We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Biased review from a friend of the Pela Hotel”
Review of Pela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pela Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I have to admit that ever since our first stay at the Pela in 2003, when it was managed by the Kalloni 2 next door, I have enjoyed staying at the Pela every year! Last year when we arrived it was raining quite heavily but we just ignored it because we knew that the weather would improve and sure enough it did!
My wife and I have become good friends with Thekla, her father and the rest of her family and I hate to hear negative comments about them! You couldn't wish to meet a more friendly family who treat everybody with the same friendly manner that they treated my wife and myself the first time that we met them on our second visit in 2004.
The stray dogs can be a problem at times but I don't see why people think that it is Thekla's responsibility! The fault lies with the people who drive down to Skala and literally just dump the dogs!
We will be staying at the Pela again this year, June, and are looking forward to seeing Thekla's younger sister, Pela (the hotel is named after her I believe) and her lovely baby girl!
To all of the people who have written negative reports I would say that I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay!
Well contented
Alan

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Pela Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 136 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

This was our 4th trip to this hotel and as ever the friendliness and professionalism of the staff was outstanding. The rooms were clean, food fantastic and the service second to none. I have read quite a few negative reviews for this hotel, some even slanderous but I have never stayed in a better place where nothing is too much trouble. The authentic greek surroundings (no plastic window shutters) and gardens are beautiful and the atmosphere is relaxed and happy. Our return flight was delayed by 6 hours and unlike many hotels, we were allowed to keep our rooms until departure time and were given a free lunch. We have already booked for next year and are relieved that the miserable moaners who slate this hotel won't be going again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sueyship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I loved the Pela for it's hospitality, excellent home cooked meals, wonderful pool and location. Thekla and her father were wonderful hosts and the staff were all friendly and polite. Yes, the rooms are a little 'retro' (though very clean and certainly more than adequate) and the stray dogs did wake us up early on a couple of mornings, - so we got up / breakfasted early and enjoyed more of the day! Skala Kallonis is a five minute walk away and has plenty of bars and restaurants if you want a change of scenery (though the home cooked meals at The Pela were absolutely wonderful - we therefore only ventured out once, to Ambrosia, which I would also recommend). The Pela has a really good library (book swop) at reception which was excellent, as I went there to chill out and had subsequently read the books I'd taken with me before the end of the first week! We hired bicycles some days, and a car on one day to explore the island and found some lovely villages and towns, all of which were beautiful, and undeveloped. I would highly recommend The Pela to guests who are seeking a typically Greek, relaxing, good value holiday with excellent food and hospitality. If you live for 5* accommodation you probably won't like it (though you'll be missing a little treasure of a place).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boudica_Blighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We have just returned from this hotel after enduring 7 nights of interrupted sleep caused by stray dogs barking throughout the night and loud music from adjacent hotels playing until between 3 and 4a.m. Music is played all day at the pool bar so it is impossible to enjoy a quiet relaxing holiday. We complained to our holiday rep about the dogs but he told us not to encourage them to stay around our room (as if we would!) and Thekla the hotel owner who was present, said her dogs were shut in at night, in other words she doesn't view the stays as being HER problem!
We have stayed on many other Greek islands and have never encountered stay dogs before. Unfortunately we were in the old block of apts. closest to the bar and pool. These are in desperate need of renovation and nothing like the photos on the tour operators website which shows the new ones.
Although no children were staying at the hotel, on 3 days Greek families were allowed to use the pool and pool bar.
The owners were polite to us but that's as welcoming as we were made to feel. They enthused over their "regulars", but surely only those who need little sleep would choose to return here year after year!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WiltshireVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We went back to the Pela after 2 years and it was just how we remembered it and Thekla also remembered us too!!! (not many people can say that after 2 years the hotel owners remembered them).
We were greated from the coach by both Thekla and her father. As some of the reviews have said, the rooms are a bit dated and tired but you only use them for sleeping and showering in. I cannot comment on the self catering rooms as I have not stayed in one of these.
The rooms as basic along with the shower room and wc which are typical Greek.
The breakfast was good, we never had a meal at the Pela as we liked to go into the village and try some of the restaurants there. Enigma is lovely, really nice food and very friendly too. The other places with liked were Paradise and our favourite of all has to be Ambrosia's really great food and very friendly staff too.
Some of the other reviews have said that Thekla is only friendly if your face fits, I am sorry but I don;t agree with that at all as when were where there we saw her talking to all guests.
All the locals are friendly and always say hello to you and it's a really friendly place to stay.
So all in all we had a brilliant time and enjoyed our stay at the Pela, as they always say you cannot please all of the people all of the time......
Even when we were leaving again Thekla and her father were there again to say goodbye and wave us off. All I would say is please don't be put off by the negative comments because the positives outweigh them by a mile.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We travelled to this hotel with high expectations, even though it has two stars from the tour company. Our immediate impression was one of immense disappointment in the standard of the room. Our decision to book a self-catering room had backfired badly with the dingy, substandard room that greeted us. The dark doors and refridgerator in the wardrobe, along with the 'kitchen unit' in the corner were beaten in the substandard stakes by the disgraceful shower room, which we cleaned before using it. The cracked and dirty porcelain and grouting was complemented by the slimy showerhead and holes in the wall. The television was mounted near the ceiling and the remote did not work.

Given this start, we were determined to have a wonderful holiday, which we did. This was achieved by the hiring of a car and seeing the island in all its magnificent glory. The resort of Skala Kalloni had its charm but was marred by the vast numbers of stray dogs and cats that detracted from the outdoor dining at the many restaurants (The fish taverna Enigma is fantastic!!!).

On our first week there was a large party of English who, along with their loud children, demanded the attention of the hotel's owners. Once they had departed the place was totally different - relaxing and idyllic.

This is why we have titled this entry as a hotel of two standards. The guests strongly influence the ethos, which we accept, but the rooms are certainly contrasted in their standards. Once the 'studios' are refurbished this hotel could be a gem, but at the moment we certainly would advise caution before booking. Do not take any notice of the website as the pictures are not representative of what we saw..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Returned to the Pela after a year away. Not much has changed and we were pretty glad.
Had a fantastic week and have nothing bad to say. Yes I will agree that the rooms are small but you only sleep and shower there after all. The pool area, bar and restaurant are all superb. Thekla, her father and the back room staff are all great and nothing is too much trouble.
The village is a lovely traditional working type with fine restaurants and a couple of nice bars and is 10 mins max away from the Pela.
Hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bbyJ0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#2 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
201 reviews
13.1 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vatera
97 reviews
11.6 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: $35 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pela Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Hotel lésbos
Pela Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing