We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mint”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arosmari Village Retreat
Reviewed October 9, 2013

All ten of the cottages look absolutely charming and are in very close proximity of the main 'hotel' area which comprises of an open sided reading/relaxing room and open sided and sheltered breakfast terrace/room. Also comfortable outside seating areas. The gardens are meticulously maintained as is the pool area. Mint cottage is a bit of a hidden gem and would be the ideal choice for anyone who welcomes privacy. Set just off the very quiet country lane adjacent to the hotel entrance it is approached through an archway into a courtyard area where there are steps to the right leading to Fennel and Bay, neither of these properties use these steps as they both have more direct entrances. A further arch leads to an enclosed dining courtyard and the entrance to Mint, a single story stone built cottage with both a front and side door which in turn leads to another smaller terrace with a side view over a field and countryside beyond (field is a bit tatty). Inside the cottage is surprisingly large with lovely original features and exposed stonework. The dressing area is spacious with large wardrobe and there is even a single bed behind a screen. Shower room is small but perfectly adequate.
Bedroom which is on a raised, part open plan level was larger than expected with two high up windows and again ample storage. The cottage is dark but this is a blessing as beautifully cool when hot outside, equally when the weather turned cold it was warm, so the best of both worlds. However what we were not expecting was the private roof terrace, reached via steps from the courtyard. This terrace is spectacular, sun loungers (not the most comfortable I have ever relaxed on), table, chairs and umbrella but the icing on the cake is the breathtaking view of the white mountains and the garden of the hotel. For sun and scenery lovers this is the ideal relaxing/sunbathing area. We never felt the need to lie by the pool. All those who work at Arosmari are delightful and extremely good at their jobs and nothing seems to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davis94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 52 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

What a fantastic week away my husband and I have just enjoyed at Chamomile cottage in the Arosmari village hotel.
We travelled with Simpson and were met on arrival at the airport by Mike who directed us to the car hire desk and we had very clear driving instructions to the resort.
A 50 minute journey by car was well worth it when we stepped into the idyllic grounds greeted by Trish and Nikos, offering us a refreshing drink and a very warm welcome.
The breakfasts were fabulous and like many people before us we wanted to kidnap Ruby and take her home so she could be our personal chef! I would recommend, as Trish did to me, the pancakes with yoghurt, fruit and honey. A wonderful way to start the day.

All of the parts to this holiday were excellent, the only reason I have marked the sleeping quality down is due to the church bells that are very clear in this mountain village - it gives a wonderful flavour of local life however and I can't complain about it!

Trish really was a fount of information and even though we were affectionately referred to as the "young people" by everyone else there, we felt very included.

An absolute must for the discerning traveller if you're looking for rest, relaxation and a few walks thrown in.

Room Tip: All the cottages were lovely and I couldn't recommend one over another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A lovely, small, quiet, adult-only resort in a historic Cretan village about 40 minutes' drive from Chania comprising 10 cottages around a pool, pleasant gardens and outside dining area.
The cottages are sympathetically restored and there is intelligent and helpful assistance from the on-site concierge,Trish. Grounds are very well maintained by Mike, super breakfasts are courtesy of Ruby and Lena and careful oversight of the whole by owner, Nikos. There are occasional (separately organised) musical evenings in the little amphitheatre in the garden, and beaches and spectacular mountain drives are only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NigelJJHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. It's adults only, which is great for anyone wanting a really peaceful holiday. The resort is a collection of 10 cottages clustered on the edge of Vamos, a quiet village about 10 minutes drive from the coast. The cottages have been beautifully and thoughtfully restored by the owner, Nicos. The pool was never crowded as most guests tend to go out for part of the day. Sunbeds were never reserved with towels and because of this there were always sunbeds free at any time of day. Breakfast was simple, but delicious. There is a beautiful reading room overlooking the pool and lots of comfy chairs in shady areas of the garden where you can sit and read.The Simpson rep, Trish, was around every morning and was very knowledgeable about the island. She has excellent tips about parking in Chania and Rethymno. She also has beach umbrellas and cool bags to lend out. The village itself was a bit on the quiet side for us but that's just personal taste. There are several traditional Greek cafes which serve traditional food such as gyros/kebabs. They are really cheap and very good value for money. The small gyros cafe just off the square is excellent. There are also a couple of tavernas. The Sterna of Bloumosifis is highly rated. We ate there 3 times but we found the quality very inconsistent, ranging from very good to disgusting. The small gyros cafe just off the square is excellent. This resort is just absolute perfection.

Room Tip: We stayed in Rosemary - beautiful views of the mountains and very spacious rooms. It's 2-storey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We loved the village with its old buildings and views of the mountains. A working Cretan village managing tourism sustainably. The Arosmari was a peaceful haven of old cottages and a beautiful garden and pool. The owner Nikos has incorporated historical elements and items into the garden. Trish was a friendly and helpful hostess and we enjoyed Ruby's breakfasts. We did a cooking lesson in the village and went to three open air music evenings. The beaches are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Firstly, this is an adults only place this season - and how perfect it is. We have just come back having enjoyed two weeks of total rest and relaxation. The setting, buildings, garden and pool are beautiful, then the warm hospitality and true attention to detail tops it off (comfy chairs suddenly appearing in our favourite spot, a backgammon board being conjured up after an overheard conversation, low hanging bits of olive tree being pruned on request ( ha ha thanks Mike), fresh towels and toiletries just before you think you need them, all the basics in the kitchen - the list goes on - and all done in such an unobtrusive and friendly way). I would recommend taking advantage of the massage which was really great and the pedicure was one of the best I've ever had. I think there is still availability this summer (why?) My advice would be to book, quick and treat yourself to some time in this little paradise that feels just like the home in crete you'd like to own yourself.

Room Tip: We loved our cottage with its private terrace at the back over looking the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reviewer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just back from a lovely week in Crete Simpson Travel excellent We stayed in Arugula the biggest villa....excellent accomm everything has been thought of hair dryer, safe ,bath robe slippers, beach towels umbrellas. Quiet stunning location lovely views of the White Mountains Super pool and wonderful gardens...... Nico the owner friendly and welcoming Trish the rep has lived there for 10 years so friendly, kind and helpful Ruby and Lena serve breakfast lovely preserves, bread, cakes, pancakes and any type of egg.............would have liked more fresh fruit. The bacon and sausage should be ditched not something they do well in Crete. Two good tavernas in village, excellent cake shop and bakery Good kind friendly people.
Road signs are rubbish in Crete but roads are quiet as petrol is 25p a litre more there. Visit the wonderful Botanical Gardens and Lake Kounass and go shopping in the leather lanes in Chania good leather goods and sandals

Don't ask directions in local villages as little English is spoken and many seem unaware of the monastries and Venetian ruins on the doorstep Will go back a week wasn't long enough!

Room Tip: Book Arugula
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BiddieHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vamos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kerasi
Hotel Villa Kerasi
#1 of 1 in Vamos
72 reviews
87.1 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.1 mi away
Douliana Villas
Douliana Villas
#2 of 3 in Douliana
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Liberta Villas
Liberta Villas
#5 of 5 in Vamos
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Elianthos
Villa Elianthos
#4 of 5 in Vamos
5 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fabrica
Fabrica
#3 of 5 in Vamos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosmari Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosmari Village Retreat

Address: Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Vamos
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arosmari Village Hotel is a haven; a cluster of stone and cypress wood cottages with a beautiful garden at its heart, set in the timeless village of Vamos. Here, among roses, jasmine and lavender are many secret corners to read, meditate or sleep the afternoon away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arosmari Village Retreat Hotel Vamos
Arosmari Village Retreat Vamos, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing