We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek delights”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vamos Traditional Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Vamos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Greek delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

One of the joys of a holiday is undoubtedly going out for a lavish dinner each night, though to be honest, at some point, looking at yet another menu can become a little off-putting. However, Vamos traditional village not only boasts wonderful restaurants such as Taverna Marouvas and the Sterna tou Bloumosifi, but if their allure has paled after the sixth night of delicious stuffed chestnuts or grilled mushrooms, then a traditional Greek cooking class with Koula Barydakis is the thing. We spent a wonderful evening with another couple preparing Greek food that we love from our restaurants, and then eating all of it! Not only was the cooking very enjoyable and pleasant, the food turned out delicious, and Koula managed to remove my reticence about preparing kolokithokeftedes and other delicacies. We have since hosted several parties where we treated our friends to five-course meals which were fun to prepare and enormously impressive. Using fresh ingredients, Koula will convince everyone of the joy of cooking and the ease and fun of preparing food for large groups. You take your time, (generally from 4-9pm), but the result is worth it. The cooking classes take place in the ruin of a traditional house in Vamos, and there is room for ten or twelve, including children.
Vamos is a lovely village, generally unspoiled and partly beautifully restored, and the cooking lessons complemented a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hans J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    40
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
109
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were at Douliana in the Manolis house in octobre 2012. It's such a wonderful place. Everything is perfect there... The region is just great! So green and calm... We loved the sea down at Almyrida. The village Vamos is such a nice place to be and to buy things... in octobre you could believe that you're the only tourist there :-)

Our cottage was very nice. The owner (Mr. Manolis) is a real nice bloke. We hat our own chickens for eggs ;-). The house was clean and well furnished.

It was our first stay in crete! We travelled around by daytrips from Douliana. But as much as we have seen of the island... the vamos region is the nicest place to stay! We'll come back to that wonderful place for sure!

Room Tip: book your cottage at the vamos traditional village! Worth every cent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Vamos Traditional Village in September of 2012. It was our first time to Greece and our first stop was the beautiful Island of Crete and the beautiful Vamos Village. Our cottage was by far one of the most special places we have ever stayed at. Well appointed, great view, wonderful little private patio, pool just steps away, fully equipped kitchen complete with complimentary "Ouzo" (Greece's famous aniseed-flavoured liquor). It was clean, quiet and so very comfortable. We will go back again, hopefully soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Helianthos 1 in the pretty village of Douliana for 6 nights in September. This is a lovely 2 storey house, tons of room for a couple. The house has been modernised, but not lost its character. It is one of four clustered around a beautiful pool. The pool is shared but mostly we had it to ourselves (outside of school holidays). George, Chrystal and Klio were very helpful at the agency. Our plane was delayed, but George and Christina (owner) didn't complain about our arrival in Vamos around midnight. We enjoyed the cooking class in Vamos. We left an item by mistake at the house, and the staff very helpfully posted it to us later.
Strongly recommended if you're looking for a peaceful Mediterranean holiday in a "local", interesting area.

Room Tip: Helanthos 1 in Douliana is super, but other houses look good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAdonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for three days in Douliana at the end of September. The village is delightful with a wonderful Taverna open in the evenings. The two storey house was perfect with a sunny and private courtyard and a beautiful pool shared with two other houses. The views were fabulous. The staff at Vamos were extremely helpful and obliging and we wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

For a fortnight in Sept. 2012 my wife and me had a wonderful time in the "Aggélamos 1". OK, the weather was super, but that is not enough to make a perfect holiday: The traditional and modern house was charming, clean and quiet, the breakfast-and-dinner-view from the balcony over Old Vamos simply great, and the every-day-service was excellent. We really fell in love with that lovely village and countryside, the marvellous beaches, the friendlyness of the people and, last not least the delicious kitchen. (Special Tip: Cooking course with Mrs. Koula!) Thanks, we come back again.

Room Tip: For a couple, Aggélamos 1 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for one week in Douliana.We rented a house from Vamos Village.The service from
Vamos Village was excellent,friendly and informative.The house was beautifully presented and we
were able to relax and access nearby Tavernas,beaches and walks.We were there at the end of September/early October.Temperatures were comfortable but still hot.Not too many other
tourists but everything still functioning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vamos
27.8 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
86.6 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
86.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
50.0 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#27 of 32 in Amoudara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
46.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
87.0 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vamos Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamos Traditional Village

Property: Vamos Traditional Village
Address: Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vamos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vamos Traditional Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to live in a stone and wood Greek village cottage, taste natural honey and virgin olive oil, walk on village paths and in the local countryside, smell the flowers in blooming gardens enjoy our local food and enjoy the sun and sea in nearby beaches, then you will be in Vamos at the right place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamos Traditional Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing