We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel. dont worry you'll love it.”
Review of Creta Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Creta Star Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The good reviews are all correct. This is a decent 4 star ish hotel, with excellent food and excellent service.
The hotel is clean, clean rooms, bedding changed several times during the week, towels changed daily, though you couldnt take towels out of the room you could borrow a beach towel from the hotel at a kiosk near the beach. The previous guys posting about the smell is partly correct, id say musty rather than sewage, but it wasnt that bad. At night in a certain small section of garden there was a strong smell of Sulphor Dioxide ..rotten eggs...but it wasnt a problem..long way from hotel rooms.
We broke the shower when we arrived and told reception, maintainance guy was up within minutes to fix it.
animation team are amazing and work really hard, and are not too pushy at trying to get you to join in...lots to do during the day if your up for it.
Food was incredible. very very good choice of a wide range of foods. fresh cooked pizza every night as well as local delicacies, BBQ one night, loads of fresh meat, fish and vegetables..enough to keep even fussy eaters happy...we were there a week and there was no repetition...help yourself to beer and wine and soft drinks. the wine wasnt that good, but the beer was very drinkable...
ice cream available all day for the kids at no extra cost. excellent selection of drinks from the bars, never any queing, though must say not all of the drinks were listed on the menue, for example sparkling white wine wasnt listed but was available...so my advice is to ask at the bar anything you want and see if its there! rather than just look at the drinks menu..cocktails looked interesting if you knew what you were ordering but im not keen on sweet drinks so stuck to bourbon with sprite at most exotic! :)
Decor in the bars was ok..
We arrived late at 11.15pm, and the hotel had put food out for us, which was nice, as dinner finishes at 10pm.
pool is huge, the big pool outside is salt water, as are most in crete, but the indoor pool is freshwater...sunbeds were all taken before 6am by our European cousins..ahem..
Hotel is RIGHT on a small beach. the beach is about half a mile long, but only about 12 feet deep before the sea which rolls out over a rocky shore. good for snorkling but take swim shoes as i saw some sea urchins in cracks in the rocks.
The only (arguably) bad point about this hotel is its location. it is a 50 min bus journey away from rethymnon...tickets cost €1.50 each way from the hotel shop. buy return tickets rather than try to find a shop in rethymnon selling tickets! we asked where the return bus stop is before setting off as its not obvious. its worth a visit to rethymnon though as its a nice town. most people should be aware of the hotels location, so they really have no right to criticise it in a review, basically when you book a hotel you look where it is and if its not where you want to be dont go! This was fine for us as we dont mind being flung out a bit...we hired a car from the hotel for €70 for 2 days to see more of the island...driving felt safe, though no one seemed to stick to the speed limits!

finally, if youve booked it dont worry, if your thinking of booking it, you should be ok if your fairly easy going and are not expecting 5* luxury, but are realistic in expecting a relaxing holiday in an averagely decent hotel with fantastic food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northpawblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Creta Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 557 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

We recently stayed at the Creta Star hotel in Crete Rethymno. The hotel has been classifed as a 4 star. All as I can say is this must have been for the food and the entertainment team.

The catering and standard of food was excellent and the entertainment team were also excellent. There ends the positive points. The hotel was dated and old fashioned like a concrete junglee from the late 70's, the rooms were clean and tidy but definately needed an overhaul. The beds were not particularly comfortable either.

The pool was sea water and again old fashioned and plenty of concrete. although it was clean.

The 2 main faults of the hotel firstly it is miles away from the main resort with nothing in between. The second unless you were eating where the smell of food was excellent. The remainder of the hotel constantly smelt of sewage not particulary nice on a relaxing break. It smelt outside of your room by the pool in the bar. Terrible.

My suggestion for anybody going here excellent food not bad overall holiday. Take a peg for your nose.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank andywhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

it is avery good hotel with excellent service,food and room cleaning. we will come again

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannovertable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We travelled with my Son who is 10 years old. We all had a fab time.
You did have to be up fairly early to get a decent sunbed as Brits are in the minority at this hotel. The pools were never overcrowded as the hotel is right on the beach.
The animation team are excellent and work extremely hard, but some of the evening entertainment was cheesy. My Son loved it though.
The food was nice and there was a good choice. We didn't have to queue al all, which made nice change from previous all inclusive hotels I have stayed in.
Make sure you take enough sun cream - we did , but I noticed factor 50 for kids was 27 euros!
I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HezHez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Travelled with my wife and 7 year old daughter.
Overall we had a nice time, but there were several serious issues with the hotel and with the trips arranged by the rep that badly impacted the overall enjoyment of the holiday.
Firstly the pools, yes I knew the main pool was salt water before I went, and I was aware that the indoor pool was fresh water but substantially smaller. What I was not aware of was that both pools shelve rapidly and are largely far too deep for a weak swimmer like my daughter. The fresh water pool more so even than the larger outdoor pool. The fresh water pool is roughly 5m x 10m but only the first 2m of the 10m length is within a depth range my daughter could stand in, and for younger children none of it would be.
The outdoor pool has one section which is ok for kids but this again rapidly shelves to deeper water. The result was that we had to keep a very keen watch on our daughter whenever in the water, and we had to do that because there appears to be no lifeguard in the pools and for the indoor pool frequently no supervision of children either.
The beach was better and there are some areas where a rocky shelf leaves a shallow 20-30cm deep tidal pool which the sea continually washes into. In calm or moderate contitions this is good for the kids to play in. The sea also shelves gently in some places, but more rapidly in others. Unfortunately the beach near the hotel is a narrow strip and from what I was told while there it has been erroding over recent years and is getting narrower.
Facilities on the beach are limited if you are into water sports, and only available between around 11 and 3, and then only if the guy is around. Effectively you can get pedalos or kayaks for a limited time, if the water is fairly calm, and bigger IF the guy is not off collecting hire charges for the sunbeds.
As a Brit it is likely to be difficult to get a sunbed anywhere near the pools so occassionally taking the pay route on the beach is a viable option. Don't forget Germany/Poland/Russia are 2/3/4 hours ahead of brittish summer time, so they are most likely to be up well before you in the morning and the sunbeds near the pool will all have towels on before breakfast. That wasn't an issue for us as we don't tend to cook ourselves in the sun much, we preferred the air conditioned pool bar where we could sit and read.
The other big negative was the beds, I know they have been described elsewhere on here as hard, but I think it needs stressing that a lot of people where buying lilo's and using them to sleep on, I even put a towel down on a rug on the floor on one occassion and slept on that as it was more comfortable.
OK that is the worst of the bad stuff the good stuff was very good. The food as has been said before is excellent, queues at lunch time can be a pain, but if you stick to UK time and eat early you will be fine. The food includes a good variety of options for eating healthy with salads and veggie dishes, but the diet options are more lacking in flavour than actually lacking in calories. The hot stuff was very good, with a wide range of options, and for the unadventurous chips and pizza available. The meat and fish is often a little hard work with bones etc... but still very tasty.
The hotel itself, reception, bars everything is of a very high standard, clean and the staff are very friendly. You don't need to speak any greek (I do a bit but I hardly used it as most of the staff are not locals and they don't all speak greek anyway).
The hotel shop is very reasonable, not like in the UK where anything bought in a hotel is generally 2 or 3 times the price elsewhere. Note that there is also a greek supermarket (basicly a large corner shop) on the other side of the main road from the hotel, out the hotel main gates, left around 200 metres (pass the tourist information, ATM, and external trip booking shop), through the underpass (mind your head) turn right and it is 100m back the way you came on the other side of the road from the hotel. Or take your life in your hands crossing the dual carraigeway knowing that the greeks use the hard shoulder as a spare lane to allow overtaking.
The highlight of the holiday though was without doubt the animation team, these guys and girls work so hard, throw themselves into everything and they made our holiday. I know that this has already been said before as well, but it is worth repeating, if only because I am not the sort of person who gets involved in the organised activities and games, but even I did that on a few occassions here. The hotel run kids club was ok, given that the hotel doesn't have that many facilities for the kids, but it was run by the animation team and Lena and Joseph who were in charge on mornings and afternoons were excellent.
The mini disco for the kids on the evening before the show and the show following it were excellent, and the humour at times had me crying with laughter. Manuelitto's nappy change will live with me forever.
The internet access in the hotel is free as long as you take your own laptop, a bit pricey if you have to buy the cards to access the machines in the TV lounge. You do get TV in the room, but take a MP4 player if you really want to entertain the kids as they won't appreciate the 3 news channels in English, or the kids channel in greek.
Won't go on about the distance to the town, it's been mentioned before and we wanted a quiet location anyway. We didn't mind being in a minority as English, although it was not overwhelming.
So overall a good hotel, with limited facilities. Shame that our rep wasn't around and that the trips out were a disappointment. I would recommend the trip by boat to see the sea caves which you can pick up from just along the beach. The views are stunning, the small boats can get right into the caves and it is cheap. For other trips go to the outside agent on the way to the supermarket, it is cheaper and the trips the rep organised were expensive and badly organised.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeordieGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

What a fantastic week we had at the Creta Star in July 2010. Everything to do with the hotel was faultless, especially the service (a special mention to Manolis and Floran :) who worked at the pool bar). I would go back there tomorrow. We met some great people (hello Marcin and Joanna and Tom and Abbie). Food was fabulous, and the animations team were great. Take some snorkles as the fish at the hotels beach are out of this world!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We have just returned from Creta Star having enjoyed the holiday but not one of our best.
The Hotel is impressive, very clean, good sized rooms, air conditioning was fine. Main restaurant was all buffett which catered for all our differing tastes, however the lunch time restaurant next to the pool was just a repeat of the evening choices. Eventually we got bored with this.The Italian restaurant is well worth booking, it made a change to be served and beats queueing up for every meal, but you do have a set meal and have to book 2 days in advance, its only available Mon, Weds, Fri.
My husband had a birthday in the 2nd week and the hotel surprised him with a cake and a bottle of sparling wine, which was a nice touch.
Our main gripe though was the description in our brochure stating that watersports were available from the beach (at an extra cost, thats ok) but on arrival we saw that there are NO beach sports. Our 2 x 17 year olds were very dissapointed. I asked the rep about this at our welcome meeting,she said the old company had finished and they were waiting for a new one to start, which should be in the next few days. After 4 days I asked the receptionist again and he said in the 5 years he had been there, they never had sports on the beach ! The brochure also says Gym inc, but its not. Its 6 euros p/p per day - in next door hotel.
Should A/I should mean beach sunbeds are included in price?. 4 people x 3.50 euros each per day is a lot when you think you've paid for the holiday up front. We did'nt intend to spend most of the time on the beach but all the poolside sunbeds are gone by about 5 am.
The bus trip to town is good value, nice harbour, plenty of shops and friendly people.
Overall the hotel is good value, but be prepared to get up very early if you like sunbeds, dont book if you want active water sports, the day and evening entertainment is fun, but low grade ( spitting ice cubes the furthest, or kicking your flip flop the furthest )the hotel is spotless, the food looks good, - however I did get food poisoning ( I did'nt eat anywhere else)but everyone else in my party were ok. and be prepared to pay for any little extras (gym, sunbeds, billiards) Overall an average A/I experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.1 mi away
Creta Royal Hotel
Creta Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Skaleta
305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
44.2 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.2 mi away
Rethymno Palace
Rethymno Palace
#2 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
866 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#15 of 175 in Rethymnon
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Star Hotel

Address: Skaleta, Crete 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Skaleta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Family Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range: $101 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Creta Star Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Creta Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creta Star Rethymnon
Creta Star Hotel Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing