We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect central island base from which to explore the wildlife of Lesvos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malemi Organic Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkwall
Level Contributor
1 review
“Perfect central island base from which to explore the wildlife of Lesvos”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very friendly and helpful owners and staff. We have been running holidays for our guests at the Malemi Hotel since 1999 and come back with our valued guests year after year. The owners organize our minibus and car hires and sort any problems we may have efficiently. The food is excellent - varied, Greek and good quality, served buffet style with plenty of choice for everyone. There is a good selection of wines and other beverages. There is always a fantastic buzz about the place, with other wildlife enthusiasts exchanging ideas on best places to visit and where to see special birds and wild flowers. Skala Kallonis is a quiet little harbour situated in the centre of Lesvos, ideal for day trips to explore all parts of the island. The rooms are excellent, spacious and tastefully and individually furnished.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowheadwhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    39
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
68
49
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2011

the hotel was very clean and comfortable and the rooms were air and cosy and very well decorated.The food was mediterranean home cooked and the service helpful and kind.The owners were very polite and hospitable.Surely we would recommend it to families that want to enjoy a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etam69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Lesvos is very beautiful if you loves nature and people. Beautiful flowers and birds if you come after day in nature in the hotel you find an owner, they know anything about live. We had a very nice holiday in Malemi Hotel, everything was very clean. The people are nice and the food was fantastic! If you like to have an holiday you will never forget, go to Malemi Hotel and become friends with the owner, George Kapsalis and his family.
Of course we will come back next year!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariska73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

It's five years since my last review of Malemi in 2006. We've just returned from our 10th visit to Malemi and I can honestly say that the hotel just gets better and better. The rooms and public areas are clean, airy and spacious. The service is excellent and breakfast taken alfresco to the accompaniment of classical music makes this place the ideal place to unwind and relax. Where else on Lesvos can you chill out in a hammock on the sundeck, looking out over a field of barley, then go for a cooling dip in the pool, tone up in the hydrotherapy pool or simply soak in the jacuzzi? But what makes us return, year after year, is the wonderful friendship and hospitality extended to us by George, Effie and the family. They always make us feel like we're returning home. My advice to anyone contemplating a stay here is to embrace the Greek way of life (yes, forget you're British for once!), chill out ... and enjoy this gem of a hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Despite being in a good location this hotel is a disaster- The owner Goerge is rude and sits near to the food serving area each evening smoking his pipe!!The food is very low quality,monotonous,cold and is often recycled for group pack lunches.The grounds and surrounding areas are very nice but the plumbing and and hot water supplies leave a lot to be desired .One initial supply of toiletries is all you receive and they are poor quality.We were in a suite which was very roomy but dimly lit especially in the bathroom. The staff are all very pleasant and willing.There is plenty of choice in this lovely resort and we made a mistake please do not make the same one as us.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Quality vacations, nothing touristic about it, nothing pretentious. A greek taste without sirtaki or fake smiles.We found it peaceful with a strong family atmosphere. Lesvos is a wonderful island and Skala Kalloni the most central place to stay.We will return!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_G13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thisted
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The rooms were small but ok. The food (breakfast and dinner) we were served for a week was by any standards old, badly prepared and cheap. George, the owner, can be very rude and sellective.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#6 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Pyrgos of Mytilene
Pyrgos of Mytilene
#2 of 6 in Mytilene
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
22.3 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malemi Organic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malemi Organic Hotel

Property: Malemi Organic Hotel
Address: Skala Kallonis, Skala Kallonis 811 07, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#4 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malemi Organic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malemi Hotel is situated in the heart of Lesvos. Just 500 m. From the traditional fishing town of Skala Kallonis, Malemi Hotel is an ideal location from where one can set off on various activities and travel around the island. The hotel was named after the initials of the names of the owner's George Kapsalis three daughters. This family-run hotel was set up in the late 80's and since then it hasn't stopped developing. Our goal at Malemi Hotel is to make you feel as comfortable as at home and at the same time serve you discreetly but essentially. There is an interesting diversity of people who are attracted in Malemi. In spring and autumn all the pure essence of birdwatching in Lesvos is here. Malemi Hotel has been a popular birdwatching destination for more than a decade. People from all over the word, both amateur and proffesional nature lovers, have been visiting us repeatedly and have been using the hotel as a base for their activities and research. The bird-log is here, the repeaters & the proffesionals who guide the <>, all the information that one can need will be talked through during the dinner at Malemi. For more information about birdwatching in Lesvos and other eco-activities see our special section in this site. In the summer there are those who want to enjoy the sun, the pool, the facilities for the kids and the popular beach destinations around the island of Lesvos. There are also others that combine summer holidays with seminars and research and they choose Malemi for its peace, quietness as long with its facilities. Whatever your purpose is for visiting Lesvos, you are more than welcome! The <> Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Malemi Organic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malemi Organic Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing