We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice but...”
other travelers have booked this property
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Leather, wood and some great style come together to give you the ultimate home from home and more. Solid oak floors, oak painted kitchen & Bosch oven & hob. No expense spared!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
A stylish blend of traditional and modern. There's a large dining table and breakfast bar
Leather, wood and some great style come together to give you the ultimate home from home and more.
Solid oak floors, oak painted kitchen & Bosch oven & hob. No expense spared!
Super comfortable beds, Egyptian cotton linen,lots of space. Ensuite room has a huge wardrobe.
Another lovely bedroom. Both have huge built in mirror wardrobes, so plenty of room for clothes!
Main bathroom, with lots of travertine tiling, a large bath and plenty of lighting & fluffy towels!
The ensuite shower room. You will appreciate the under floor heating and the fluffy towels!
One of the views of the River Avon & the Bathampton meadows from the rear windows.
The Coach House takes self catering to a new level. A rare blend of style, comfort and relaxation
Freshly converted in May 2013, using traditonal materials. The Coach House is the one nearest to you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
PVFC2013
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice but...”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
4
people found this review helpful

We found this holiday rental very nice, it's clean, spacious, has good parking spaces, and is ideal for catching the bus into Bath, and although the main road at the top of the drive can get busy, you don't hear the traffic noise in the cottage. The extras left by the owners are a nice touch and the A-Z was very handy to go with the 'recommended places'. However now the negatives of our stay, all to do with interrupted sleep: A) the frosted glass doors in the bedrooms and bathrooms look nice but if you are using both bedrooms and somebody gets up earlier than you and switches their light on, although not a spotlight effect, it does show through the bedroom doors, and added to that when we arrived the switch to the mirror lights in the bathroom was broken so couldn't be turned off, leaving the first bedroom with a blue glow shining in the door all night. Maybe a slim pulldown blind could be attached the back of the bedroom doors to prevent this. B) no trouble with the air ventilation system for 2 nights but on the final night it started to make a loud whirling noise at 3am waking all 3 members of the cottage up. The noise continued all night/morning and I finally gave up on getting any sleep, not ideal when having to drive 4 hours home! C) In fairness this is beyond the owners control but if like us you have somebody next door who can't close a draw or wardrobe door, they have to slam it shut, then re slam it for good measure, and run up the stairs as loud as they can, then you will hear it in the bedrooms (but not upstairs). In conclusion, this is a nice, spacious, convenient place to stay, but even if you're not light sleepers like we aren't, I'd recommend taking earplugs otherwise there's a chance you'll have your holiday ruined by interrupted/lack of sleep.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2013
We have had some anguish reading your review and we are sorry your stay wasn't as perfect as we always wish it to be for our guests. We were aware the tiny LED lights around the bathroom mirror couldn't be switched off as the previous guest had broken the switch. We couldn't access a replacement in time for your stay but felt the faint glow from the mirror was not enough to cause any issues and might actually be a help as it would guide someone to the bathroom at night, perhaps negating the need for the main lights. No-one has ever mentioned lights disturbing them before and indeed many of our guests have said they have experienced the most comfortable sleep in their lives in our beds, so we didn't think it was an issue. But now you have raised it we will look at some blinds behind the doors. The ventilation system noise is a puzzle as it's not something we have experienced and nor have any of our guests. Normally the boost would only come on when cooking, so we are sorry it disturbed you. We are also shocked you could hear anything from next door, as the building has this year passed the very latest noise test for building regulations, which is extremely stringent. We can only surmise the guests in the adjoining property were very noisy indeed as again, this is not an issue which has ever been raised before, our most regular comment being how peaceful and quiet the place is. We are pleased you appreciated the cottage's other qualities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sadie V
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I've just come home from a weekend staying at The Coach House and all I can say is 'Wow!' We have lots of girlie weekends away and this is by far the nicest place we've stayed. The bus stop right outside took us straight into Bath where we shopped in that beautiful City 'til we dropped!' The beds were more comfy than our beds at home and the little goodies when we arrived (fresh loaf, milk, egs, wine, cheese butter etc) was very welcome. Deborah was the perfect housekeeper, texting when we arrived to make sure we were happy with everything. The worst part about our stay................................was having to go home!! We will DEFINITELY be back. Thank you xxx

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2013
WOW! Thanks for such an enthusiastic review, we really appreciate it and it makes all our hard work worthwhile. We would love to see you again and give you an equally memorable stay in Bath. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jilltyler
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Beautiful accommodation ideally situated for Bath. We holidayed with my sister who has cancer and one of the things on her bucket list was a visit to Bath to do the spa. This was perfect and she really enjoyed the weekend. The information pack gave us everything we needed, the property was clean and well presented. Bus stop outside and the oldies amongst us used their bus passes into Bath. So easy. Good restaurants and pubs close by. Will definitely come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2013
How kind of you to write and we are very pleased you had a good time. All our best wishes to your sister and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve P
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Great Place!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We loved the Coach House. It's superbly kitted-out and very roomy. A great kitchen, large TV and a very comfy beds. Add to these, a perfect location for getting into Bath (by bus, bus-stop just outside or 15 minutes by car), secure and easy parking for cars and under-floor heating (toasty feet in no time in November!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: look and feel of the rooms
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed the Coach House so much. We have always been proud of it and it's nice when others love it as well. See you again soon we hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K F
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodation was first class,rooms very clean,welcome pack from landlord very appreciated(eggs,milk&tea etc),after a journey,it was lovely to be able to have a cup of tea,The coach house situated in a lovely location,not too far from Bath,we actually had a lovely walk into Bath by the canal towpath(takes about 45 minutes),met the landlord,who make us very welcome,overall an excellent break,would have not have any problem recommending to friends or relatives,which i have already done,Kieran&Bernie Farmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Facilities&cleanliness of property.
Liked least: nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2013
A big thanks for taking the time to write a review, which we really appreciate. Glad you enjoyed the walk into Bath, it's a very nice way in to the City, from a different perspective. Hope to look after some of your friends and colleagues in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P L
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“At last, an exceptionally clean, quiet, comfortable pleasant place to stay in Bath.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Exceptionally clean, quiet and well thought out accommodation. The bathrooms were of a high standard and the roomy living space upstairs was comfortable with everything we required plus a super view of the river and across to Bathampton. Lovely bedrooms with very comfortable beds. The owners had kindly left complementary bread, butter, best cheddar and wine, also coffee/tea/milk and a bottle of decent wine to welcome us. We often have to stay in Bath, we have tried many hotels 3* to 5*. The Coach House beat them all in value for money, cleanliness and comfort & being able to eat when one wanted- we will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was new fresh,clean and well thought out.
Liked least: The sticky stuff that floated down from the lovely oak tree in courtyard onto my car.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 19, 2013
We are feeling warm and tingly reading your review :-) Our over-riding aim is to provide this kind of very high quality experience and we spend much time and energy puzzling over all the fine details. So it's brilliant when we get this kind of feedback - thank you so much and see you again soon. John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel K
Phnom Penh
1 review
“We felt so at home here....”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

John & Jane are obviously very meticulous people. The 8-page guide they e-mailed us contained directions to the place, how to live in it, operate the appliances and even information on getting around, places to eat etc. It was informative enough without have to seek more info! The house is located in a quiet area with a lovely view of a little creek and field. Very peaceful! It is equipped to a reasonably high standard (modern), under floor heating and most important; it was clean. There was even milk and tea, eggs in the fridge, a bottle of wine when we arrived! One would have thought that John and Jane invited their friends over to stay in their "country home". We felt so at home right away and wished we could have stayed longer. John & Jane have set high benchmarks for all other self catering places to meet. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well equipped home.
Liked least: Parking under a tree.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and for taking the trouble to write. You are our first guests from Cambodia and we hope we will welcome more of your fellow countrymen in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing