We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”
Review of Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aeolian Gaea Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Before we booked this holiday we found very few reviews of this hotel so we were unsure what to expect from a 4 star Greek hotel (having never stayed in one before during travels in Greece). Well, I am most definately converted!

On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room which was huge! It was clean, modern and well equipped. There was plenty of storage for clothes and a place to hid the suitcases away. The room had a kitchenette area with fridge, microwave/grill, hob etc. We have often stayed in B&B hotels in Greece and have never had access to a kitchenette so this was a great bonus. The rooms also had a table and chairs inside (as well as outside), flat screen TV and air conditioning. The bathroom had a proper bath and shower - a rareity in greece. The rooms were cleaned every day to an extremely high standard and we had fresh sheets and towels every day.

The hotel when we were there only had a handful of other guests so it was quiet around the pool, which was a fantastic size and always clean. There was a pool bar and a lovely covered seating area. If you were sitting by the pool they would bring water with ice to you and repeat this throughout the day. There has been no expense spared on the decoration & furniture throughout the hotel which was all modern and very comfortable.

The breakfast was a self-service buffet style. There were different types of bread, bacon and ommlettes, hard boiled eggs, teas/coffees, different types of meats, cheese, feta cheese, tomatoes and cucumber. There was a toaster there to help yourself to as well as a number of different jams/marmalades etc. We also found tinned peaches & pears and fresh fruit (apples and bananas). There was also orange / grapefruit juice available.

The staff were always incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is run by two brothers who we found to be friendly, knowledgeable and pleasant throughout our stay.

The hotel is located about 5-10 mins walk from the resort of Skala Kallonis. The resort is small and is centered around the village square. There are some fabulous tavernas with amazing food. One particular favourite was the one opposite the church on a terrace (cant remember the name) which was very popular with local people as well as tourists. The resort also has a number of bars and two open air clubs which were popular on the weekends (lots of free drinks and shots). If you are looking for a chilled out holiday, to escape and relax then this resort and hotel are perfect.

Although we had not been to Lesvos or Skala Kallonis before and therefore cannot comment on other hotels, i can without a doubt recommend this hotel as the best hotel i have stayed in so far in Greece. Book now!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel for two weeks in May/June 09. We booked the hotel just two weeks before departure via First choice website and we got an excellent price of £385 per person which we thought was outstanding value considering what other guests had paid (we never told them our price) Not only the price influenced our choice, we were particularly attracted to the accommodation which did not disappoint -very good and spacious for Greek standards.

Location

The Hotel is not in a particular scenic location, it is surrounded by residential properties, is about 10 minutes walk from the sea and the town of Skala Kalloni- the road into town is very busy with traffic and smatterings of rubbish everywhere.


The room

Very good size with big balcony, flat screen TV (few English channels), lots of drawer space, free safe. Kitchen area with microwave oven, two hob stove, sink and a fridge. We had no complaints with the room or servicing of the room.


Outside area/pool

Very nice, good size pool with a children’s section -the main pool was quite deep. In my opinion there were areas around the pool that weren’t to child friendly i.e. steep steps!
Sunbeds, tables and chairs were of a very good quality. There was a nice children’s play area just a few metres from the pool-also on site was a Tennis court.


Food/restaurant

In our opinion this was the weak point of the hotel considering the hotel rating of 4*… Breakfast was okay -limited choice -no prepared fresh fruit -odd occasions there was a bowl on the bar top containing a few apples and oranges and one day there was kiwi fruit. Fruit juice was cordial not even concentrated- if the hotel was a 2* then it would have been acceptable but 4* you expect better quality and choice.

Lunch was very limited -no cooked food -only salads and sandwiches -the sandwiches contained the breakfast trays cooked meats! Prices were very expensive considering the standard of food. The hotel is obviously not geared up for catering -one lunchtime they were exceptionally busy one family and ourselves wanted food- it took ages to get a simple salad and a sandwich.

Evening meals- Some guests were on half board (thankfully we weren’t )last order 20.30h. We had a meal one night-again with a very limited choice, it was very nice but very expensive compared to taverna food in town -everything was more expensive- beer, wines, soft drinks, water and ice creams etc.


Entertainment/Bars

No entertainment whatsoever even though during our first week the hotel was supposedly full. The pool bar was open at night -in two weeks I saw one other couple using it occasionally. This is a weak area for a 4* hotel.


Facilities

Gym and sauna- also a tennis court which we played on three times and was excellent -we used the hotel’s rackets and balls - on the three occasions we used the facility a tariff for the use of the equipment was never mentioned. So we were shocked at the end of our holiday when we were asked for 30 euros for the use of the equipment- we stated that we had not been told of any charge when we asked to use the court, nor was there any information in the hotel regarding a charge -they accepted their mistake and wavered the cost!


Other comments

The Hotel is owned by a Greek Family -A Mum, Dad and two brothers -they all have financial business backgrounds not Hotelier service backgrounds and it shows! The everyday running of the hotel is by the two sons -one son is a genuinely nice guy and will do anything to help you and a lovely person to talk to. The other son will try to help you when he can. Mum & Dad are always in the background they don’t miss a thing!

One thing that troubled my wife, myself and a few other guests was that two young Swedish families were asked to leave two days before the end of their scheduled stay. There are two sides to every story but it seems to stem from two main issues - safety around the pool and alleged damage i.e. crayoning on the room walls/items broken.
We felt that the young children were adequately supervised around the pool but clearly the management did not-We noticed that the management looked very uneasy when the children were around the pool as the children were very young- approx 12/15 months old.
We are unable to comment on the alleged damage to the rooms as we only know what we were told by the management and don’t have the view from the families-nevertheless it seemed a bit harsh to us considering the ages of the children.


Summary

Pleasant hotel, average food, nice accommodation, poorly defined bar area, friendly service, location okay but not perfect. Would we rush back? No!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank milesfromewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

We found this on the first choice web site, and what a find, without doubt the best accommodation we have found in Greece. Family run with excellent service and facilities.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone going to the lovely resort of Skalla Kalloni.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

A trip to Lesvos to see the birds. A fellow guest said that the Aeolian Gaea hotel is best kept a secret but that would be unfair. You don't go to Lesvos for the food, but for whatever reason you are going stay here. The family that run the hotel are delightful,our room had everything we needed including lots of space. The bathroom also was large and worked perfectly. Breakfast provided was also very good. This hotel may be slightly more expensive than other local hotels but worth every extra Euro.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stine1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Nem-Skolekort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank dan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.2 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
203 reviews
11.5 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
138 reviews
10.3 mi away
Delfinia Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Heliotrope Hotels
Heliotrope Hotels
#1 of 1 in Varia
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#2 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
210 reviews
8.1 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolian Gaea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: $81 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aeolian Gaea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aeolian Gaea Hotel stands out as the only 4-star “boutique” hotel in Kalloni and the island of Lesvos. Its fine decoration, art and high-end services it offers, target discerning clients, who are passionate and share an exquisite and cosmopolitan taste. This exclusive hotel accommodates a total of 60 guests who always enjoy the personal service, the amenities and its distinctive style.Aeolian Gaea Hotel is located in Skala Kallonis, only 400 m. from the beach. It offers a 250 sq. m. swimming pool with children’s pool, a children’s playground, a fitness room, sauna, a massage room, and a tennis court. Bistrot Aeolis and the pool bar, both adjacent to the pool, offer fresh, organic, local cuisine from Lesvos, with an international twist.!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aeolian Gaea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeolian Gaea Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing