We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value!”
Review of Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aeolian Gaea Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Skala Kallonis is the place to stay if you want to see the island in a few days. It is so central. We stayed here 4 nights in June 2012. This family-run hotel was a superb value. It was clean, the rooms were large, the breakfast was excellent, and the folks running the hotel are super-nice people. It's not on the beach, but we travelled every day and went to some amazing places and never actually tried the beach locally. The pool is outstanding -- far larger than you would expect for a hotel this size. Bring your own beach towel because they aren't available at the hotel (pool towels are available). Try Ambrosia for dinner in Skala Kallonis, it was fabulous. (Will try to review it separately.) Can't say enough nice things about this hotel and the family that runs it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Aeolian Gaea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 106 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

A big thank you to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful week's stay.

We were allowed to check in early and shown to our room (211) which was spacious and very comfortable, with a large balcony and excellent self catering facilities. The pool was fantastic, especially compared to some accommodation we have stayed in in Greece, and the breakfast was delicious, varied and plentiful. Nothing was too much trouble for the family who own and run the hotel, and they were able to give excellent recommendations for day trips all over the island. I would say car hire is a must though.

Skala Kalloni is low key and very Greek (if you see what I mean). 'Ambrosia' was a superb all-round taverna for all the usual specialities, 'Mimis' was a great, old-fashioned and reasonably priced fish taverna and 'Faros' (Lighthouse) was a ridiculously good, totally local place for gyros, souvlaki etc...

If you want a beach, don't stay here-go to Skala Eresou in the west. If you want historic chic, with an uber cute harbour, go to Molyvos, but I can highly recommend Skala Kalloni as authentically Greek, friendly, resonably priced and central for seeing all the island has to offer.

Room Tip: 211 seemed to have a bigger balcony than some rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A Spring birding holiday in Lesvos is made all the more enjoyable by staying at the Aeolian Gaea Hotel in Skala Kallonis. This family-run hotel is an excellent base and all facilities are of a very high standard, from the delightful breakfasts with home-made preserves to the well-furbished suites and rooms. Everyone is so pleasant and welcoming. Highly recommended.
Gordon J.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Have now stayed in this hotel on four consecutive years. The accommodation is spacious, very clean and well equipped. The owner family are very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We were on bed and breakfast and the food was of excellent quality with lots of choice and much of the produce was sourced from the owners own farm. A delightful base for a holiday in Lesbos as it is very central.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We stayed at this hotel - summer 2011 and had a wonderful time. My partner and I were made welcome from the moment we were dropped off by the coach to the moment we left. Family run - nothing is too much trouble. Our room was large, spectacularly clean and well equipped. Our balcony looked out onto fields and it truly felt as if we had our own special getaway. The pool was immaculate and there was always somewhere to sit and relax. The food was amazing - excellent breakfasts, every day a new delicacy to try and most of the produce from the family's own farm. Most evenings we chose to eat at the hotel - excellent value and always something new to try. This is a quiet hotel, surrounded by fields and a short wak to the beach and town. We were desperate for some sun and a rest and got just what we wanted. Next time we plan to go for two weeks!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

we can only agree with all the previous positive comments about this wonderful place. excellent hotel, excellent hosts, the family made us very welcome. we were bed and breakfast, the food good quality, wide range and plentiful. looked forward every morning to see what delicacies there was. facilities were in good condition, the pool area was quiet, no intrusive music just a serene atmosphere. cleanliness in the rooms was very good with maid service every day. resort was small and quiet,although there is no local bus service, pharmacy or doctor, you have to travel into Kalloni which costs around 5 euros by taxi. also there no money exchanging facilities again you have to travel into Kalloni. good selection of tavernas around the town square but we found 'Ambrosia' best food, best hospitality and local wine very good value. lovely small harbour but full of activity. very relaxing holiday just what we were looking for, wanted and needed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juledoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A delightful hotel in a spectacular location on a lovely island. If you seek peace and relaxation in a place which combines modern facilities with old fashioned charm and friendliness then this is it. The hotel exceeded our expectations quite significantly. It is a family run operation and has a homely feel about it. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way they can. The room we stayed in was detached from the main hotel. It was large and contained a dining table, chairs and sofa as well as two single beds pushed together. Fridge,cooking and kitchen facilities were provided albeit that we took most of our meals at either the hotel or local restaurants. There was a balcony with table and chairs providing a view over the country side to the rear. The room was air conditioned (no additional charge). All windows (including patio door) had mesh allowing them to be opened without the risk of unwanted insects entering. The hotel is decorated and maintained to a high standard. There is a pool side bar. Breakfast is self service catering for every taste (continental, English etc). The standard of food is very good. Lunches are available every day. We were a little concerned that the hotel would be too far from the village, but it is a ten minute walk along a well maintained road with footpaths in places. The village provides numerous restaurants serving high quality food. It also boasts a square which has a nice atmosphere particularly in the evenings. The hotel provides a splendid setting to enjoy this part of the island. If you are a committed "twitcher" we are reliably informed that this is the place to do it from!

Room Tip: If you book direct then you can request the type of room you want. All reception staff speak excell...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMFettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.5 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
201 reviews
11.9 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#1 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
206 reviews
8.4 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
120 reviews
13.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Vatera
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolian Gaea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aeolian Gaea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aeolian Gaea Hotel stands out as the only 4-star “boutique” hotel in Kalloni and the island of Lesvos. Its fine decoration, art and high-end services it offers, target discerning clients, who are passionate and share an exquisite and cosmopolitan taste. This exclusive hotel accommodates a total of 60 guests who always enjoy the personal service, the amenities and its distinctive style.Aeolian Gaea Hotel is located in Skala Kallonis, only 400 m. from the beach. It offers a 250 sq. m. swimming pool with children’s pool, a children’s playground, a fitness room, sauna, a massage room, and a tennis court. Bistrot Aeolis and the pool bar, both adjacent to the pool, offer fresh, organic, local cuisine from Lesvos, with an international twist.!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aeolian Gaea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeolian Gaea Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing