaurant. I suspect they served the same buffet meal every night that ours did. As we had paid only for B&B the evening meal was about £14 each if we went in there. The idea was to mainly eat out in the local “lively” tavarnas advertised by the holiday company as being nearby the hotel.

The “strip of lively tavarnas” turned out to be more of a ghost town, after passing under the busy main road right next to the hotel, a 300 yard walk on a poorly maintained and badly lit road we found shops and tavarnas that had been closed for years and fallen into disrepair. One was burnt down and the whole area had the look and feel of a place that was on its last legs.

The two that there were left were anything but “lively” and often we were their only customers.
Not that that gave us better service, we often had to walk from our table to interrupt the staff watching their TV just to get served.

The local “mini-market” was poorly stocked and very obviously running down for the end of season

The thin strip of beach was largely deserted and devoid of all but a few tatty beach chairs and parasols. At least there were no attendants, so they were free.

The nearest town, Rethymno, was about 14 miles away; a 10 minute walk from the hotel was a bus stop where every 20 minutes buses departed on the 40 minute trip to town. The price was about £1.20 each way and we used them several times.

Halfway though the holiday one of the hotel bars (the better one) and one hotel restaurant closed. Also the better of the two tavarnas down the road closed.

It also became apparent the Greek air force favoured the area for low level training in their fast (and noisy) jet fighters.

The one saving grace of the hotel was the staff who very friendly and helpful

This review, might seem hash but given the price we paid and the inaccuracy of the holiday brochure, it fell well below our expectations. This was a late season booking and a certain amount of poor weather was to be expected.

More photos can be seen at: http://www.faedfiles.com/crete2008/

  • Liked — Decent sized room
  • Disliked — On-suite bathroom was very poor
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jethou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skåne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

We just got back from our hotel Rethymno Mare . And all we have too say is that it was great! We simply loved it. The guys in the animation team were of course the best and the food was great and the hospitality were also so wonderful. So i have only good things too tell about this hotel.

Well if i must write something negative about this place it must be all all the stairs, but since everything else was so great then we werent bothered so much by them.

But as i wrote before the animation team gets a lot of credit. I have 2 girls aged 10 and 11 and they had so much fun. So this is a very children friendly place!

And everyone who work there is also very friendly.

So we will come back there for sure..:)

thanks again rethymno mare for this great experience!

  • Liked — That everyone was so friendly and we loved the animation team guys. Paulo, Demitri, Alan and Angelo. And the food was great.
  • Disliked — All the stairs.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsKARIN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Rethymno Mare.
This hotel is very clean and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived, We had read the reviews before we left and was worried that the sfaff were going to be unhelpful and unfriendly - this was not the case!!
We have 2 teenage children who really enjoyed the holiday. They made lots of friends and thoroughly enjoyed participating in all the activities that were arranged by the animation team. They were great and really took the time to try and get to know the guests and get them to join in but they weren't pushy so don't worry if thats not your thing.
The room was clean and had a doube bed and bunk beds for the kids and the maids came in every day to make the beds, etc.This hotel would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties as there are many steps as it is on a hillside.
The food was great, plenty of choice apart from the desserts, there was only 2 or 3 to choose from. Also the only fruit they served was melon, there could have been a bit more choice in that department.
The hotel isn't based in Rethymnon, it is about 3/4 hour on the bus at 1.50 euros per person or about 10 mins in a taxi for 13 euros.
We really enjoyed our holiday in Rethymno Mare and would definately recommend it.
We would like to thank Angelo, Alan, Paulo and Demitri, The animation team. You were great!!

  • Liked — Animation
  • Disliked — the stairs!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank missmelly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

I have been to Crete many times and this is the best hotel I have been to to date. The staff throughout are friendly and helpful and the service is great. The reception staff spoke many languages and were very knowledgeable they even provided me with an iron on request.

The grounds of the hotel are attractive with some breathtaking views of the sea and gardens, it is very clean and considering it's the high season, we didn't notice the bustle of other guests around us, except by the pool. The pools were great, having a shallow kids pool next to the big pool meant I didn't have to watch my son constantly and as the sea was pretty rough we stuck to pool. There were daily activities for the kids although not much variety, the animation team did make the effort to get know everyone.

Our room was modern and spacious and the Jacuzzi was an added treat, the TV had a kids channel albeit in German. The only drawback was some of the food which did have that massed produced sameness air about it and limited deserts. Although breakfast was good and there was always something for the kids. Apart from the Germans and sunbeds stuff, we had a really great time there.

Oh and just a note to anyone expecting to be in Rethymno it is actually a half hour bus ride/13 Euro cab ride, which was a surprise to some of the other guests. Although I think it's nice to be a further away at this time of year if it's a family holiday.

  • Liked — The Service From all staff
  • Disliked — Food became boring
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

The best of the hotel is its staff. Very kind and service orented staff. The pool bar staff Nicos is the best of all. He is admired abd apriciated by all gusstes I spoke with. The reception staff are very friendly. The restaurang staff are greate.
The food is worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NunuSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

Just returned from a pleasant week at the Rethymnon Mare Hotel. The hotel is nice and clean and the rooms that we were allocated were fine too (ground floor with a small lawn in front, very near to the main building and restaurants - more on this later).

The food is enjoyable although I felt that the desert selection was rather limited, with no more than 3 to choose from (I guess we were spoilt last year in Turkey where there were usually about 10...). And a note to the owners, having only 3 child seats for a hotel that size is crazy - there were always parents hunting for a baby chair. Fortunately we already had them (2 small kids in our party of 4 adults and 3 children).

The staff were great and helpful although in hindsight we would not go so early in the season as the upper pool bar was not open yet so that meant a trek down to the main pool/bar to get our inclusive drinks - or buying from the mini market. Temps were in the early 20's so not quite hot enough to make you want to jump in the pool.

The hotel is a short 200m walk to the beach and sadly the hotel does not own most of the ground between it and the beach. There is a road between the hotel and the beach although noise is not intrusive, particularly at the upper pool. The one plot looks like a building yard and that somewhat spoils the approach to the beach. A short walk down the beach brings you to more placid waters with less pebbles in the water and nicer bathing. Nice for snorkeling too but it is the med so don't expect millions of different fish species.

I would not recommend this hotel to those with very young kids (ours is 22 months old) as the children's playground is on the upper pool level (the hotel is on the hillside and the difference in elevation is quite large, at least 100 steps or so and no lift). On the plus side it is a bit of exercise to burn off all those extra calories. Also the children's play area, to put it bluntly is simply not anywhere near the standard of the rest of the hotel - it is poor. If you don't like swimming there is not really a lot else to do.

Overall a nice hotel with nice rooms and good food. Would I go again? Probably not.

  • Liked — Small almost private lawn in front of room.
  • Disliked — The renovation work going on upstairs - a little bit of noise but not terrible.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hoodlum1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
8.0 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
4.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
48.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
30.9 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rethymnon Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Property: Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing