We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never seen 5 stars!”
Review of Creta Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creta Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Skaleta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never seen 5 stars!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel, has never been, nor never will be a 5 star.

We booked a double with Garden View, and put in a twin, when we went back to reception we were told that Greek double beds are not big enough for 2 adults! When we laughed and said we wanted what we had booked we were told that the hotel was full... it wasn't, they just closed down parts of it as it was the end of the season.

We moved the next day, to a double room, with no view! and a standard double bed. Plenty of room for 2 adults!

Air con only worked during the day, was boiling at night times
Only one plug socket
Holes in the sheets, which weren't changed in a 6 nights
Breakfast - wow, left a lot to be desired, and evening meal, not impressive, and everything was tasteless, completely bland, and lacking any imagination
Towels perfect size for children
Beach - hotel beach and had to pay 3 Euros for the privilege
Pools, salt water and so heavy with chemicals you couldn't enjoy it
The noise that came from the bins being emptied at 7:30 (outside our room) was enough to wake the dead
Housekeeping, making massive amounts of noise from 8am, and if the do not disturb sign isn't on your door, you will get woken up!
It's great for couples over 50, as that's the youngest age group, not 30's!!
Late check out, 8 Euros an hour, even out of season, and after a room mix up!

Good bus stop outside to get to the town

The staff are OK, nothing spectacular

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SarahM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    102
    26
    14
    5
See reviews for
50
196
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

....We just came back (last night) from Creta Royal Hotel and I could not wait to write my review. Having worked in five star resorts and hotel for the past 8 years my expectations are always quiet high...well the Creta Royal is truly a gem!
The Location is perfect for exploring the Island (you can rent a car on property or take a bus outside the main gate), very convenient for visiting both west , south coast and Irakeio. The Resort sits directly on a nice sandy beach (I am not sure what the previous reviewer was talking about...as there are no rocks no stones nor pebbles on the beach...). Everything It is amazingly maintained grounds,pools ,restaurants and beach.
We stayed just one week but it has been a dream ...very relaxing. The room was spacious and always extra clean! On arrival we found a welcome letter, a bottle of water, one of wine and a fruit basket waiting for us. There was the choice of mountain view rooms and sea view. Our patio was overlooking the smaller salt water pool and was only few steps from the beach!
The Hotel does not have its own entertainment but Creta Royal guests are more than welcome to participate to the Animation program of the Hotel Creta Star (sister Hotel in the same property)!
The food was very good !! I am very particular about this (...and furthermore italian....we are renown for how difficult we are with food...).The choice give at the Breakfast buffet was impressive! As it was the lunch at the beach restaurant and the dinner in the main restaurant! I purposely left the feedbacks on the Staff at the end...The service we found here was not five ...but six stars! they have a team of truly professional people with a real passion for what they do! Everybody was always smiling , very friendly and ready to help! I am afraid that I would not be able to write all their names but I would love to thank you very much some of the team members that really made the difference for us! In reception Astrinos was great, very helpful, friendly and accommodating! Andreas (restaurant Maître) was amazing!!!! let's just say that if I had my own hotel I would want him as restaurant manager! Dimitri also in the restaurant was very nice and always gave a great service as it was Manolis (Creta Stara Bar). Vangelis (restaurant&bar)was one of the friendliest, professional and helpful person I have ever met! Last but not least I would also like to thank the entertainment team at the Creta Star Hotel that made us laugh and play...grazie mille Gianmarco, Stefano, Erica, Edgars and Nadia! Thank you once again for the fantastic time!!!! We both definitely will recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Vierky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The beach is permanently red flagged due to rip currents and rocks in the water. The pool is so chemically enhanced that you are blinded by the water. Rooms are small. 11km away from the town so taxis cost 18 euros each way. Nearby restaurants are limited, small and quite good and very well priced but don't expect anything 5 star.

Room Tip: Side sea view means sea glimpse from the edge of the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our second visit to the Creta Royal. This is a lovely hotel for couples. What makes this such a fantastic place to stay is the staff, who are always friendly and helpful. The hotel food is good. The Tuesday outside BBQ is a labour of love but well worth it. We enjoyed the Gala Dinner on Saturday evening - a set meal served at the table. Sitting in the restaurant by the sea enjoying the magnificent sunset is a joy.

The hotel grounds are lovely.

Food in the main restaurant is buffet style but very varied. The midday food (we were all inclusive) is very good.

If you want to enjoy the beach which does shelve, it would be wise to have CROCS or some kind of beach shoe as the beach is pebbly.

All in all, a restful hotel with fantastic staff - thoroughly recommended.

We will go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Very clean: Every day cleaning,very very good,
Relaxing enviroment: gardens and trees are fantastic a pleasant stuff (reception-restaurant-cleaning ladies-room service),
The rooms are a little old, and beds a little sort but everything else looks in perfect condition, so it was not a problem.
One of the best food services !!! great and plentiful Breakfast and Dinner Buffets!!!

A renovation in the pools and the pool area so it will match with the great gardens around them!
Wifi coverage only in the reception area is just unacceptable for a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nmitrokostas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Just returned from a great break at Creta royal. Lovely place, beautifully kept grounds, lots of sunbbeds and very quiet and peaceful.

Food: we were all inclusive and it was buffet style but had a wide range of food from snails to Dolmades and a barbecue night (downside of the barbecue night is the crooner who serenades you.. don't sit too close to the speakers!!)

Pools clean and quiet - plenty of sunbeds to go round.
Beach - clean - quite a bit of seaweed and some rocks in places but has some nice spots that you can get in without needing sea shoes

Staff - Exceptionally polite, cheery and chatty alwys willing to help, especially katarina in the pool bar.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank robandjueC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands , Den Haag
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Location : Close to beach , But beach is mostly rocky -beach .Nothing is close to be done and you must have a car to go somewhere for site seeing.So ,Only staying at hotel and lying at pool.
Pool side:not enough sapce for people if hotel is full .If you wake up at 9 Am ,You Will not find any place .At least we didi not find ! I did not about the other review .We did not find !
Internet : Only in reception area.Only !....And free.
Food: You will find something delicios to eat surely in here!
Cleanses :excellent!
...by the way .... many flies and mosquito...be aware of this for sitting in balcony..
Staff :Friendly all in restaurant. Friendly in reception except for one man .( there is only one working as reception ) ,He is very rude !
People : 90% are German and Russian and some other countries ,But maybe ...only maybe one English or tow .So English person ...No ...do not go there if you are English otherwise you will be alone !
Accommodation :Could be OK ,But if something is wrong ,It will be wrong .Our booking had been missed and we changed our rooms three times .Also I must say that hotel staff tried to solve our problem as much as they could.
Transfer from airport to hotel ( only for your information) : From Heraklion or Chania , Approximately 1 hour with car .We booked one rent car from Autocar.gr for 5 days 150 Euro.
All in all ,If you are old and looking for only relaxation ,Go there .If you are English man , Avoid this hotel and go somewhere else.And also do not go there if hotel is close to be full ( last room or etc.)
By the way , we were there in first week of June .

Room Tip: Old people , non-english , only relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alianaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skaleta
0.2 mi away
Rethymno Mare Royal Hotel
6.0 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 164 in Rethymnon
578 reviews
64.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.2 mi away
Knossos Beach Bungalows & Suites
5.2 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 164 in Rethymnon
639 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creta Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creta Royal Hotel

Property: Creta Royal Hotel
Address: Skaleta Bay, Skaleta, Crete 741 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Skaleta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Skaleta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Skaleta
#4 Family Hotel in Skaleta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Skaleta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Creta Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Creta Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Creta Royal
Creta Royal Rethymnon
Creta Royal Hotel Crete/Skaleta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing