We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Hotel”
Review of Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aeolian Gaea Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Skala Kallonis
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A delightful hotel in a spectacular location on a lovely island. If you seek peace and relaxation in a place which combines modern facilities with old fashioned charm and friendliness then this is it. The hotel exceeded our expectations quite significantly. It is a family run operation and has a homely feel about it. The staff are extremely friendly and willing to assist in any way they can. The room we stayed in was detached from the main hotel. It was large and contained a dining table, chairs and sofa as well as two single beds pushed together. Fridge,cooking and kitchen facilities were provided albeit that we took most of our meals at either the hotel or local restaurants. There was a balcony with table and chairs providing a view over the country side to the rear. The room was air conditioned (no additional charge). All windows (including patio door) had mesh allowing them to be opened without the risk of unwanted insects entering. The hotel is decorated and maintained to a high standard. There is a pool side bar. Breakfast is self service catering for every taste (continental, English etc). The standard of food is very good. Lunches are available every day. We were a little concerned that the hotel would be too far from the village, but it is a ten minute walk along a well maintained road with footpaths in places. The village provides numerous restaurants serving high quality food. It also boasts a square which has a nice atmosphere particularly in the evenings. The hotel provides a splendid setting to enjoy this part of the island. If you are a committed "twitcher" we are reliably informed that this is the place to do it from!

Room Tip: If you book direct then you can request the type of room you want. All reception staff speak excell...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMFettler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Aeolian Gaea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned from a weeks stay in this wondeful, relaxing, peaceful hotel. It is spotlessly clean, the rooms are very large with air conditioning, TV, hairdryer, firdge and small kitchenette if you want it. The swimming pool is large and well maintained and at times we almost felt it was our private pool. We too loved the touch of bringing iced water to you twice a day if you were round the pool. There is also a gym and an astroturfed tennis court.
We cannot praise George, his wife and their two sons enough. So friendly and hospitable. Nothing was too much trouble. The Breakfasts were good, a lot of food was homegrown, figs from the tree, eggs from their hens and George's wife makes the excellent marmalade.
Skalla Kalloni is about 400m walk away but on a level, no hills. It is a small village with bars and restaurants around the square. All are good but we would particularly recommend the Trattoria. There are a lot of stray cats and dogs around but none are aggressive. There is no night life as such but if you enjoy people watching the square is the place to sit. The beach is cleaner further away from the village centre and sunbeds there are 6E for two sunbeda and an umbrella. Enjoy the antics of the two very tame local pelicans. Loved it!

Room Tip: Don't think you could get a bad one here.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank migsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed the Aeolian Gaea Hotel from 1st September till 8th 2011 .Wonderful ! Clean. Quiet and very friendly family run Hotel.We stayed in a room overlooking the swimming pool and counryside.Ice cold water was brought round the pool morning and afternoon,a lovely touch.There is a library of books if you forgot to bring one ,or as I did ,finish one and left it and took another.The mesh inner door of the patio is a good idea if you like to sleep with the door open as there's no chance of mosquitos getting in.
The rooms are big and facilities wanting nothing.A lovely holiday.
Thank you all and Kaloxi me roma

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but if you want an apartment for 4 or more people ,they are very large and v...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buttercup243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the Aeolian Gaea and can vouch for all the wonderful comments already posted. The hotel is perfect for a relaxing holiday, is very well run and well located. It's well appointed with excellent facilities and the rooms are a very good size, well equiped and exceptionally clean, as are the pool and gardens. The best part though is the Theodorou family who own the hotel. They couldn't make you more welcome or be more helpful and friendly and made it a holiday to remember for all the right reasons. The other staff were also so friendly and made sure you enjoy your stay. In no time at all you feel like a firend not a hotel guest.

The island is very unspoilt and well worth exploring, we spend four days visiting varoius places all over the island and there is a good mix of scenery and places to explore.

Skalla Kalloni is a super village just ten minutes wals away with a pretty harbour, a village square that has character and a good choice of good quality bars and restaurants. There are two beaches with all the usual facilities. It is the best resort we have been to and if you want a quite holiday in soemwhere that feels like Greece we would recommned it. Another thing we found was how friendly all the Greek people we met where, whether in a shop, supermarket, the local bakery (do try it as its worth the short walk from the hotel) or just out and about they all had a smile and were so welcoming, such a nice change from a "factory" resort.
All in all the best hotel and holiday we have had, so no surprise that we plan to return

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

You could not ask for a better hotel in terms of service, accommodation and location. The hotel is run by two sons and their mum and dad. They are indeed a lovely family and made our stay most welcome. The rooms are spaceous and spotless. Most of the food used for breakfast is grown on their farm and therefore is very fresh and tasty. The pool is beautiful and always clean! There are plenty of sun beds and often we had the pool to ourselves. We had a fantastic relaxing time at this hotel and definately would say here again. Unlike other hotels, there is no need to claim a sunbed in this hotel!

The fishing village and beach were just a ten minute walk away. It was very uncommercial which is what we found most attractive. There were plenty of restaurants / tavernas to choose from. There was a lovely bakery just down the road.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollymoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is all that previous reviews have stated: very clean, quiet, friendly staff, spacious room, good bathroom, lovely pool and excellent homemade food. There is a gym, tennis court and sauna which cost 5 euros per day to use. Air conditioning is very efficient. It takes 10 minutes to walk to the beach or town - turn left out of the hotel and then right at The Pasiphae, this road takes you to one of the beaches. On here you can be on a deserted area and shelter in the trees or can pay 6 euros for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella, a British couple run one of the sections and also provide a coolbox, clips to hold on towels and a pillow per sunbed, they also provide beach games and lilos to use. they have a few pedalos and windsurf board and kiaks. Instead of turning right, carry straight on and it takes you to the town which is closed off to traffic at night; turn left by the football pitch and you come to a fab bakers, turn left out of the bakers and you pass a couple of mini markets and tasteful souvenier shops and reach the main square/harbour. To the right is another beach which extends to the salt flats. If you take sunbeds and umbrella here they are free if you purchase a dring from the bar area. The sea is shallow with minimal tides, there are many crabs and some jellyfish, there are seaweed patches but also patches without seaweed. Our favourite tavernas were Seahorse and Ambrosia; you can selct your own fish at Medusa and the Italian restaurant is more expensive but superb food. We took a trip to The Wild West and to Pergamon in Turkey, both excellent with great guides. If you want a totally relaxing holiday, Scala Kalloni is the place to be, and Aeolian Gaea the hotel to stay!

Room Tip: No rooms will be particularly noisy, the rooms in the main block are shaded in the afternoon which w...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

This is the third year we have stayed at the hotel and it gets better! The family are so welcoming and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The atmosphere around the pool is so relaxing and there is always room to find a sunbed. It is a wonderfully peaceful and restful holiday. I love the cake for breakfast and the homemade ice-cream this year was delicious!
Many thanks to the family for all they do and we look forward to seeing them next year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skala Kallonis
0.5 mi away
Malemi Organic Hotel
Malemi Organic Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
201 reviews
11.9 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#4 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#2 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
206 reviews
8.4 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
120 reviews
13.0 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Vatera
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aeolian Gaea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aeolian Gaea Hotel

Address: Skala Kallonis 81107, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Skala Kallonis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Skala Kallonis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Skala Kallonis
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aeolian Gaea Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aeolian Gaea Hotel stands out as the only 4-star “boutique” hotel in Kalloni and the island of Lesvos. Its fine decoration, art and high-end services it offers, target discerning clients, who are passionate and share an exquisite and cosmopolitan taste. This exclusive hotel accommodates a total of 60 guests who always enjoy the personal service, the amenities and its distinctive style.Aeolian Gaea Hotel is located in Skala Kallonis, only 400 m. from the beach. It offers a 250 sq. m. swimming pool with children’s pool, a children’s playground, a fitness room, sauna, a massage room, and a tennis court. Bistrot Aeolis and the pool bar, both adjacent to the pool, offer fresh, organic, local cuisine from Lesvos, with an international twist.!!!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aeolian Gaea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aeolian Gaea Hotel Lesbos/Skala Kallonis, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing