We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanya Li and Miao Village

Sanya Li and Miao Village
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

The girls of the village are beautiful with attractive dressing. The village is beautiful decorated and attracted a lot of tourists. A must visit site when you are in Sanya, Hainan, China.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chengde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    65
    41
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Genuinely worthwhile day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

The ethnic minorities of Li and Miao have created a really worthwhile destination in Sanya. The visit combines well presented history, authentic living conditions and exceptionally well crafted performances.

We've been to other native villages in other locations and this one didn't have any of the downfalls. The shops were dotted throughout but nobody was pushy. The photo opportunities were regular but at 20RMB it didn't break the bank. The wine and tea tasting was nice and you could buy small samples (a little expensive but for 50RMB again it doesn't really matter).

Then to finish it all off, the flying fox through the trees was a buzz!

It's close to Sanya. Get yourself a guide and I don't see how you'd regret a good day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Solly1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local tradition worthy to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I think this is a place that visiters can not miss, you might get to know local culture better through this. Their clothes, language and habits are different from the Chinese you normally see.I went there by hiring a car, it's worthy to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DongJae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Should be on your top 10 list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I wasn't exactly sure what the Sanya Li and Miao Village was going to be all about, but it certainly ended up ranking top scores for me. Very interesting village. Lots of walking but plenty of place to purchase drinks etc. It can be a little tough if you don't read or speak Chinese like I don't, but found enough English to figure out what was going on. There is a short zip line I couldn't really sell anyone on, but for a first timer on a short line, it would be good. I was good with the whole place up until the very end, when I saw the show, WOW!!! FANTASTIC SHOW. The show is a 100% worth it. Great performances, always activity going on, good music, and dancing, funny as well. Go you won't be disappointed. p.s. look for the baby monkeys!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My family went before I went with my friend... thus we got some tips from them


Some tips would be...
1) TO NOT GO DURING SUMMER! HOT HOT HOT!
2) Hiring a guide might be a wise choice!
3) Wear shorts/jeans and walking shoes, ladies you would not want to wear dresses and high heels when you are walking up a hill and having to take flying fox!
4) Bring mineral water, walking up a hill is a good work out
5) Up and down terrain might not be an ideal place to bring those who have physical disability as I did not see ramps/lifts... only stairs

Took a long distance bus from Sanya bus station (towards Bao Ting) and stopped immediately outside the Li and Miao site


Decided to hire a guide I forgot how much it was... Hiring a guide was a fantastic idea as he brought us around to try all those complimentary stuff (e.g. own specialty wine, tea, flying fox). The guide is called Ah Niu牛. Being a guide he had to 'check-in' at almost every stall that is selling goodies, am VERY GLAD that he wasn't those kind of pushy guy asking us to buy stuff. What I didn't like was that (I suspect) the guide has a time frame for bringing every tourist around, thus he talked really quickly...


There was this performance with bamboo sticks, an elaborate performance!(similar to the Malay dance with bamboo sticks ) Love how the Li and Miao people dressed in their beautiful colourful costumes.

The ticket is pretty costly... If I am not wrong it was RMB180+/- but... at least there are complimentary stuff like tea, and wine you get to try :)
Also, a chance to sit the complimentary flying fox! Was extremely fun!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank walkingonclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanya Li and Miao Village also viewed

 

Been to Sanya Li and Miao Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing