We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vamos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arosmari Village Retreat
Godstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“super experience”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Just back from our stay in Arosmari village retreat. We stayed in Mint cottage which was extremely well fitted out and had a private, secluded outside seating area, albeit over the "road" from the pool etc. The pool and breakfast area etc were very well designed and appointed and the breakfast itself was plentiful, varied and delicious. It makes a very pleasant change to go somewhere self-catering and find small foody items such as olive oil & balsamic vinegar are provided. Vamos village is only 5 minutes walk away, has three tavernas and gives off a " real" Greek village feel.I say this as much of the surrounding resort type areas are very commercialised, which makes a walk around Vamos so pleasant by comparison.
I heartily recommend Arosmari.
bjj

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We have been visiting Greece at least once a year for the last 22 years and have had mostly great holidays ,with our children and now by ourselves. This holiday was one of the best. We stayed in Fennel Cottage because it had a roof terrace with views of the mountains. We checked this before we booked.
The house was lovely,clean ,spacious and cool downstairs. The garden and pool were lovely and the breakfast fabulous.As all our fellow guests went off in their hire cars, we often has the whole place/pool to ourselves.It was indeed very peaceful. The walks around Vamos were manageable in the early morning or at dusk. We had a cloudy day ,so we went on a long walk. it was great..
As we'd been to the area many times before, staying on the coast -we didn't hire a car. We did take the bus to Kalives and got a taxi back one day.
Nikos was an excellent host and we were invited to a festival in the village with much music , dancing and food. we were made most welcome by everyone.
However, this was only one half of our holiday. On our last day a hire car was delivered and we drove across Crete to the Island Beach Cottages at Plaka (following Lynn's excellent directions.)for another dream week.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisandles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a wonderful holiday at Arosmari. The Cretan cottages have been tastefully renovated into very comfortable holiday accommodation. Very ' shabby chic' ! They are very clean and the maids came daily to make beds etc. Breakfasts are a delight and served on a beautiful garden terrace. Just lovely. We were made to feel very welcome and were well lookd after. The pool was very clean and although the complex was fully bookd at the time of our stay, most days we had the pool to ourselves or shared it perhaps with one other couple. Vamos is a typical Crete town in the hills with bars and tavernas and a few small food shops. We soon became accustomed to its layout and enjoyed walking into town to the bakery and shops to buy food or to have coffee in the square and watch the hustle and bustle of Crete life.
The only downside to this location for us was that it is set a good distance from the coast, approx 15min drive, so that meant hiring taxis to get there or using buses whose timetables were alittle irregular to say the least. A hire car is probably the best answer!
All in all we would thoroughly recommend Arosmari as a perfect holiday destination for couples, though perhaps not for those with very small children, due to the nature of the stone paths and steep stairs by the pool and breakfast area. Also there were some very sharp cacti and plants in the garden that would need to be avoided by little people!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soniajoybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Have stayed in many places in Crete over the last ten years and Arosmari is our favourite. It is quiet peaceful and typical of Cretan hospitality. We stayed in July last year as well and there was no building work going on whilst we were there so surprised by the complaint in a previous review.Niko's has done a fantastic job of restoring old village houses and bringing new life to them.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anglogreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed in Arosmari, apartment 8 in September 2010. The apartment was nice with lots of space although the balconies / patios looked over other houses rather than the beautiful mountains you could see from some of the houses and the pool. The lighting in the house must have been done by an over-exuberant electrician, I think there were about 25 switches in the apartment and finding the right one wasn't easy.

Breakfasts were great and the pool area, which was maybe 100m from Arosmari 8 lovely although I suspect could get busy at times. Arosmari is used by Simpson Travel and our experience was that their customers seemed to get the best rooms. If you're booking independently, through the very friendly and efficient co-operative, make sure you understand which apartment you are getting.

I can understand the comments about the pool area in the last couple of reviews, I suspect it is pot luck who is there at the same time as you, in our experience for 2/3 of the time is was fine and the other 1/3 not somewhere we wanted to be.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Arosmari is a beautiful place to stay, tastefully decorated, lovely surroundings, fantastic breakfast. A lot of effort has been put into making the place very attractive. However, this is not a retreat in the true sense of the word. We were expecting peace and tranquility. We got..... noisy children from an adjoining property,leaping in and out of the pool, using inflatables, footballs etc. on a daily basis. Not a quiet holiday by any means. Arosmari should not be advertised as a retreat, but as a family holiday resort, if this is the clientele they want to attract. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaytaker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

I think the only way of giving a fair and balanced view of the Arosmari is to say that overall we had a nice holiday although marred by a few issues.
Positives:
Accommodation was above average and very clean.
Pool was lovely and kept very clean.
Breakfasts were a delight, thank you Ruby!
Negatives:
Overlooking the pool area two village houses were being renovated, builders started at 7.45am and finished around 7.30pm. Work was also being carried out on Sundays. On one occasion an air conditioning unit was being delivered by lorry with a hydraulic crane in full view of those of us trying to relax by the pool! Chris, our rep, witnessed the proceedings. Retreat it most certainly wasn't!
On our last few days residents had an issue with a noisy and rather unruly family in the pool. There was a question as to whether they were entitled to use the pool at all. Ruby was most upset by there antics. Nikos, the owner was away in Athens, but Chris had to come over on a number of occasions to sort things out. Retreat it most certainly wasn't!

In our view the word 'Retreat' conjures up a quiet, reflective place - in fact the dictionary describes it as 'seclusion, a special place of prayer and meditation'.

A case of misrepresentation perhaps?!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoirEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vamos
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Kerasi
Hotel Villa Kerasi
#1 of 1 in Vamos
63 reviews
24.4 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
0.5 mi away
Fabrica
Fabrica
#4 of 5 in Vamos
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Liberta Villas
Liberta Villas
#5 of 5 in Vamos
27 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort
Kiani Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Kalami
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Douliana Villas
Douliana Villas
#2 of 3 in Douliana
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosmari Village Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosmari Village Retreat

Property: Arosmari Village Retreat
Address: Vamos, Apokoronas, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Vamos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Vamos
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arosmari Village Hotel is a haven; a cluster of stone and cypress wood cottages with a beautiful garden at its heart, set in the timeless village of Vamos. Here, among roses, jasmine and lavender are many secret corners to read, meditate or sleep the afternoon away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arosmari Village Retreat Hotel Vamos
Arosmari Village Retreat Vamos, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing