We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good option on the fringe of Bath”
other travelers have booked this property
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Leather, wood and some great style come together to give you the ultimate home from home and more. Solid oak floors, oak painted kitchen & Bosch oven & hob. No expense spared!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Leather, wood and some great style come together to give you the ultimate home from home and more.
Solid oak floors, oak painted kitchen & Bosch oven & hob. No expense spared!
Super comfortable beds, Egyptian cotton linen,lots of space. Ensuite room has a huge wardrobe.
Another lovely bedroom. Both have huge built in mirror wardrobes, so plenty of room for clothes!
Main bathroom, with lots of travertine tiling, a large bath and plenty of lighting & fluffy towels!
The ensuite shower room. You will appreciate the under floor heating and the fluffy towels!
One of the views of the River Avon & the Bathampton meadows from the rear windows.
The Coach House takes self catering to a new level. A rare blend of style, comfort and relaxation
Freshly converted in May 2013, using traditonal materials. The Coach House is the one nearest to you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tedstrave...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
296 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
“A good option on the fringe of Bath”
Reviewed April 26, 2019 for a stay in April 2019

The advertising material here pretty much tells you what to expect and there were no surprises for us. If your interests lay in or around Bath or the Cotswolds this is a modern, well-located and comfortable place to stay. We took the one-bedroom, two-bathroom only option which was a neat compromise that provided spacious accommodation at a good-value tariff. There were a few flaws that robbed it of perfection, but they did little to compromise our stay and we would come back. Indeed, we probably will.

The good: the booking process was simple and the follow-up and check-in communications worked well. The suite is modern, spacious, bright, clean and comfortable. Everything expected was there and it mostly worked as expected. The main (rear) bedroom was roomy, the king bed was comfortable, the linens crisp and clean and we were each able to find a favourite pillow. The bath linens were clean, plush and plentiful. We used both bathrooms which would be more than adequate for a family but domestic bliss for a couple. Which bathrooms were clean, of adequate size and nicely fitted out. The upstairs living/dining/kitchen area was spacious and well equipped and the furnishings and fittings are modern, stylish and comfortable. The included Wifi worked OK on all our devices. Parking is included right opposite the entry door. There are a couple of fair quality dining options at Bathhampton bridge within a 10-minute walk – or even shorter drive.

The not so good: no much to report here but some of the kitchenware required more cleaning before we were comfortable using it. The water pressure from both electric showers was anaemic and the temperature occasionally suffered erratic and discomforting fluctuations in the main bathroom. We saw that the same problem has been reported from the ensuite shower in the past but whatever the problem was seems to have been conveyed to main shower now. The bathroom lighting is OK for most operations but ineffective for shaving or making up.

Need to know: if the city of Bath is your primary reason for staying here then it is a little out of town; maybe a 10-15 minute drive or you can take the scenic and leisurely river ferry from Bathampton Mill, or an even more leisurely river walk – say an hour or so.

Date of stay: April 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2019
Thanks for your very comprehensive review Ted, and for taking so much time to write so objectively. We really appreciate it. We are pleased you were impressed overall and where we fell short, we will review and see where we can improve. The shower thing is a bit of a mystery. We installed a new shower unit recently and can't replicate any issues like those you mention, but we will try again. Hope to welcome you again soon Regards
John and Jane
stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed December 26, 2018 for a stay in December 2018

Date of stay: December 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2019
We like to exceed expectations Teresa, so it's nice to hear we did that with you :-) We are sorry we can't sell the Coach House to you, but please come and visit us again soon :-)

Regards

John and Jane
stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JOH74
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend base”
Reviewed December 1, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

4 of us had a lovely time at the Coach House. It had everything we needed and was lovely and warm, did struggle with the showers initially but seemed to suss them by the end. Great base with easy access into Bath, we walked, got the bus and had a taxi. I wouldn’t choose to go on a weekend when the Christmas Market is on again but the property was great. Thanks

Date of stay: November 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2018
Thanks Jo. Glad you enjoyed the Coach House even though the Xmas market was not your thing.

Regards

John and Jane
stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trip72527...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location.”
Reviewed June 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Super transport links into Bath. Lovely river trip. All in all a great Base. Was very warm in double bedroom. Would have preferred a window that opened. A garden would have made this almost perfect. ( I realise that a garden is impossible at this property)

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2018
Thanks Rhona. Glad you enjoyed it overall. As you saw there is no space for a garden as such though we have the nice car parking area by the oak tree with plant, flowers and lighting . It was particularly warm when you came. Normally the house is much cooler.

Regards

John and Jane
Stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian W
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern Luxury”
Reviewed January 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a late post, we stayed in 2015. Really enjoyed our stay, the Coach House was very secure and modern interior. We walked into Bath centre each day (about 20-30 mins) and was an easy walk. The more picturesque walk along the canal was much more beautiful and took an extra 20 mins. Would highly recommend the only bad point was the poor pressure in the downstairs shower.

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2018
Thanks Ian, we appreciate all reviews even if they are almost 3 years after you stayed :-) Glad you still have good memories anyway.

The only issue we have with the showers is if 2 people use both at the same time or flush the loo as there is only so much water pressure available. Used on their own there is no issue.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
How could we ask for a better review than this Lee?

We are so pleased you had such a nice time and especially that you experienced one of our special Vintage Cream Teas which Deborah our housekeeper loves to do.

Pleased you were able to leave the car as well and could enjoy everything about our special area.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2018
Thanks Anna. We are very pleased you enjoyed your New Year stay and hope you will come back again soon :-)

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing