We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malemi Organic Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Haugesund, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A home from home”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

06.05.12

I am a keen birdwatcher and have just returned home to Norway from my fith stay at Hotel Malemi in Skala Kaloni on Lesvos. That in itself should be reccomendation enough but i feel i should confirm my admiration for the hotel and its staff. George, Effie, Georges wife and the rest of the staff are very service minded and have allways done their utmost to satisfy our needs as guests and as friends. Because of my job it doesnt suit me to travel with charters at weekends and usually arrive on a thursday, stay 12 nights and leave on a teusday. This unusual and difficult habit of mine (it means my room stands empty until the next week starts) is accepted with good grace by the hotel and we are allways met and welcomed as long lost friends. The Hotel and its surroundings are clean and tidy. The food is good and variable based on traditional greek recipies and meal times are made flexible to cater for the excentric behaviour of myself and other birdwatchers. This is a very good hotel. truly a "home from home" Peter Mallinson.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    41
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
71
49
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks birdwatching. We stayed here as they offer full board (buffet breakfast, packed lunch and buffet dinner) great if you are out all day, no worries about finding lunch while out looking for birds. In the evening, just walk down to the spacious lounge/dining area.The food is great, there is something for everyone. Evening meals offer about eight choices. Salad, fish (really enjoyed the stuffed octopus) veggi casseroles, moussaka. Lots of olive oil fab! George, his wife and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Nice to see them every evening keeping an eye on things and checking everything is fine. The room was light and large with double bed, ( not like most greek holiday places) plus a heater as it was still a little chilly to start with - nich touch and separate bathroom again good size with bath and shower. Nice clean pool area, although we did not have much time to use it.Can thouroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank beckybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Malemi is a perfect place to everyone planning a trip in Lesbos, specially for birders.
Good location in the island, pleasant rooms , very attrictive food and above all, the kindness of Georges and all the team of the hotel is a must .
And they known all about the needs of birdwatchers and how to help them to enjoy a lot their stay.
I hope to go back in Malemi hotel as sson as possible and continue to discover all the beauty of Lesbos !
B Pajot

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajot B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shapinsay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Great hotel, run by the whole family, brilliant as a base for exploring the beautiful island of Lesvos.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread around the whole of the grounds! I had ground floor with a spare room! Sun hits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbee270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have already booked our fourth holiday in the Malemi hotel. Each year we stayed for 14 days in the middle of July. This place is awsom. Everything is perfect. Malemi hotel is a family hotel, run by George Kapsalis and his family. It has a realy good location in the middle of the island. When you want to explore the other parts of the island, the hotel is a perfect choice. You can use it as a base where you return after a day of exploring. Then you have an excellent dinner. All food is prepared according to greek tradition. We don't know the names of all these traditional dishes but all of them are very tasty. There are buffet breakfasts and dinner.The staff are also very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and cleaned every day. Towel and bed linen were changed 3 times a week. Around the hotel there is a lot of greenery with a big playground for young children. For "big" children there are computers with the internet for free. The hotel also has a big pool with pool bar. From time to time the dinner was served by the pool. On the beach there is another bar called Clo Clo Bar and it belongs to the hotel. There you can lie on sunbeds under sunumbrellas, drink cold drinks and observe the second highest mountain on the island Mount Olimpus. The view is stunning. Our 14-year old daugther made friends with local boys and girls, so she has company by the pool, on the beach and while playing beachvolley.
Because of all these things we feel extremly welcome and that is why we return to this place year after year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medeja h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great family hotel, the owners and staff really extraordinary to experience a great stay, hotel very clean, very well maintained, excellent rooms, great atmosphere. Very reasonable price. The food is good and tasty. Highly recommended. We definitely go back there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

To start, my friends and I came from New York, going through 4 islands to see the real Greece.
From the moment of our arrival George, the owner, greeted us personally and showed us to some very grand rooms (2 of them). We came near the end of breakfast, but were starving from the overnight ferry from Santorini, and he put off the cleaning of the breakfast buffet so that we can eat. He was very friendly and caring (showing us the real Greek hospitality), going so far as checking on us that we came home safe and sound at night (we are 20 something females) and when we needed something from him he was more than happy to aid us (including when we had a big problem with the transportation rental agency and he helped us sort it out and when I lost my voice but needed to speak with the airport when we found a problem with our flight tickets).
We didn't visit the nightly parties he threw at the hotel, but we heard that they were a blast, showcasing Greek talent and the traditional dancing.
Logistics: AC worked beautifully, nice private balconies, big rooms, big pool, very hospitable, included breakfast buffet (good food), nice full showers, towel changes every few days, comfortable beds, very close to Skala Kallonis center and about 5 minute car ride to Kallonis center. Close to a beach (but I would suggest going to another one) and you get a hotel discount there on drinks and what not.

Room Tip: Check that the beds suit your needs (2 people 2 beds or 1?) , working AC, breakfast included?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asvyatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
126 reviews
13.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vatera
93 reviews
8.3 mi away
Michaelia Hotel
Michaelia Hotel
#10 of 13 in Petra
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malemi Organic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malemi Organic Hotel

Property: Malemi Organic Hotel
Address: Skala Kallonis, Skala Kallonis 811 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malemi Organic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malemi Hotel is situated in the heart of Lesvos. Just 500 m. From the traditional fishing town of Skala Kallonis, Malemi Hotel is an ideal location from where one can set off on various activities and travel around the island. The hotel was named after the initials of the names of the owner's George Kapsalis three daughters. This family-run hotel was set up in the late 80's and since then it hasn't stopped developing. Our goal at Malemi Hotel is to make you feel as comfortable as at home and at the same time serve you discreetly but essentially. There is an interesting diversity of people who are attracted in Malemi. In spring and autumn all the pure essence of birdwatching in Lesvos is here. Malemi Hotel has been a popular birdwatching destination for more than a decade. People from all over the word, both amateur and proffesional nature lovers, have been visiting us repeatedly and have been using the hotel as a base for their activities and research. The bird-log is here, the repeaters & the proffesionals who guide the>, all the information that one can need will be talked through during the dinner at Malemi. For more information about birdwatching in Lesvos and other eco-activities see our special section in this site. In the summer there are those who want to enjoy the sun, the pool, the facilities for the kids and the popular beach destinations around the island of Lesvos. There are also others that combine summer holidays with seminars and research and they choose Malemi for its peace, quietness as long with its facilities. Whatever your purpose is for visiting Lesvos, you are more than welcome! The> Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malemi Organic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malemi Organic Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing