We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malemi Organic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A piece of paradise”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We have already booked our fourth holiday in the Malemi hotel. Each year we stayed for 14 days in the middle of July. This place is awsom. Everything is perfect. Malemi hotel is a family hotel, run by George Kapsalis and his family. It has a realy good location in the middle of the island. When you want to explore the other parts of the island, the hotel is a perfect choice. You can use it as a base where you return after a day of exploring. Then you have an excellent dinner. All food is prepared according to greek tradition. We don't know the names of all these traditional dishes but all of them are very tasty. There are buffet breakfasts and dinner.The staff are also very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and cleaned every day. Towel and bed linen were changed 3 times a week. Around the hotel there is a lot of greenery with a big playground for young children. For "big" children there are computers with the internet for free. The hotel also has a big pool with pool bar. From time to time the dinner was served by the pool. On the beach there is another bar called Clo Clo Bar and it belongs to the hotel. There you can lie on sunbeds under sunumbrellas, drink cold drinks and observe the second highest mountain on the island Mount Olimpus. The view is stunning. Our 14-year old daugther made friends with local boys and girls, so she has company by the pool, on the beach and while playing beachvolley.
Because of all these things we feel extremly welcome and that is why we return to this place year after year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medeja h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Great family hotel, the owners and staff really extraordinary to experience a great stay, hotel very clean, very well maintained, excellent rooms, great atmosphere. Very reasonable price. The food is good and tasty. Highly recommended. We definitely go back there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

To start, my friends and I came from New York, going through 4 islands to see the real Greece.
From the moment of our arrival George, the owner, greeted us personally and showed us to some very grand rooms (2 of them). We came near the end of breakfast, but were starving from the overnight ferry from Santorini, and he put off the cleaning of the breakfast buffet so that we can eat. He was very friendly and caring (showing us the real Greek hospitality), going so far as checking on us that we came home safe and sound at night (we are 20 something females) and when we needed something from him he was more than happy to aid us (including when we had a big problem with the transportation rental agency and he helped us sort it out and when I lost my voice but needed to speak with the airport when we found a problem with our flight tickets).
We didn't visit the nightly parties he threw at the hotel, but we heard that they were a blast, showcasing Greek talent and the traditional dancing.
Logistics: AC worked beautifully, nice private balconies, big rooms, big pool, very hospitable, included breakfast buffet (good food), nice full showers, towel changes every few days, comfortable beds, very close to Skala Kallonis center and about 5 minute car ride to Kallonis center. Close to a beach (but I would suggest going to another one) and you get a hotel discount there on drinks and what not.

Room Tip: Check that the beds suit your needs (2 people 2 beds or 1?) , working AC, breakfast included?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asvyatova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Verry sympatic and familiar hotel. a perfect place for birders in springtime or families in summertime. Goerge, the boss of the hotel, is a wonderful person, he helps you in every situation. in the hotel you get the best informations about where to watch birds on the iland. and after birding, you feel at home, to take a bath in the pool or to take a drink at the bar. also in sommertime its a grat place to relax, swimm in the sea, to enjoy the greek way of life or to fill up your batteries in the beautiful garden. Great, rich and typical food! the hotel is also perfect for families!
i spend now 5 times my holidays, for birdwatching in spring and relaxing (birding and swimming) in august. i will come again, George!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greektraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. We have been running holidays for our guests at the Malemi Hotel since 1999 and come back with our valued guests year after year. The owners organize our minibus and car hires and sort any problems we may have efficiently. The food is excellent - varied, Greek and good quality, served buffet style with plenty of choice for everyone. There is a good selection of wines and other beverages. There is always a fantastic buzz about the place, with other wildlife enthusiasts exchanging ideas on best places to visit and where to see special birds and wild flowers. Skala Kallonis is a quiet little harbour situated in the centre of Lesvos, ideal for day trips to explore all parts of the island. The rooms are excellent, spacious and tastefully and individually furnished.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowheadwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the rooms were air and cosy and very well decorated.The food was mediterranean home cooked and the service helpful and kind.The owners were very polite and hospitable.Surely we would recommend it to families that want to enjoy a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lesvos is very beautiful if you loves nature and people. Beautiful flowers and birds if you come after day in nature in the hotel you find an owner, they know anything about live. We had a very nice holiday in Malemi Hotel, everything was very clean. The people are nice and the food was fantastic! If you like to have an holiday you will never forget, go to Malemi Hotel and become friends with the owner, George Kapsalis and his family.
Of course we will come back next year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#6 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Pyrgos of Mytilene
#2 of 6 in Mytilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
22.3 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malemi Organic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malemi Organic Hotel

Property: Malemi Organic Hotel
Address: Skala Kallonis, Skala Kallonis 811 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malemi Organic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malemi Hotel is situated in the heart of Lesvos. Just 500 m. From the traditional fishing town of Skala Kallonis, Malemi Hotel is an ideal location from where one can set off on various activities and travel around the island. The hotel was named after the initials of the names of the owner's George Kapsalis three daughters. This family-run hotel was set up in the late 80's and since then it hasn't stopped developing. Our goal at Malemi Hotel is to make you feel as comfortable as at home and at the same time serve you discreetly but essentially. There is an interesting diversity of people who are attracted in Malemi. In spring and autumn all the pure essence of birdwatching in Lesvos is here. Malemi Hotel has been a popular birdwatching destination for more than a decade. People from all over the word, both amateur and proffesional nature lovers, have been visiting us repeatedly and have been using the hotel as a base for their activities and research. The bird-log is here, the repeaters & the proffesionals who guide the <>, all the information that one can need will be talked through during the dinner at Malemi. For more information about birdwatching in Lesvos and other eco-activities see our special section in this site. In the summer there are those who want to enjoy the sun, the pool, the facilities for the kids and the popular beach destinations around the island of Lesvos. There are also others that combine summer holidays with seminars and research and they choose Malemi for its peace, quietness as long with its facilities. Whatever your purpose is for visiting Lesvos, you are more than welcome! The <> Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malemi Organic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malemi Organic Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing