We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked this holiday through Olympic Holidays. After a last minute flight change by the tour operator we arrived late at night (no food left out for us sadly) and our holiday began. At first we weren't very impressed especially after reading many reviews about food being left in your room no matter how late you arrived. So sadly the first night we went to bed hungry and tired. In the morning however the full beauty of the place revealed itself and in a better frame of mind we realised that we had chosen a lovely hotel. To be fair to the staff they seemed a little surprised when we arrived so assume that the tour operator hadn't told them of the last minute changes. The hotel covers quite an area and is more like a small village with two/three storey accommodation dotted around. We were at the top of a very steep slope overlooking the outdoor entertainment area and a beautiful view of the sea. So first tip if you have trouble walking make sure you tell your booking agent. We booked the all inclusive option and wasn't disappointed. With two fussy teenagers and myself a vegetarian we still found plenty to eat and have to say the cakes/desserts are really too nice. The location of the hotel is a little bit of a distance from anywhere so we hired a car. We also took the bus trip into Rethymnon (you can purchase your tickets in the shop on site) and the bus stop is only across the road from the hotel. All in all we had a lovely time thanks to all the staff at the hotel who work really hard, are very friendly and keep the hotel clean and tidy. Also have to mention the Animation Team who manage to entertain all ages and always look happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alsoknownasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for choosing Crete and Rethymno Mare Hotel for your vacation.
We hope that you had a pleasant trip home.
We are pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your stay.We are certainly sorry to read that you went in your room tired and hungry.It is inconsistent with the Cretan hospitality.
We always keep meals till 01.00h for late arrivals.
Many guests have praised us about it in many reviews.We suppose that you arrived later than 01.00h
The night receptionist is always willing to help every guest. With pleasure he would have offered you something light for dinner,if he knew that you were hungry.
Please accept our sincer apologies.
If you come next time,please iet us know,in order to treat you as a repeater guest.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    162
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
203
145
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Thank you to everyone at the Mare for one of the best holidays we have enjoyed as a family. The food was really good and I found plenty to eat which sometimes is difficult as I cannot eat gluten. The animation team were fantastic, there were only 4 of them but they really made our holiday. Leo with his stretching/yoga/aquagym to start the day then Kirial (sorry about the spelling) who was water polo and beach volleyball leader, to George who organised pistol shooting, archery,pétanque Etc. I must say that we did them all every day including the club dance at the end of morning and afternoon sessions. I cannot remember the name of the lady animator as she looked after the little ones, our youngest was 13 years old but my 18 year old and 17 year old children talked to her and said she was lovely too. There were hardly any British here which we loved as we made lots of friends (through the sports) mainly with French who even came to see us off when we left!
The hotel grounds are lovely and the whole place was spotless. Special thanks to Denisa who worked so hard and must have long hours as she was always there in the Royal restaurant which we could use as we were given gold wrist bands, which we were so grateful for as this meant we could stay in the bar for an extra hour and use the Royal restaurant for breakfast and dinner. I think the food was the same but it was outdoors so was a bit special. Coming back to the bars they are all so lovely overlooking the sea. We are not big drinkers at all in fact my husband does not drink alcohol but being able to have that last drink or hot chocolate just before midnight was lovely. The gold band also allows you to use another pool which is lovely and quiet, but we preferred the main pool for the animation. The hotel can arrange trips for you which looked good value, but our teenagers and us were having too much fun so to leave the hotel was not a priority. We did take the public bus to Rethymno on morning and had lunch overlooking the harbour, which was nice but we could not wait to get back to the hotel. We arrived late from the airport on our day of arrival and the hotel had set aside plates of meat cheese salad and bread for us which we were so grateful for. We would love to return to this hotel next year, but it seems fully booked already through the tour operators we have tried so far. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is not a pretentious 5 star hotel so on first impression some guests thought it a bit small, but after their first day I heard no complaints at all, which was again lovely as miserable people can spoil a holiday. Special thanks to the Chinese chef and staff, booked twice and both times had a geat meal. The evening animation programme is good fun, but as there were only 4 of them they did not put on a show but did entertain us.



We

Room Tip: 320 and 321 were the best for us as right next to the pool but balcony gave us a sea view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for coming to Crete and in Rethymno Mare Hotel.
We hope that that you had a pleasant trip home.
We are very happy to read that you and especially your children really enjoyed your holiday and that you are looking forward coming next year again.
Thank you very much for making Rethymno Mare the hotel of your choise and for sharing your experiences with other travels.
It will be a pleasure to wellcome and treat you as repeater guests.
Best regards
Yours sincerely
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were in July 2013 in this hotel. Everything was working so good. Our friends asked different room with different view and it was done. Staff in restaurants, reception, cleaning, programming and every person there was so nice and helpful. It felt like home almost. :) I would like to go there again. Hotel area is really large and if you dont want to climb much stairs you can ask room lower. There is so many layers those rooms in mountain. :) sunset is really beautiful and sea is really near. You can go by bus to the rethymnon. You need to have money because every place dont use credit cards. One shop near hotel is taking credit card. Everyone who wants to relax is happy in here. There is also many kind of program, zumba, stretching, dancing, pump, discos for children, questionnares, etc..twice in week you can go eat chinese if you have allinclusive. That chinese food was so good and i have lived in China 5 months. :) Our room was quite high 609 but it was cool and nice and view was great.

Room Tip: You could ask any kind of room because there is views with sea, mountain, hotel..some rooms are more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarppaliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manolis T, Διευθυντής at Hotel Rethymnon Mare, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Sarppalini
Thank you for coming to Rethymno and in Rethymno Mare Hotel.
We hope that you had a smooth trip home .
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and we highly appreciate for sharing your thoughts with other travels.
For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again next year.
Best sunny regards
Rethymno Mare Hotelmanagement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Having just arrived home from a fantastic stay at Rethymno mare hotel, I have to say that this I highly recommended by us. We arrived in early hours to be greeted by a friendly reception man, who took our luggage, and booked us in speedily, then offered a light meal and refreshments which we're freshly prepared. The complex is built on a hillside as we were at the top of the hotel it is very steep with 97 staged steps to climb, but there are paved access roads around the complex, which we found easier to navigate. The views are fantastic from anywhere in the hotel. Swimming pools are very clean and not too deep, with plenty of sunbeds available even at high season, the restaurant is well run with a choice of tables either inside or out, with helpful waiting staff, the food choice was very good with hot and cold dishes , we even managed to satisfy a 16 year old. Poolside entertainment by the animation team was very good with water sports and exercise and other sports inc volleyball and airgun shooting to archery. The evening entertainment was very good too with dancing and quizzes, and usually finished by 11am ,so no loud music until all hours unless you wanted a disco which was sited away from rooms and public areas. The hotel is a multi national one with plenty of French and Russians and Swedish holidaying, but as everything is in English there's no language barriers. There's a good shop on site, but there's also some good shops on the road to Rethymno, There's a regular bus service to main towns, although it gets busy its very efficient. The hotel is very clean with maid service every day to make up your room, with well maintained beautiful green gardens. The local beach is clean with shallow warm seas and sunbeds, its very narrow with loads of seaweed but still popular. The weather was fantastic 32+ degrees everyday, we all enjoyed our stay and would go back for another stay FANTASTIC.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glennwoody48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was the perfect honeymoon for us. The staff and people were absolutely perfect, so hospitable and really friendly and ensured we we're going to had a great time. Giannis greeted us in the early hours of Wednesday morning and although the hotel was locked up he got us food and wine and then carried our suit cases to the room while we got the lift. So lovely. Our room was great huge for just the 2 of us with a sea view. We had champagne, fruit bathrobes slippers and baseball caps as a honeymoon gift on our 2nd day. We were not expecting that. Christina was so lovely we know that she arranged this and was so helpful with information on local trips. Nikos and Giannis we're our favourite bar tenders we really enjoyed their company and knowledge and passion for there job and there country. The food was amazing, really high standards, local cuisine and everyday was different. Every evening there was cooked buffet food as well as fresh BBQ'd food. In the morning for breakfast there was always fresh pancakes being made as well as a cooked breakfast and continental.

We we're All Inclusive and he times for food was perfectly spread out and if you went on a trip they would do you a packed lunch, although on ne occasion they forget we asked but with everything else so perfect we didn't mind.

Some amazing Sunsets in the evening, breath taking.

The beach was a stones throw away....a little disappointing the rocks in the shallow end of the sea haven't been scraped away. About 10 feet of the shallow seafront you have to be so careful not to hurt your feet. Once you get past that bit the sea is lovely. Beach wasn't bad but when we went diving near Chania! Well we wished we'd found that beach a lot sooner. That was definitely a paradise beach, but you'd need to hire a car to get there.

We took a tour to Knosos, from 8am to 7pm - really long but worth your money. Got to go in the caves where Zeus was born and saw local pottery being made, went really far in the mountains the only fertile green flat land between the mountains where crops grow and farming takes place.

As it was early season, we didn't really get to experience the local shows and folk knights which we were really looking forward to the most, but this is a place that I know we will visit time and time again, we loved it. Thank you to everyone and Rethymno Mare you are our friends Xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Modra-Mora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel!!!everyone was polite and friendly, rooms were big and clean, food excellent quality and taste, clean and beautiful swimming pools with fantastic view to the greek sea !!!
Congratulations to the staff
Definately we'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoraMano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with very nice staff, even though the hotel was a "russian paradise". A BIG minus for that. The beach wasn't really good but the pool area was really good. The "big boss" was really mean to the staff and they argued very often. On the evenings there was a DJ ( go super alex !! ) playing music which made our evenings a lot better. The food was really good and sun was always shining!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.0 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
300 reviews
3.5 mi away
Rethymno Palace
Rethymno Palace
#2 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,189 reviews
3.7 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
44.0 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rethymnon Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rethymnon Mare

Property: Hotel Rethymnon Mare
Address: Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rethymnon Mare 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located in Scaleta,just 11 km away from Rethymnon. Guests will find themselves surrounded by the charming village, where restaurants, taverns, bars and shops are just waiting to be discovered. The hotel offers an excellent setting from which to explore the attractions that the area has to offer. This wonderful resort hotel beautifully combines Greek and modern styles in its design. Set amidst 35,000 m² of land, the hotel offers guests the ideal setting in which to revel in the sheer, natural beauty of the area. The hotel comprises exquisitely-appointed guest rooms, which feature refreshing tones. The hotel offers a seemingly boundless array of exemplary facilities, ensuring that each and every traveller enjoys a truly memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rethymnon Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rethymnon Mare Hotel
Mare Hotel Rethymnon
Rethymnon Hotel Mare
Hotel Rethymnon Mare Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing