We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Room with a view, well nearly.”
Review of Pela Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pela Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Don't go expecting 4 star standards in the rooms and you won't be disappointed. Our twin room was small with a minimum of furniture, a wardrobe (built in) with very dodgy sliding doors that jammed all the time, a fridge built in with the wardrobe and just a few feet away from the bed, so that you could listen to it switching on and off all night, and not enough drawer space. However, on reflection you probably don't need a lot of space for clothes, we took too many. A couple of pairs of shorts, some shirts and a pair of long trousers for the evening. Undies, sandals and a pair of casual shoes should do it. The bathroom was pretty small and really old fashioned with a shower that dribbled hot water when it felt like it and nowhere to put toiletries apart from a small glass shelf above the well worn sink. Rooms need a bit upgrading and a little money could make a lot of difference to the appearance and comfort of the rooms. Our room was a bit prison like, white walls and one very small picture hanging on its own - how about a repaint and some additional but tasteful pictures, a hook on the back of the bathroom door would be appreciated. Asked for a pool view when booking with Thomsons but in the event our allocated room looked out on the roof of the dinning room although you could just see the bar and the the corner of the pool!
Now the good things, the food at the Pela was good and we ate in every night except one. A good menu for a small hotel with very reasonable prices and choices, the house wine was acceptable and well priced. Breakfast was the usual buffet that could do with some improvement on the quality of the offerings but just about acceptable. Please folks get rid of that horrid coffee and hot water machine (makes some of the worst coffee I've tasted) and get back to basics with boiling water for tea and a proper percolator for the coffee. Everything was spotless and despite the age of the room our cleaning ladies did their best and kept the place really clean and tidy. It's a real friendly little hotel and the family are always on hand if you need drinks or snacks so you tend to forget the shortcomings because the people are so nice. The location is fine, just about seven minutes walk to the village. Would we go back ? Maybe, maybe but would probably pay a bit more and go for a slightly higher standard hotel although in terms of value for money the Pela would be hard to beat. Thomsons are not including Lesbos in their 2012 brochures and Thomas Cook don't appear to have the Pela in their brochure which in some ways is a shame. However you can still book independently at a special rate of 20 Euro s a night per room including breakfast by contacting the hotel directly. - just don't get room 103!

Room Tip: Don't get room 103. Rooms in the newer block are much more comfortable and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1401Fixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

Just returned from a brilliant two weeks at the Pela Hotel. We stayed in a self catering apartment which had everything that we needed. The apartment was spotlessly clean on arrival and over the course of the holiday that standard was maintained and the towels and sheets were regularly changed.
This was our first visit to the Pela Hotel and I hope not my last. Thekla and Pela were friendly and helpful to all guests wether first timers or had been many times previously. Nothing was too much trouble for them and Pela was particularly helpful when I needed a denist.
Skala Kalloni itseft is a lovely resort, just what you need for a relaxed holiday, and the Pelicans on the beach are priceless.
All in all I would recommend the Pela Hotel to anyone, we had a great time there and hope to return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deborhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Having visited Skala Kalloni for over eighteen years and also travelling to many other interesting places across the world, without fear of contradiction the Pela Hotel maintains a standard of service that many larger four and five star establishments would struggle to deliver. This year another guest described the hotel to me like a large luxury private villa that's been opened to its guests who come from many corners of Europe. Quite so, with sufficient individual touches to set it above other hotels nearby. First timers and regular visitors, couples, families and lone travellers are all welcomed by Panigiotis and his daughters Thekla and Pela who ensure that they do anything so you have a great stay at their hotel. Next year is, I'm told, a very special year for the Pela Hotel with a "special" tariff to match and flights are available directly and indirectly to Mitilini airport.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

First time to this hotel and the island although frequent visitors to many other Greek islands and the mainland.

Pela, Thekla and Angeliki really looked after us. Some rooms need a little tlc but overall a fantastic place to say. Good mix of people in the hotel - different nationalities but everone spoke/smiled and we used Pela or Thekla to translate if we needed help!! Cleaners spoke less English than we do Greek but a smile and kalimera was all that was needed. Cannot fault the hotel re cleanliness, friendliness etc. 10/10. Would give 4.1/2 rating if possible - only reason for 4 rating was the fact that we had one of the older rooms which needed a little tlc.

Brill situation - easy 5 min stroll to the beach and another 5min after that to the square.
Skala Kalloni is how a Greek hoilday should be (and used to be) - no sports bars or really loud bars, tourists vastly outnumbered by locals so again we tried our pigeon Greek, hand signals etc. to much amusement at times!!
Hired a car for 4 days midway during our holiday-, and covered perhaps 1/3rd of the island - after that just relaxed on the beach - my hubby even said he could manage a third week here!! Normally after 10 days he is ready to come home.
Thomson no longer doing Lesvos next year - so really hoping that Olympic, Thomas Cook do take up this hotel - it is a gem.

Wish we were sat at the bar now having our ouzos and chilling!!!

By the way Ulysses now has a two legged friend - arrived 16/17th July!!! Both very obliging when it comes to taking photos.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Greecelover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

When we pulled into the Pela Thekla and Pela were there to greet us - even though it was raining(!); that didn't last and the sun soon returned. This was our first time, both to the island and to Pela and I am happy to say we hope it won't be the last. We were allocated a room in the old block, which was basic Greek, but certainly adequate for our needs. I agree these rooms could benefit from a bit of a refurb but as we only used ours to sleep and shower we were quite satisfied.
Scala Kalloni is a lovely little village with plenty of tavernas, a couple of bars, a couple of shops and NO 'Banging Bars' - BLISS. The working harbour is a delight - look out for Ulysses, the one-legged pelican who is a permanent fixture. There ARE dogs roaming, which can be a bit of a trial at mealtimes in some tavernas, but most owners shoo them away and, where they don't, the dogs a well-mannered, friendly and patient. They are are also, for the most part, healthy.
Kalloni village is a good hour's stroll away, but you walk through three lovely villages on the way and, as long as you make the journey part of the experience the trip is worhwhile. Also a taxi back - along the main roads - costs 5 Euros, so is a welcome treat.
Favourite eateries? Iliotropio - the Italian restaurant - was fabulous; with fine Italian and Greek cuisine and Theo's bar in the village square for chilling and people watching can't be beat.
All in all, as with everywhere, there will be people who cannot be pleased - there were a few while we were there and, quite honestly, I thought they were simply complaining because that is their nature. The majority of people staying at the Pela had a wonderful, relaxing and happy time.
If you are looking for rest and recuperation, you will find it here. If you want lively, nightclubs and 18-30's style entertainment - you WON'T!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chilled19th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This was our second year at the Pela and we just loved it. Thekla and her Dad greeted us like old friends with genuine affection and this year we met her lovely sister Pela who studied Public Relations. This showed through as once again the family could not do enough for all their guests whether repeat or new and although the majority were in the former category the first timers like us last year were impressed. We met up with people who were there with us last year and it was a great reunion, we also met new faces and got on well in a fantastic friendly family atmosphere. The one recurring question was "are you coming back next year?" - yes we are God willing. We were disappointed that one of the tavernas we frequented for lunch last year had gone but as another correspondent has said they are all good. That said we tended to eat at the Pela as the menu of home cooked food was very good. If you need a cash machine then you do need to go into Kalloni but it is a half hour walk for someone who is not very fit (not sure if the person who said it was an hour was talking about a round trip?). We would concur wholeheartedly with all of the positive comments made by others in their reviews and if you are looking for a steer on whether this hotel is for you then look hard at the positives rather than the negatives they speak for themselves.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarinaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for one week. Hotel is slightly old fashioned but that is some of its charm. Its spotlessly clean, and has all the stuff you need for a laid-back holiday. Good sized pool with loads of sunbeds, and shady seating areas when you have had enough sunbathing. Poolside bar which also serves meals and snacks. Great food in the evening if you dont want to take the stroll into the village. This is a proper family run/owned hotel, and the personal service that the girls gave us was superb (knowing our names/drinks/preferences after only a couple of hours) About 2 minutes walk to the beach (on the flat) and a further 5 minutes into the village, which is really quaint. Its a properly old Greek fishing village, with a few bars and a handful of tavernas. There is not much of a difference between any of the menus, so its a matter of which one you prefer - either on the village square, people watching, or at the side of the beach. You can even have a table at the edge of the water (a la Shirley Valentine). For a quiet, get away from it all holiday this is just the place.
ONLY DOWNSIDES -
There are no banks or ATM machines in the resort, and though the hotels will change travellers cheques and cash if you need a hole in the wall you need to go to the town of Kallonis which is about 7 euros in a taxi, or an hours walk. Or hire a moped or a car so you can explore a bit more of the island, as there is no public transport

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank adrkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.1 mi away
Kalloni Bay Hotel
Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#2 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aegeon Hotel
Aegeon Hotel
#5 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aeolian Gaea Hotel
Aeolian Gaea Hotel
#7 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pela Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: $33 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pela Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pela Hotel lésbos
Pela Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing