We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pela Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Kalloni Bay Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Imerti Resort Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malemi Organic Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasiphae Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aegeon Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aeolian Gaea Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
89
29
8
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
29
8
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troubleold friendspool barbad publicitycoastal villagelike long lost familythomas cookhotel consistsrelaxing atmospheregreat poolthird visitlunch timemigrant crisisbuffet breakfastlovely islandcleaned every daycold meats
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 138 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We went back to the Pela after 2 years and it was just how we remembered it and Thekla also remembered us too!!! (not many people can say that after 2 years the hotel owners remembered them).
We were greated from the coach by both Thekla and her father. As some of the reviews have said, the rooms are a bit dated and tired but you only use them for sleeping and showering in. I cannot comment on the self catering rooms as I have not stayed in one of these.
The rooms as basic along with the shower room and wc which are typical Greek.
The breakfast was good, we never had a meal at the Pela as we liked to go into the village and try some of the restaurants there. Enigma is lovely, really nice food and very friendly too. The other places with liked were Paradise and our favourite of all has to be Ambrosia's really great food and very friendly staff too.
Some of the other reviews have said that Thekla is only friendly if your face fits, I am sorry but I don;t agree with that at all as when were where there we saw her talking to all guests.
All the locals are friendly and always say hello to you and it's a really friendly place to stay.
So all in all we had a brilliant time and enjoyed our stay at the Pela, as they always say you cannot please all of the people all of the time......
Even when we were leaving again Thekla and her father were there again to say goodbye and wave us off. All I would say is please don't be put off by the negative comments because the positives outweigh them by a mile.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We travelled to this hotel with high expectations, even though it has two stars from the tour company. Our immediate impression was one of immense disappointment in the standard of the room. Our decision to book a self-catering room had backfired badly with the dingy, substandard room that greeted us. The dark doors and refridgerator in the wardrobe, along with the 'kitchen unit' in the corner were beaten in the substandard stakes by the disgraceful shower room, which we cleaned before using it. The cracked and dirty porcelain and grouting was complemented by the slimy showerhead and holes in the wall. The television was mounted near the ceiling and the remote did not work.

Given this start, we were determined to have a wonderful holiday, which we did. This was achieved by the hiring of a car and seeing the island in all its magnificent glory. The resort of Skala Kalloni had its charm but was marred by the vast numbers of stray dogs and cats that detracted from the outdoor dining at the many restaurants (The fish taverna Enigma is fantastic!!!).

On our first week there was a large party of English who, along with their loud children, demanded the attention of the hotel's owners. Once they had departed the place was totally different - relaxing and idyllic.

This is why we have titled this entry as a hotel of two standards. The guests strongly influence the ethos, which we accept, but the rooms are certainly contrasted in their standards. Once the 'studios' are refurbished this hotel could be a gem, but at the moment we certainly would advise caution before booking. Do not take any notice of the website as the pictures are not representative of what we saw..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Returned to the Pela after a year away. Not much has changed and we were pretty glad.
Had a fantastic week and have nothing bad to say. Yes I will agree that the rooms are small but you only sleep and shower there after all. The pool area, bar and restaurant are all superb. Thekla, her father and the back room staff are all great and nothing is too much trouble.
The village is a lovely traditional working type with fine restaurants and a couple of nice bars and is 10 mins max away from the Pela.
Hope to get back again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0bbyJ0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We arrived at the Pela Hotel and found comfortable and clean accommodation, a huge
roomy swimming pool with a well stocked pool bar and warm serving people in the owners Thekla and her Dad. Each day we had delicious lunches around the pool and the odd cocktail which was just the ticket to accompany peaceful, chilled atmosphere
that surrounded the pool. The rooms had air conditioning, and wooden shutters which
kept the temperature pleasant. The linen was changed and the cleaning staff kept the place very tidy. We had an evening meal in the hotel one evening as we explored the
local harbour's tavernas most nights and it was delicious! If we had more time we would
have used it more. The breakfasts in the morning were filling with yoghurts, fruit toppings, breads, eggs, cheese, ham, juices and coffee/tea. Sitting in the patio area
and starting the day with nice company and tasty food was always pleasant.
I used the internet facilities to check mail and books and magazines were
provided should you wish to use them. The hotel is an ideal base from which to
explore the front beach and short walk into the village square. There are many places to
eat and drink cold beer in. Local fish dishes are amazing, sardines, soufalaki, tzaiki,
greek salad are all available there. Having said that the Hotel Pela can provide all mentioned and very tasty. Sampled fava a pureed splitpea dish at the Dionisis on the
front bit of the harbour with fresh bread and olive oil that was memorable!
If you are looking for a simple , natural greek island holiday with lots of quality kindness
and genuine service this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delighted80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed in a self catering studio which was so small it was ridiculous. One bed you had to sleep with your head up against the side of the kitchen sink, and the other you could swing your left foot out to open the fridge door. The wardrobe/cupboard was over the fridge, and 2 people couldn't pass the foot of the beds at the same time. This really is the tiniest room I've ever stayed in. This having been said the pool, bar, restaurant was fine with plenty of space. Thekla and her father who run the place were ok, but they seem to have an "if your face fits" type of attitude to their guests. The resort of Skala Kalloni is nothing special with only a few decent restaurants on offer. I've been on holiday many times to lots of the Greek Islands but Skala Kalloni and the Pela Hotel are not among my favourite. If you're thinking of going to Lesbos, try a different resort and if you want to be able to move around in your room without stubbing your toes or banging into something, don't stay at the Pela!!!!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
4  Thank salthegalSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews