We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely cosy-but-modern cottage wonderfully...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Malthouse No 4

Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
Living/dining area Close up
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Living area
Living/dining area
Close up
Kitchen area
Second bedroom
Landing
Family bathroom
Close up
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bath Royal Cresent
Batheaston Village
External
External
External
Thermae Bath Spa - Visit Bath
Thermae Bath Spa - Visit Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Erisina
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
“A lovely cosy-but-modern cottage wonderfully close to Bath.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We really enjoyed staying at The Malthouse no 4. It was a comfortable and welcoming place to be. Having gone there on holiday from our current home in Brazil, we had quite a few visitors while staying there and everyone remarked how lovely it was.

Only way it could have been better was if the midway clean (after a week) was more than just a bedding change.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sofas, bath, having a dishwasher, countryside and proximity to Bath!
Liked least: We had some issues with the internet at a time when it was essential.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeasonedT...
Wirral England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Break!”
Reviewed January 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Having booked 5 star self catering properties all over the British Isles during early December for the last 20 years, I have become something of an expert! I travel all over the world in 5 star hotels and have very discerning taste.I expect excellence on every level and the Malthouse did not disappoint. I booked this property for my husband and I and my sister and her husband for 4 nights on the run up to Christmas.
Before arriving, I corresponded with Terri several times and found her to be warm, accommodating and friendly, always a bonus when you don't know the area terribly well. The property is delightful and furnished to a high standard, we even enjoyed the benefit of a Christmas tree! It is warm and cosy, but roomy enough not to get under each others feet. Parking was a welcome bonus and being secure, very reassuring although I cannot imagine it is necessary! Location is excellent with a bus stop into the city literally a stone's throw away and views from the bedrooms are quite lovely The cottage is fairly well equipped although as an enthusiastic cook, I missed some of the additional dishes and dining paraphernalia that I would have liked, probably not a consideration most would think about, but I am trying to be both fair and honest. Some extra casserole type dishes would have been useful although if you are not planning anything elaborate, the pots and pans provided are adequate. We had only one problem during our stay and that was with the heating system but David was round almost immediately, during the evening, to fix the problem and provide back up heating in case it went wrong again, very impressed with this!! The Malthouse is a lovely property and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay; wouldn't hesitate to book again if we need somewhere to stay near Bath!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: Lack of cooking utensils
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cottage in a great location”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in the malt house for NYE for three nights. The cottages are beautifully kept and looked after, and has been decorated perfectly. The location is great, with only being a few miles from bath city centre. Would recommend for anyone looking for a get away.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SadBanjo
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“traditional charm with contemporary appeal”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for a week at Malthouse No.4 with my partner and child and it provided an ideal base for us to explore Bath, Somerset and Wiltshire.

The Malthouse has a nice combination of traditional charm and contemporary fittings, so provided home comfort and decent facilities alongside some nice decorative touches.

Whenever contacted during our stay, the owner David was extremely helpful.

The location is interesting in that despite being off a busy main road, it's surprisingly quiet (the property has countryside views at the back).

It's ideally located for driving into Bath, and within 10 minutes walk there are some decent local shops, pubs and newsagents.

Nearby Northend is a pretty village off Batheaston that's also worth investigating.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela T
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We've stayed at the Malthouse for a long weekend for the last 3 years (staying in No. 2 & No. 3 previously), & did not hesitate in booking No. 4 for our visit this October. Once again we were delighted with the accomodation. The decor is superb, well thought out & very clean. There is secure parking for the car & a place to sit out when the weather is good.
OK it's not in the middle of Bath, but for the price & excellent accomodation we definitely wouldn't stay elsewhere.
I regularly use the very convenient bus stop near the cottage & very regular bus service which gets you right into the centre of Bath, this from a person who does not "do" buses normally!
We always eat at the Bathampton Mill which is close by.
The booking process is very easy, & Terri & David are always contactable if there are any queries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor & cleanliness
Liked least: Liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarah_x_c
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We soaked up the loveliness of Bath at the Malthouse!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Malthouse was a fantastic place to stay while in Bath, it was so much more than we expected.
Traveling with 2 small children in October 2013 we looked for 'homes' that would let us recover from the days adventures. The malthouse was in a perfect location. So close to Bath town centre but far enough to retreat at night. THe view of the city lights at night was so lovely to see, however waking and opening the frost covered window to discover fields and a stream was also a welcomed sight.
The cottage felt warm and welcoming and was very well kept. The welcome package of bread and milk and even a complimentary bottle of wine was again more than we expected. The malthouse is high on our list of memories from one of our best family holidays - so to make the list is an achievement. My husband would also like to stress that it was 'great value for money'! We have already recommended to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome package. location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing