We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pela Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aegeon Hotel(Skala Kallonis)(Great Value!)
$58
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malemi Organic Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imerti Resort Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
$60
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalloni Bay Hotel(Skala Kallonis)(Great Value!)
$44
$36
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aeolian Gaea Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pasiphae Hotel(Skala Kallonis)
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
90
29
8
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
29
8
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troubleold friendspool barbad publicitycoastal villagelike long lost familythomas cookhotel consistsrelaxing atmospheregreat poolthird visitlunch timemigrant crisisbuffet breakfastlovely islandcleaned every daycold meats
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 139 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Once again we have returned from the Pela after having a fantastic week. We took members of our family with us this time and they really loved it. Already booked up for next June. Highly recommended. The owner and his daughters can't do enough for the guests. The food is very good Greek traditional home cooked.

Room Tip: Any room is good
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

the hotel owners were very friendly and good humoured. we got delayed at manchester airport for 11 hrs we did not get to the hotel until 1 am pela 1 of the owners was waiting for us. i asked her if the bar was still open she said of course.the lunches at the were very good and fresh.the evening were great tried them out. we were only there b and b.we had 2 great weeks there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonywerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Returned 21st July from our second two week visit to the Pela, enjoyed as much as last year. Hotel (as most of the island) much quieter - now only 2UK flights per week (1 Manchester & 1 Gatwick) since Thomson pulled out of the island, strange but the foreign arm of Thomson/Tui still taking loads of people there. Good mix of nationalilties in the hotel again - some returners like ourselves who obviously prefer smaller, friendlier places as opposed to the AI hotels which are now becoming more prevalent on the island.

Food in the hotel is very good, whether you choose the 3 course set dinner or from the a la carte menu - as good as, and in some cases better than some of the restaurants.

Emailed the hotel and asked for the same room as last year, one of the older rooms, but perfect for us as late afternoon sun and very quiet. Hotel rooms and surrounding areas kept very clean by the two hard working maids - always had a ready smile and a cheery kalimera.

Clo, Clo bar our favourite for pre dinner drinks - ouzo with accompanying mini meze each time you ordered a drink - meant when you had dinner later a starter was not always needed. No real favourite restaurant - tried one that other people raved about and went there for a birthday celebration meal, starter fantastic but mains left a lot to be desired - all down to personal taste and choice. Still good value eating out, no change in prices from last year for the food or drinks - always received a free dessert or drink wherever we ate.

Hired a car again for 5 days midway through the holiday - did the east coast this time - some very pretty villages and beaches, on other days we returned to Molyvos, Skala Sikaminias? (not sure of spelling) Plomari (to stock up on the best ouzo) and also Skala Eressos and Sigri. Word of warning when leaving Skale Eressos to go to Sigri DO NOT USE THE "ROAD" THAT IS SHOWN AS 12 KILOMETRES - this is not a "road" as we know it, it is not tarmaced just gravel, it is wide enough for a car and possibly a jeep, we started along this "road" and after 2/3 minutes realised we had made a huge mistake, there is no way you could turn around and return to the village, no way to reverse back to the village, and no spots wide enough for two vehicles. Thankfully we did not see any other vehicles whilst on this "road", took us over an hour to cover the 12k. Stopped for lunch at the Remezzo in Sigri, breathed a sigh of relief when we got there, waiter asked us where we were staying on the island and when we told them which route we had taken to get there, he shook his head and said only shepherds etc. used it and that we were very brave. Went there on a Sunday - special lunch menu of lobster giouvetsi was superb, hubby had fried squid which was a whole squid not just a few rings with salad, slightly more expensive than our usual lunchtime fare, but well worth it and deserved after our epic journey there, lots of locals in (we were the only English speaking people there) choosing their whole lobsters from the tank in the restaurant. Needless to say we took the easier route back.

The one legged pelican now swims up to the sunbeds run by Ron and Beryl on the beach - she is greeted with a bowl of cold water, sits on the water's edge until it gets too warm, then hops up to sit with them under the shade for the rest of the day - very obliging when it comes to taking photographs - have more of her than anything else this time - will have to do some ruthless editing!!

Would love to go back in 2013 should we be able to find direct flights - but it is really difficult due to the flight situation - only other alternatives are, for us, flight or drive to London, then Athens, then onto Lesvos - taking almost a full day to get there and the same on the way back. Such a pity as Lesvos is a really nice island, brilliant friendly people and so relaxing (apart from tortuous car journeys) - will just have to keep checking and see if we can find a wa back.

Efharisto poli Thekla, Pelagia and Panioti for a brilliant holiday, hope we will see you again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greecelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just returned from a most enjoyable holiday in this little gem of a hotel, this was our first time at the Pela and hope it will not be the last, we had a pleasant room that was I believe above the normal standard for a hotel of this star rating, it had everthing that you needed for a comfortable stay and was clean and well maintained, the staff were attentive and very helpful with nothing being to much trouble, you just had to ask (thier English was excellent and far better than my Greek), thanks Pela and Thekla from "The Boys"

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheVintageToolCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have just returned after two weeks at the Pela hotel. I think the title of this review says it all.
It is simply the best, the family are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble for them. Looking forward now to September when we will be doing all again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews