We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, peaceful stay with character houses, and very helpful agency.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vamos Traditional Village
Ranked #1 of 1 Vamos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Helianthos 1 in the pretty village of Douliana for 6 nights in September. This is a lovely 2 storey house, tons of room for a couple. The house has been modernised, but not lost its character. It is one of four clustered around a beautiful pool. The pool is shared but mostly we had it to ourselves (outside of school holidays). George, Chrystal and Klio were very helpful at the agency. Our plane was delayed, but George and Christina (owner) didn't complain about our arrival in Vamos around midnight. We enjoyed the cooking class in Vamos. We left an item by mistake at the house, and the staff very helpfully posted it to us later.
Strongly recommended if you're looking for a peaceful Mediterranean holiday in a "local", interesting area.

Room Tip: Helanthos 1 in Douliana is super, but other houses look good also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAdonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 199 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed for three days in Douliana at the end of September. The village is delightful with a wonderful Taverna open in the evenings. The two storey house was perfect with a sunny and private courtyard and a beautiful pool shared with two other houses. The views were fabulous. The staff at Vamos were extremely helpful and obliging and we wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

For a fortnight in Sept. 2012 my wife and me had a wonderful time in the "Aggélamos 1". OK, the weather was super, but that is not enough to make a perfect holiday: The traditional and modern house was charming, clean and quiet, the breakfast-and-dinner-view from the balcony over Old Vamos simply great, and the every-day-service was excellent. We really fell in love with that lovely village and countryside, the marvellous beaches, the friendlyness of the people and, last not least the delicious kitchen. (Special Tip: Cooking course with Mrs. Koula!) Thanks, we come back again.

Room Tip: For a couple, Aggélamos 1 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed for one week in Douliana.We rented a house from Vamos Village.The service from
Vamos Village was excellent,friendly and informative.The house was beautifully presented and we
were able to relax and access nearby Tavernas,beaches and walks.We were there at the end of September/early October.Temperatures were comfortable but still hot.Not too many other
tourists but everything still functioning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

we spent 5 days in this wondeful gem location and cant express how wonderful it was-the houses are comfortable and located in a wonderful setting and the villages surrounding the place are wonderful as well

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kochba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We enjoyed a lot our stay (6 days) in Vamos Traditional Village. Our apartment was super, large, clean, quiet, with a nice balcony for the sunset. The offer of activities (walks, visits, gorges, beaches, cooking, etc.) and restaurants is diversified and interesting. The people at the reception are helpful, friendly and they respond very quickly. The Bloumosifis Taverna may not be a four-star restaurant, but it's a convivial gathering place where you can enjoy a good meal, meet friends or work on your Internet. We would go back again!

Louise and Antoni (Québec, Canada)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were a bit disappointed in Vamos Traditional Village. Our apartment in the Agroulida House was not great. The loft bedroom was opposite the main church and the bells rang every hour and every half-hour. The girl in the tourist office assured us that we would get used to them but with only two nights, we never did and did not get a good night's sleep.
The kitchen area was tiny. The balcony was nice for breakfast but broiling hot all afternoon so it would have been nice to have the option of sitting outside on the porch in the other direction (we dragged chairs out.) The Art Cafe had closed for renovations. The Bloumosifis Taverna gave us the worst service we've ever had in Crete (half hour before they took our order, another half hour before we got a bite to eat and no apology offered. The food was not worth waiting an hour for. Since they weren't particularly busy and the couple next to us who came in after us got their food way before us, I have no explanation for the wait. Needless to say, we didn't go back the next night but had a wonderful meal in a friendly tavern in a neighboring village).
The best thing about Vamos was the location and the lovely women who staffed the tourist office. They gave us excellent information and steered us to a tavern with Greek music on the Sunday afternoon before we flew home which was terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the church bells!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ETal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vamos
50.0 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#26 of 32 in Amoudara
415 reviews
86.6 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#21 of 35 in Elounda
233 reviews
27.8 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 13 in Panormos
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
46.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,049 reviews
68.6 mi away
Sunshine Village
Sunshine Village
#57 of 172 in Hersonissos
357 reviews
23.2 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vamos Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vamos Traditional Village

Address: Chania, Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete 73008, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vamos
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vamos Traditional Village 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you would like to live in a stone and wood Greek village cottage, taste natural honey and virgin olive oil, walk on village paths and in the local countryside, smell the flowers in blooming gardens enjoy our local food and enjoy the sun and sea in nearby beaches, then you will be in Vamos at the right place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vamos Traditional Village Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing