We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Old Workshop”
other travelers have booked this property
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The lounge and kitchen/dining area are upstairs to maximise the views
The kitchen has lots of oak and some nice Farrow and Ball paintwork, plus all the appliances and equ
Another shot of the light and airy kitchen and dining space
Here's another shot of the kitchen
There are two lovely leather Chesterfields you can relax in and lots of light.
The kitchen area. Hopefully you can see the quality!
The ensuite bedroom at the rear of the property
This is the shower room when both bedrooms are in use. There is also the ensuite off the rear bedroo
The super king size bed is 6' 6 long. The biggest you will find in any holiday rental
The bedrooms are on the ground floor. Underfloor heating feels luxurious under your feet!
Light streams in to the living/dining area in our holiday cottage
The 'front' bedroom, made up with two single beds. You can have it as a super king as well - it's yo
The drive way down to the Old Workshop which is the 2nd on the right, behind the oak tree
Difficult to take a meaningful picture of a shower, but hopefully you get the idea!
Our first testimonial for the Old Workshop holiday cottage
Flowers are still blooming in the courtyard
The view from the living/dining area of the 2 bed holiday cottage over the Bathampton meadows
Another view of the lounge in the cottage
The lounge area of our 2 bed holiday cottage in Bath
Another picture of the lounge in our holiday cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
daisychai...
Noosa, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Old Workshop”
Reviewed June 21, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived in Batheaston after a 22 hr flight from Australia & a 2 hr drive from London. Our GPS kept telling us we were “here” but it took a further hour to find the entry to our accommodation. Might be a good idea to tell prospective tenants it’s opposite the garage with the telephone box at the entrance! We were both tired & irritable so when we realised that one bedroom was locked it didn’t help our mood! Fortunately the lovely maintenance man came quickly & unlocked the bedroom for my son! Thank goodness for the free range eggs & bread, we were starving!
It was a lovely place to stay, the beds are sooo comfy! Unfortunately the washer/dryer needed to be replaced but the housekeeper made alternative arrangements for us to use another one so all good.
I would recommend the Old Workshop , it was well appointed for our needs and the staff were lovely! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2018
Thanks for the review Sally and we are pleased you would recommend us. Sorry you couldn't find us easily. Our instructions are very detailed and we also add a link with a map system which takes you to the door of the property, as well as the Google maps link. Apologies one of the bedroom doors was locked in error, but as you discovered, this was easily solved :-) You were unlucky with the washing machione breaking down during your stay - obviously this kind of thing can happen at any time. As you may know, we replaced it with a new one as swiftly as we could, even though the failed one was only a couple of years old. Anyway, we are pleased we were able to take care of you and you had a good time.

Regards

John and Jane
stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff H
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Highly recommend The Old Workshop”
Reviewed March 18, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed a week at The Old Workshop in March. There is off street parking for two vehicles near to the front door. The accommodation is very comfortable, extremely quiet, has good lighting throughout and lovely views across the Avon. There is underfloor heating to all rooms which was set at a comfortable temperature and did not need any adjustment during our stay. The bedding is superb. We appreciated the welcome pack of eggs, milk, bread, wine, coffee, tea etc.
The wifi signal was weak during our stay and so the internet connection was slow, with occasional dropouts.
There is good walking in any direction and easy access to Bath whether walking or cycling, with a bus stop adjacent to property, or a short drive. Comprehensive information about the property and surrounding area was provided as soon as booking confirmed; this was of great help in planning our trip to the area. This is excellent accommodation and highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2018
Thanks for your comprehensive, objective and detailed review Geoff. We much appreciate it and are pleased you had such a good time. We have the occasional intermittent problem with the internet which is annoying as most of the time it is fine, but we are working on making it more consistent.

We are pleased you found our detailed information useful as we spend much time keeping it current.

We hope you will visit us again.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolaAnn...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay for our 1st wedding anniversary!”
Reviewed February 20, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a lovely stay at The Old Workshop last weekend to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The accommodation was lovely, clean and all aspects perfect for us!
The welcome pack was a lovely addition, which set us up with breakfast for our walk to Bath centre.
Great location for a romantic weekend. Close enough to city centre to walk along the river and canal, but far away enough to enjoy the peace and quiet of the surrounding area.
We hope to come back again for another stay some time soon. Many thanks for offering such a gorgeous holiday property :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2018
That's very nice to hear Nicola. As this is a new property to us, reviews like yours make such a difference. We hope you will come again and perhaps also consider one of our other properties in the Coortyard in Batheaston.

Regards

John and Jane
Stay-in-bath
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 30, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 1, 2017
Wow Mandy, what a great review, we could not have asked for better! We really love it when guests appreciate the efforts we make to create a special stay as it's nice to know what we do works. We are of course blessed with a great location and the bus is a real bonus. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks Denis, your review is really helpful in lots of ways - especially concerning the heating which works incredibly well when people don't fiddle with it, as you found :-) Deb is so thrilled you appreciated her cleaning efforts. We are very fussy and thankfully Deborah is of like mind so our standards are maintained year in year out. Noticing the small things makes such a difference. Thanks again for your very comprehensive review which tells potential guests exactly what they need to know :-) We hope you will come and see us again.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Todd F
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation ”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I have been meaning to write this review for a while.

Me and my partner went to bath for the first time for her 21st/valentines day. A gorgeous city with a lot to offer. But what really boosted our experience was this accommodation, it is close to the heart of bath with only a short bus journey, but far out enough that it's quiet.

We stayed in one night and had a romantic meal which worked perfectly. It catered to all our needs and more.

The owner was there to meet us on the day and was lovely. My partners family had also organised a surprise with the owner to set out a buffet for the evening as we found out not long before that my partner was dairy and gluten intolerant. The effort that was made to heighten our experience was immense!

I would highly recommend this accommodation for anybody wanting to go to bath. There was only two of us so the cost was reduced as we didn't use one of the rooms.

We look forward to going back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Thanks Todd for your very kind words. All of us really appreciate your comments, especially Deborah, our housekeeper, who is always happy to cater for guests' special requirments. We love doing that sort of thing as it makes us stand out from the crowd. I know it's easy for us to say, but it's doubtful a 5 star hotel would offer some of the things we do for our guests as part of the service. We look forward to looking after you again soon.

Regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadine G
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed for 2 nights as brought my daughter to Bath University - perfect location - loved the decor - felt very homely - much nicer than staying in a hotel!!!! We loved it so much we are planning on returning at a later date and bringing extended family with us. John & Jane replied immediately with confirmation that our booking was in place. Would recommend without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
That's really nice to hear Nadine. We are so pleased you found what you wanted here and would like to come back. We try to respond to all communication almost immediately, which is a bit different to the norm., judging by our experiences when we have booked self catering accommodation :-)

Best regards

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing